We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
26
35
36
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
35
36
15
17
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 129 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2017

The hotel is nice. We had a junior suite and had a nice stay. Staff is very friendly. Breakfast was very nice and the surroundings very appealing. Okay it is a little time-worn but kept rather well. The atrium is spectacular .... All in all a nice stay, most especially because of the close proximity of the casino, which is also well worth the visit.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite overlooking the garden, that was nice
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandusarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFreund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Dear mandusarose,
thank you very much for your stay with us.
We are glad you had a good time in Bad Neuenahr and in our hotel.
We hope to see you again.
Best regards
Your Anker-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

Good located hotel with nice facilities. This could be a 4 star hotel but certainly isn't. It's a understaffed hotel with some(not all) unfriendly waiters and everything looks very used. It seems like it is run on the least money possible to get as much profit as possible. There were stains on the sheets of the table at the restaurant from the night before. There were at least 5 spiders with webs in our room. The paint jobs are done poorly. And I could go on...

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank WintersFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFreund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear WintersFl,
thanks for your stay with us. We are very sorry you did not like our Hotel.
We really do our best to habe satisfied customers and our staff is very friendly.
Last week we had a lot of them to stay at home because of sickness. We are only humans - please forgive us!
Best regards
Your Anker-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2016

our first visit in 2011 we sent back cold food and they "reheated" it. We always give a second chance everyone can have a bad day.
This year however was not the food but uninvited things in our bathroom. Cockroaches.
One was swimming around in the toilet bowl. we showed that one the quick way out and two others were trying to escape out of the bathtub. We left those two for the management to deal with. Not a restful night as we were on the look out for their relatives. We escaped as soon as daylight appeared could not think of eating breakfast there. We did tell the receptionist as we paid our bill and stated at the very least we expected an apology by e-mail from the management as they were not available at that time of the morning. A month on and we have yet to hear from the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFreund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2016

Dear John D,
we thank you very much for giving us a second Chance aftre your bad experience and are therefore very sad we failed again.
Please believe us, the cockroaches have nothing to do with our cleanliness or poor hygiene. In some parts of the year, all Hotels - and I really mean all hotels, even the most luxurious Hotels - suffer from insect infestation. You will not find any hotel without regulary pest controller.
First of all it is a matter of the weather. Especially in wet periods insects move to better homes. But secondly the worst reason is food that they find in the rooms - on the floor, on the tables / furniture and of course on the ground. We cannot and will not discourage our guests not to eat in their rooms. But this is the reason Hotels have so may insects, sometimes even cockroaches in the rooms.
Our pest Controller Comes regulary, but if there are some striking reasons, we call him more often.
Please trust us, we do every effort for our guests. We are happy, you were satisfied with the food this time and really very sad you experienced a horrorful night. Sorry for that! We wished to have another chance!
Best regards
Your Anker-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

We stayed there for 2 nights with a group of student musicians from Oklahoma. It's an older style hotel that is basically well maintained and can give you that feel of hospitality in Germany from years ago. It's not the cookie cutter American hotel that you see all over Europe. They take you to your room as they all are hard to find the first time. Desk staff is friendly and the place where you return your key to the desk before stepping out for the evening. Very good food and a place the tour director returns to year after year.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhowell92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFreund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2016

Dear rhowell92,
thank you very much for your comment here on tripadvisor. We are happy you had a nice stay in our hotel. It is good to hear you got a feeling of the German hospitality. We hope to see you again.
Best regards
Your Anker-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Booked this through Booking.com and really pleased.Needed particular requirements and had nice email responses direct from the hotel in advance. Lovely room, individual but spacious and well furnished. Staff really friendly and efficient. Had booked breakfast for 6 days as well. Huge choice, beautifully presented and kept well stocked even during the latter stages of service. Would definitely book here again, pretty much in the centre of Bad Neuenahr, so very convenient as well. Thoroughly recommend. Thank you, family Giffels.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank musicmanhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NFreund, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Ringhotel Giffels Goldener Anker, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2016

Dear musicmanhampshire,
thank you very much for your visit in our Hotel. We are glad you had a nice and pleasant stay and plan to book again.
We appreciate your comment here on tripadvisor very much.
We hope to welcome you in our Hotel soon.
Best regards
Your Anker-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews