We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing elephant experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant Freedom Project

Elephant Freedom Project
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Kegalle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sorry, no admission without prior booking via the website only. One day visit minimum, only online booking possible: see our website. The Elephant Project with only love and care. Interact with our saved elephants in a respectful way: wash, feed and walk with them at the unique Elephant Freedom project in Sri Lanka. Their welfare is our number 1. Why this place? We don't allow riding or any other abuse and mistreatment of our elephants. Unlike any other place, our elephants roam free inside our special enclosure. This simply is the best place for both the elephants and you. A great and affordable place for a one day visit or a much longer experience. We limit the amount of visitors to 6 per elephant.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing elephant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband booked this trip for us as I have a love of elephants. We didn't really know what to expect and were not disappointed. Everyone at the project was so friendly and welcoming that from the minute we arrived we were made to feel at home. We spent such an amazing week with the elephants, doing things like clearing their bed areas in the enclosure every morning, (even our 13 year old daughter enjoyed clearing up the dung!!) walking them in the local vicinity and meeting the neighbours and bathing them in the river. This is a passionate programme where the priority is the happiness and welfare of the elephants and Tim and the gang are working hard to get it exactly right. We also met and played games with some of the local children and learned to cook traditional Sri Lankan food. We made great new friends on this trip and we will definitely be going back to spend time with Sujee, Washtu and their humans again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gogsyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR_Beltman, Owner at Elephant Freedom Project, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It was fantastic to have you as our guests. We are missing you and want to thank you for your compliments on our hospitality and the project itself.

Our special thanks to your husband for arranging this for your entire family. We enjoyed every moment of your stay and are grateful for all the work you have done whilst at the project.

We look forward to welcome you back to spend time with Sujee, Washtu and their humans :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    19
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Come here instead ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were evaluating which elephant orphanage to visit. Even though this one has only two (adorable) elephants we decided to come here cause of its reviews. Tim started this venture because he found that elephants were treated badly and trained to be tourist attractions in the other places. Here elephants are left to be elephants like they should be. Support Tim and his project, support the elephants welfare. Put your money into good use, spend it here instead.

Helpful?
Thank Thatwild1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR_Beltman, Owner at Elephant Freedom Project, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and affirmation of the good, but often difficult work we do. The welfare of our elephants is everything to us and it is heartwarming to hear from visitors that it really shows.

We wish you all the best in your future travels and hope we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heart warming experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I had a fantastic time working on the project. The family we stayed with were so welcoming and I was so sad to leave. We were very looked after. The experience opened my eyes to a new culture and has changed my view on a lot of things since my return. I would recommend this project to anyone. It feels amazing to have made a contribution that meant something and the people there work very hard on keeping the project going. I got to visit the most beautiful places in Sri Lanka and make memories of a lifetime. It's so hard to explain the experience as it touched my heart and will stay with me forever. You will get a great variety of things to do whilst there from working closely with the elephants to learning to cook Sri Lankan cuisine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Coupe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR_Beltman, Owner at Elephant Freedom Project, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi Coupe12,
it was really great to have you at the project. So much is still happening to make the sanctuary even better for our elephants Sujee and Washtu. I guess that when you see them play with their toys or swimming in the river you must recall how great it was to be there.

I certainly hope we may welcome you again as the family, Tim, Amarasiri and the rest of the team had a blast with you all here in Sri Lanka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience with happy elephants!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Big thank you to everyone at EFP for a brilliant day from start to finish. The volunteers were are friendly, informative and genuinely cared for the elephants well being. Really special to see the life in the eyes of the elephants who were free of chains and able to roam around and have fun. Learnt a lot and really enjoyed being able to interact with Sujee and Washtu! Wish everyone at EFP success in your endeavours to raise awareness and improve conditions for elephants. Jamie & Hazel

Helpful?
Thank Haziesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JR_Beltman, Owner at Elephant Freedom Project, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jamie & Hazel,
thank you so much for visiting Sujee and Washtu at the Elephant Freedom sanctuary for the day. It is great to read just how much you enjoyed your day.

Thanks to volunteers such as yourself our elephants Sujee and Washtu can continue to enjoy a worry free life with us.

JR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Elephant Freedom Project was an experience I will never forget. To get the chance to live, work and play with such beautiful animals was amazing. Learning about asian elephants and what the EFP is doing to protect these animals is so rewarding. Taking them for walks, feeding them first thing in the morning, taking them to the river for a swim, play and to clean them is so much fun. The whole experience in Sri Lanka was amazing. Having the delicious local cuisine prepared for you by a local cook was great and the family we stayed with were so hospitable, beautiful and welcoming. Other rewarding factors about the whole trip was visiting the local kids, playing cricket and games with them and also visiting a local disabled home was very humbling. Such beautiful people. We also got to visit local temples, and spectacular Sri Lankan sites and country side. An amazing experience working with the elephants, living with the locals and eating the amazing fruits on offer and cuisine. I recommend it to anyone as I would love to live in Sri Lanka for six months and immerse myself in the culture and the EFP to raise awareness for these amazing animals and this great cause.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riny M, Manager at Elephant Freedom Project, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
thank you Nathan for your review,
We are happy to know that you enjoyed all the activities arranged in the project and you had great time in Sri Lanka. Our pleasure having you at the Elephant sanctuary. And you are very welcome to stay for six months or more with us.
Cheers, RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant Freedom Project also viewed

Pinnawala, Sabaragamuwa Province
Kegalle, Sabaragamuwa Province
 
Kegalle, Sabaragamuwa Province
 

Been to Elephant Freedom Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing