We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
interesting to visit

This was an interesting tour especially for those who brew their own beer. One sees the process... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
DogAspen
,
Chicago, Illinois
Business dinner

Absolute unique location with good feeling just once stepped in. The most ancient brewery in the... read more

Reviewed September 25, 2018
red120865
,
Besana in Brianza, Italy
via mobile
Read all 191 reviews
  
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
55
28
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
28
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oldest brewery in the world great beer beer garden brewery tour self serve traditional bavarian beer tasting bier garten munich airport train station pretzels well worth the trip pork college campus great tour few hours working brewery
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The only reason I rated this a 3 star is because we didn't get a chance to really experience this place like we wanted. We didn't know that they didn't do brewery tours every day. They only do them on certain days and we went on a Friday (did an hour train ride and 20 min walk/hike to get there) and there was no tour available so we we're pretty bumbed. Our fault though, we should of done better research. We had a beer and a soup at the restaurant though and it was really good!! Great atmosphere too. We finished lunch at 1:00pm and we we're heading to the gift shop to buy some souvenir mugs and the shop was closed until 2 so pretty bumbed about that too. It's hard to give it a fair review.

Thank nlalonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was an interesting tour especially for those who brew their own beer. One sees the process of production.

Thank DogAspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely poor customer service. We checked the site for their opening hours it was noted that they do tours on Monday Tuesday and Wednesday, next to these days nowhere is it stated that you need to pre book. The receptionist who had a really bad attitude decided to “show us” where it is “clearly written down” in German instead of her switching to the English version of the site for us to actually understand her and after clicking about 5 links she told us look here it is very easy to find. I would understand that you need to precook but the horrendous customer care leaves much to be desired !!

Thank May S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

Absolute unique location with good feeling just once stepped in. The most ancient brewery in the world welcomes you during Oktoberfest Fest time with outstanding beer available just in the concurrent weeks. Wonderful experience working around a middle knuckle of pork baked. Together with 2 beers each, brezels and soup, we go out with just a bill of 20€ plus by person.

1  Thank red120865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Freising is lovely, the tour is very interesting and the beer is amazing. What more could you want from a day out from Munich?

Booked on this tour and planned it as a day trip from Munich. Very easy to travel from Munich, just hop onto the S-Bhan and it will take you right to Freising. The uphill walk out of town to the brewery is beautiful and gives you stunning views when you arrive at the brewery (approx 30mins walk).

Our guide spoke great English, the tour was very interesting and told you everything you would want to know from the long history of the brewery to the details of the brewing process. The walking tour takes you right into the floor of the working brewery, no standing behind glass windows!

The 'semi-professional' tasting was fun and informative, Weihenstephan's beers really are a cut above the rest of the Weissbiers out there.

Thank garylincoln2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 16, 2018

What always strikes me about Weihenstephan is the ambiance of the place. Apart from all the first-quality equipment that sits around the enormous brewery, I do feel as if I were traveling in time back to the pre-Middle Ages. Combining a Brewery visit with a stop at the Freising Domberg is a no brainer.

The visit to both of these site requires 2-3 hours: 45 minutes for the Dom, and 2 hours of intensive beer-drinking and eating.

1  Thank BillMontvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2018

Weihenstephan is where you find what is recognised as the oldest brewery in the world in Freising. Presently this is the grounds of a brewery university and it can be a bit tricky to find the famous beerhall and beer garden. As such, best to have the City Guide - sightseeing map from the Tourist Information office at Marienplatz or have google maps up and running on your mobile device while walking up the hill to the brewery.

We enjoyed browsing the grounds and having lunch at Braustuberl Weihenstephan. The food was surprisingly very good and the beer as good as advertised. We also liked the Oberdieck and Parterre garden grounds at Weihenstephan. These were pleasant surprises that we didn't expect when making our way to the brewery from the city centre (15 minute walk).

1  Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

A lot of reasons to visit this biergarten. Apparently, it is the oldest "continously operated" biergarten in the world. Even so, it has a pretty modern touch, and the environment is quite upscale as far as biergartens go. For a night out with friends, or even for a date, this simply works. Pretty, posh, elevated, well maintained all describe it well. You'll definitely stay for more than one.

Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2018

The restaurant has three sections: inside eating, outside eating, and round the corner of the outside eating area (still in the garden) is a walk-up window if you want to get something quicker than using the sit-down and order service. The multiple options for vegetarians was a welcome change from only being able to have salad or a noodle dish. All members of the party were pleased with their meal. Consider stopping by the drink market to pick up souvenirs or some bottles to take home. A helpful tip, is that you need to walk all down the street towards the red street sign and turn right up the hill. The beer garden is behind the trees on the hill.

2  Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

Lovely walk through the gardens. Great views of Freising and Munich with the countryside beyond. Must stop at the beer garden to sample a Wienstephaner beer!

Thank Tandyjo_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews