We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for a stopover”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We were impressed with this hotel.
Basically we needed just a hotel near the station for our stopover on our train journey, but it was very comfortable.
We didn't eat in the hotel, but breakfast was very nice. Rooms were spacious (we got a suite for 3) and the shower was the most incredible I've ever used - I think water was hitting me from about 6 different directions!

I'm sure there were cheaper hotels in the town, but I don't think you could go too wrong here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our room was very shabby with old worn chairs, lino floor, small non heated bathroom, no double glazing so noisy especially when snow plough circles at 5 am. Heating goes off at 10pm so can be cold in snow. Breakfast good,waiters and receptionist Sophie very helpful and charming. Good for morning walk to station. No comfortable seating in small bar area, one sofa in reception. No hostess tray, so tea and coffee very expensive. On 2nd January restaurant closed for 2 weeks holiday - no previous notice- bar also closed so no tea or coffee available till morning. Restaurant food good when open. Christmas atmosphere quickly dispesed with on 2nd when staff whipped down the Christmas decorations. Glad to leave, which was a shame. No outside view or area, right on a side street.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dobieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I could not fault what was on the ground floor, decor, staff, meals etc, BUT the bedroom did not live up to expectation, true a fair size, but dated except for the safe & tv. The shower/toilet was also on the small size. A shame this did not live upto the hotel's website as it is located within easy walking distance of the station, town and neigbouring Natters.

Room Tip: When was it refurbished ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JagerPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Having arrived in Brig to the news that the neighbouring Goms valley and our destination was closed, we were taken in by the Ambassador hotel at the last minute. Sophie met us at the station and walked us back to the hotel, probably not the usual practice but arriving in a strange place not speaking the language was a comforting touch.
The room allocated was basic and clean but at the thought of potentially sleeping in the train station, we were happy. The rooms can be a little noisy and this made for a disrupted evening until our neighbours finally went to sleep.
Due to last minute we decided to eat in the restaraunt and were not disappointed. To best way to describe the food would be wholesome cooking and lots of quantity. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and made our impromptu stay a good one. The breakfast was also good as breakfasts go. Overall, friendly staff, good food, good location. The only downside is you can't choose your neighbours!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcoupleinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed in this hotel with a group holiday organised by Treyn. The hotel is central but our room had a very stale smell on arrival which lingered. As it was one of two adjoining we were entertained to someone elses TV viewing through the connecting door until very late. The food was fine but please ensure you pay for everything including beverages on receiving it and guard your receipts with your life. Otherwise you may, like us, be accused of trying to leave without paying bills and be subjected to loud and public ridicule from reception staff at the point of departure . Guaranteed to ruin any holiday! Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATripadvisee404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

This is a terrific hotel. Upon arriving we received a warm welcome from Stefan and were made to feel right at home. The room was lovely with a great view of the mountains. Breakfast was outstanding. All the best from Bryan and Belinda from Australia.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryan_australia_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I were at Ambassador for 3 nights. Excellent location, within walking distance of train station. Comfortable rooms, superb service, including a great breakfast buffet. We defintely recommend the hotel to anyone planning a visit to the charming town of Brig.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brig hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel de Londres
Hotel de Londres
#2 of 16 in Brig
80 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Europe
Hotel Europe
#5 of 16 in Brig
107 reviews
0.5 km away
Schlosshotel Art Furrer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Good Night Inn
0.5 km away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#1 of 5 in Naters
51 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#10 of 16 in Brig
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: Saflischstrasse 3, Brig 3900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Brig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Brig
Price Range: $160 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive and immediately feel at home. The rooms are individually designed, Spacious and Bright. Exclusive boxspringbeds provide you with restful sleep. The hotel Ambassador has a quiet central location 200 metres away from the train station in Brigue with free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Brig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing