We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“WOW - Hotel is amazing!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Konigswinter
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fox Island, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“WOW - Hotel is amazing!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We were bumped up to the Presidential Suite - OMG!!! Too amazing for words. We loved the location atop a hill overlooking the Rhine River and the town below. You can even see area castles from on top of this mountain. The room was so over the top - pure luxury. Only issue we had was horrible horrible service in the restaurant. It was so bad that we will not return due to the lack of service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    263
    113
    41
    17
See reviews for
105
279
22
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
113 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

The location of this hotel is simply breathtaking. Surrounded by parkland and a great view from the mountain top over the Rhine valley-simply gorgeous!

The hotel itself is classy and the staff is very friendly. I had a very nice room (though a little old-fashioned) overlooking the Rhine that was very very clean and the bathroom spotless. This is not a hip hotel, but it is very comfortable and I wish that I had more time to enjoy it. Don't hesitate to spend a romantic weekend there or do celebrate any great occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel is in a fantastic setting at the top of a mountain. The food was superb, the service was impeccable and the rooms were just lovely, very large with a well-equipped bathroom. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the valley - Much better than the 'park view' rooms. Make sure you use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bexiboo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Setting, and building are very nice!
Check in quick.
We booked a cheap room, it was very old fashioned.
There was no airco!!!! So we had to sleep with an open window. Donwside there was a wedding going on with a lot of loud music so we did not fell asleep until 5AM!!!!!
So we will never go back!
Had dinner in the restaurant! Nice setting but very overpriced!!!! We at fish, they overcooked it twice.
Breakfast is good when included in your rate otherwise 26.00 euro....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly_catBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
134 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Everything was very good but there were a few very negative features. Upon check-in the man at the reception told me and my wife that the breakfast costs 23 € per person. When we started the first morning's breakfast, the waiter came with the bill: € 26 per person. On the bill we wrote that we had been informed that the price was € 23. At check-out day two, we were educated by a woman in the huge large-German authoritative style that there was no chance that someone said that the breakfast costs 23 €. We didn't discuss with the lady as we didn't like to destroy the day, but if you go there be prepared: the staff are "perfect" and you are a fool and with no education from school.

Everything cost a little bit more in this hotel than expected. The Internet is very expensive. And the parking fee is 6 € which is a bad joke. There are no other alternatives as the hotel is situated on a mountain and the nearest car park is located 3 km away and also about 300 meters downwards.

The hotel has a great history with prominent visitors (we were surely an exception). For instance, the British prime minister Chamberlain lived here meanwhile he was negotiating with Hitler to avoid the break out of the Second World War. From the hotel’s terrace you have a wonderful outlook over the Rhine River. If you look at the river bank at the other side of Rhine, you can see Rhein Hotel Dreesen in Bad Godesberg where Hitler and Chamberlain had the unfruitful meetings. That hotel is also a good choice as an alternative to Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg. I have also been there with nice and friendly staff and the hotel can be of a genuine historical interest to anyone interested in World War II.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Someishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed there one night (wedding anniversary) and it was just fantastic.
We had a room with a view to the park but were able to see a little part of the Rhein valley too which was great. The greeting was nice and friendly and the room was very nice and compared to German standards quite huge. The bathroom was good too so there was really nothing to complain. We had ordered a sparkling wine for arrival to our room and it was there in a cooler with ice. The spa area is not that big but was totally fine for us. The sauna was good, only the steam bath did not really do its job (even after the waiting period). The pool water was rather refreshing than really warm but this is something I personally really like, so it was great. Outside area is very nice too, and inside they offer fruits and water which should be a standard in hotels!
We had dinner in the restaurant and due to the weather were able to sit outside which was really gorgious. The view is just fantastic and is was a great night to sit there. During the evening it got a little colder and the brilliant staff offered some nice woolen blankets which I thankfully took. The service was outstanding and although it is a higher class, it was not arrogant or anything like this at all. The service was super friendly and we had fun with them too.
Breakfast was included in our offer so this was fine for us. They prepare fresh omletts or pancakes etc. if you want and the buffet was good too. I have seen better breakfast buffets though but it was really nothing to caomplain about. Sparkling wine, fish, sausages, different cereals, jams and breads, really good.
The only thing I really did not like (but I never actually do!) is that higher priced hotels take a fee for parking. I think this is really weird and should not be done when you stay (!) in the hotel over night. So they charge you with 6 Euros even if you park just outside (garage is much more). I mean, where should you park your car up on that hill? Well, but this is really the only point to complain.
We will definetely go there again!!!! And even if it just was for dinner or the nice little bistro they have up there too (which closes at 9 pm I think).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank semisecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

I had booked a "cheap" room and got a room that a had a great, very modern bathroom but the room itself was a bit oldfashioned. My impression is that this room with the view to the backside was formerly a chamber for the staff of the VIP guests. Anyway, the view from the terrasse downstairs is just overwhelming, the sunset I saw was beatiful the staff friendly and helpful. I found the costs for wireless (10 Euros for 1 hour) and the parking costs 6 Euros for a place outside a bit high. Breakfast was very rich.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Konigswinter
Maritim Hotel Koenigswinter
#3 of 16 in Konigswinter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Kameha Grand
#3 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Süd
Mauritius Hotel & Therme
Mauritius Hotel & Therme
#121 of 277 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 277 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Hilton Bonn Hotel
#1 of 79 in Bonn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg

Property: Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg
Address: Petersberg 1, 53639 Konigswinter, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Konigswinter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Konigswinter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its history as the guest house of the Federal Republic of Germany the Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg nowadays still welcomes guests by classical elegance and comfort on the highest standard, as well as the legendary view over the idyllic Rhine valley. In the middle of Germany's oldest nature reserve you may take a deep breath of the clear, fresh air and calm down from any daily stress. The magnificent architecture of the hotel's exterior is reflected in the exclusive elegance of its interior. The thoughtfully chosen furnishings and hand-picked details lend a unique atmosphere to every one of our 99 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg Hotel
Steigenberger Grandhotel Petersberg königswinter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing