We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it in the Swiss riviera”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Les Negociants
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Reviewed 27 May 2009

In October, we stayed at the Les Negociants in Vevey. On the whole it was really a worthwhile stay as the hotel was really good value for money, though it was just a two-star, our double room on the first floor was pretty spotless and nice with big windows. The housekeeping was actually good, for both my wife and me are pretty keen on hygienic and fresh rooms. The guy at the reception was a bit rude but the rest of the staff was actually very courteous and helpful, so it really didn’t matter. The hotel’s location and attractive price was the reason we chose this hotel. It was walking distance from the train station, literally five minutes away, which was important as we were daily taking trains to different destinations like to the vineyard regions, one day to Gruyeres castle, another to Montreaux and surrounding areas etc. Also it was right in the old town, near the promenade overlooking the lake where we took our walks and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Breakfast was included though by Indian standards was really not much, but I guess we stuffed ourselves with the freshly baked croissants, breads and cheese, cups of coffee with dollops of cream so we needn’t complain. We never had any main meal at the hotel, though its restaurant is quite well-known, as we ate at the destinations we went to.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yog10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2009

A lovely hotel in the heart of Vevey, yet its location has its positives and its negatives. The hotel is in a very convenient location, within both walking distance from the station and the ferries that cruise around Lake Geneva. However, the downfall is the noise (as others have mentioned) We were on the top floor and you couldn't even open your window at night cause of the noise on the streets below. I'm not a light sleeper, but our first night i got very little sleep unfortunately. Other than the noise, the room was large, clean and the beautiful big windows made the room very light and airy. The rooms appear to be newly renovated and the small bathroom was very nice. The service was a bit disappointing, but i guess we are kind of used to staying at B&B's where service plays a big part in the whole experience. The breakfast was bread, bread and more bread and i was already over it by day 2. You get no choice other than whether you want tea, coffee or hot chocolate. A bit disappointing really. I would only recommend this place if you were a heavy sleeper and don't rate hotels on their breakfasts ;)

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate0680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

This hotel is as central as you can possibly get - 5 mins from train station, about a minute from the lake and 10 - 15 minutes from the funicular railway.

Lovely clean rooms which have recently been re-furbished, tv with channels in 5 languages, really pleasant and friendly staff and delicious food which is very reasonably priced. A few people have mentioned the noise at night - there are a few bars about but on my part, I didn't have any problems with the noise.

Vevey is beautiful with loads of stuff to do. I was only there 3 days and did quite a lot (the food museum, the Vevey Museum, the bus to Montreux, funicular railway, the 'flowery walk' etc) but there was loads more I wanted to do but didn't have time.

I will be going back next year and I will be definitely staying at Negociants!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhonaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Nice hotel. Very conveniently located, great neighborhood. Room fairly comfortable, could have used a comfy chair. Good choice of international TV. Rates reasonable. Others complaints of noise from nearby bars is completely legitimate, if you are a light sleeper, look elsewhere.

What sets this place apart is the staff. Most speak at least some English, and all are genuinely friendly and accommodating.

These guys really go out of their way to help. My rental car was towed, as I had accidentally parked illegally. The owner of the hotel volunteered to accompany me to the police station, translate on my behalf, and help get my car out of hock! This, to me, is exceptional service. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2008

Our stay in Vevey was quite nice due to this quiet hotel. We had plenty of room and everything was very clean. The breakfast included coffee & juice and three types of bread with an assortment of spreads. It suited us fine but might not be enough for people with a larger appetite. Luckily there is a delicious bakery next door! The breakfast staff were particularly friendly and this was a cheery way to start our days.

The location is ok. For some reason it seemed like a far walk to the train station but it wasn't really that far. It was also a 5-10 minute walk to the ferry docks but we didn't end up taking them so this convenience was lost on us. Also, Vevey is a small town without a lot of action. There are some nice restaurants and a few bars nearby, but there isn't a lot to do in the town--at least not at this time of year.

Overall, the hotel was pleasant and clean and the people were friendly. If you'll be staying in Vevey, this is a nice place to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngtravelerJJLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Hotel was great for a 2-star and the rate was good considering how pricey the area is. Location is brilliant - 5 minutes walk from train station, 2 minutes walk from the waterfront. We LOVED Vevey; the lovely old town feel definitely made the pick of the towns we went to on Lake Geneva. Was a bonus that their annual Street Theatre Festival was on at the time of the visit - acrobats & clowns roaming the street gave it a nice buzz. The train system was wonderful for exploring the area. We did mountain biking one day and canyoning another.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank strawbear_koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Enjoyed our 5 night stay in August, 08. We had requested a quiet room (booked in March 08) but our allocated room was above the main street which got quite noisy at night!
Apart from that, it was an excellent location and we happily ate in the hotel restaurant on several evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruby_of_Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vevey
0.2 km away
Astra Hotel Vevey
Astra Hotel Vevey
#3 of 6 in Vevey
223 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
532 reviews
0.1 km away
Hostellerie de Geneve (Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Grand Hotel Suisse Majestic
5.6 km away
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
Eurotel Riviera Montreux
#4 of 17 in Montreux
852 reviews
1.8 km away
Modern Times Hotel
Modern Times Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint-Legier-La Chiesaz
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Negociants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Negociants

Address: rue du Conseil 27, Vevey 1800, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Vevey
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Vevey
Price Range: $179 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Negociants 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Les Negociants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Negociants Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing