We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy Airport for ZRH”
Review of Hotel Fly Away

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fly Away
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Handy Airport for ZRH”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the Fly Away for just 1 night whilst waiting for our flight from ZRH. It is a nice clean hotel, with 2 restaurants (Pizza & Beer....you need nothing more!). Rooms were clean, tidy & comfortable. We had a car & parking was no problem & they also offer an airport shuttle. Rooms have free Wi-Fi (you have to input a login name & password which reception give you).
I would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomegroup, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions!
It is vitally important to us, receiving honest feedback from our guests.
Furthermore, it is extremely helpful for prospective guests to choose a hotel naerby the airport Zurich.
Thank you and we are looking forward welcoming you again in Hotel Fly Away!

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    160
    41
    7
    9
See reviews for
68
107
49
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

In the room right now Jan 31 The room became cold after 10 pm and Found there's no heating in the room the gentleman told me it maybe TURN OFF during night time & he cannot help because his job is pick up any call & funny is he's not in the hotel at that moment so I must had a cold night

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xolaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomegroup, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your inputs regarding your recent stay at our property. It helps us seriously to optimize our standard.

You are right referring to the cold heating after 10 pm, this is an automatically system which regulate the heating. Unfortunately the night auditor is indeed outside the hotel, but we have naturally small electric heating especially for our guests in a situation like mentioned above. We place it with pleasure at your disposal.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

having been taken for a romantic weekend away, we checked in to the hotel. The woman on reception was very friendly and knew who we were before we even said anything. We got up to our room. We had booked a double room however, the hotel seem to think that two single beds pushed together constituted a double!! hmm good start to our romantic weekend. having arrived quite late we decided to go straight to bed, we woke up the next morning itching all over and covered in bites, we thought that this may be due to being in a strange bed with bedding we weren't used to, however, having been bitten for 4 nights in a row we do not hold this view now. there are no tea and coffee making facilities either and on the saturday afternoon when we arrived back to the hotel at about 4pm we asked the young man on reception if there was anywhere to get a coffee to which he bluntly turned round and said NO and walked off - not very polite.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unhappycustomer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomegroup, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear guest,
I have read the comments you have made on your stay at the Hotel Fly Away. First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you have taken for writing your impressions.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Referring to the double room with twin beds I comment as following: While allotting the rooms the hotel normally takes care that two people have two beds with two separate duvets for the guest’s higher comfort. If you prefer one big bed, because you feel more comfortable, please be so kind and inform us and we give you with pleasure another room, also after staying already a night.

The hotel Fly Away checks all rooms constantly on the hygiene standard. In the near future we keep a wary eye on all rooms and ensure the quality standard.

After consulting the mentioned employee, we can assure you, that there was a misunderstanding and it will not happen again. Please, excuse the employee’s incorrect behaviour.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.


Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I stayed at this hotel my last night in Switzerland before flying back to the States the next morning. Easy walk from the train station on one of the S trains from downtown Zurich. Easy, friendly check-in. Convenient free shuttle to the airport. Fast, free wifi. The receptionist let me use the computer in the lobby to print my boarding pass at the front desk. Comfortable bed and pillows. Earlier in the evening I could hear planes, but I had no problems sleeping and I'm a light sleeper. The pizzaria within the hotel is great! Nice salad bar and tasty pizzas. We didn't have breakfast because it was an additional 18 francs per person which seemed really high. I'm not sure what there is to do outside of the hotel, but I would consider staying here the next time I go to Zurich since it is much more affordable than hotels in the city center, and a fairly short train ride (~20 min) away.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WIWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainb0wtraveler
Level Contributor
167 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Easy to get to - right outside Arrival area 2, look for the Fly Away hotel ground transport. Clean, 5 minute walk away from the Kloten train station. There is a Japanese food restaurant, a bakery, and a Migros grocery store located close by. There is also an awesome pizza restaurant right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainb0wtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

One of the tricks of a road warrior is to stay a little outside the city or near the airport - so long as reliable travel links exist. This is the case with Hotel Fly Away which is in the small town of Kloten, adjacent to Zurich's main airport. Kloten local train station is a 2 min walk from the hotel - with 2 trains an hour into Zurich's HB/central station.

The Kloten location puts you very close to the airport (free van shuttle provided), saves you money over the ritzy overpriced big hotels in Zurich proper, but is still connected to everywhere you need to go via train.

The hotel is a traditional European affair - modern, clean rooms with a comfortable bed. Free wifi throughout the Hotel. Courteous, english speaking staff. The hotel has an internal restaurant, and an adjoining pizzaria - which has a wide selection of crispy, gooey and tasty pizzas.. nice if you just want to eat at the hotel one night.

Overall a fairly priced, clean and well run property - recommended for the more adventurous and who don't HAVE to be staying downtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sg_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomegroup, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear guest

First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions. It is vitally important to us, receiving honest feedback of our guests. Furthermore, it is extremely helpful for prospective guests to choose a hotel in Zurich. Naturally we give the compliment to our colleagues in the hotel; it always raises a smile on the faces! Thank you and we are looking forward welcoming you again in Hotel Fly Away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malagash
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This Hotel offers an excellent value for money - especially for travellers who have to get to the airport for an early flight. The rooms are modern, very clean and convenient, reception service was excellent, and there is an shuttle to the airport (7 minutes) included in the price. The earliest one leaves at 5 am, after that every 20 minutes. The Hotel has a restaurant and a bar, where we enjoyed a nightcap. It was a short night - but an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomegroup, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Fly Away, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear guest, thank you for your recent stay at the Hotel Fla away and for the beautiful headline. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the free airport shuttle. Our employees will very much appreciate your comments. It would be our pleasure to welcome you soon again. With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kloten
0.2 km away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#1 of 3 in Kloten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#2 of 3 in Kloten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.6 km away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Zurich Airport
3.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
2.0 km away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fly Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fly Away

Property: Hotel Fly Away
Address: Marktgasse 19, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kloten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fly Away 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute drive from Kloten Airport, this hotel offers free airport transportation, soundproof rooms with free Wi-Fi, and free parking during the stay. Kloten Train Station is 330 ft away. All rooms at the Fly away feature a desk and cable TV. The windows can be opened. Home-made Italian specialties, including pizzas from the wood-fired oven, are served in the Fly away's restaurants and on the terrace. Free airport transportation is available between 5 am and 11:45 pm. Guests benefit from free access to a fitness center in a partner hotel, located within a 5-minute walk from Fly away. A shopping center, restaurants, bars, a cinema and a nightclub can be reached by foot. Central Zurich is a 15-minute train ride away.Please note: Our reception desk is closed from 12:00 pm to 06:00 am. Please use the check-in at our partner hotel Welcome Inn if you arrive later than 12:00 pm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fly Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fly Away Kloten
Fly Away Hotel Kloten
Hotel Fly Away Canton Of Zurich/Kloten, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing