We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting, great food, brilliant value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saas-Fee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Although a regular traveller with Inghams this was our first time in one of their Chalet hotels - but it certainly won't be our last. Quality of food and service far exceeded my expectations - proper restaurant standard food and a bottomless bottle of wine ! Nothing was too much trouble for the manager, Tommy, and his young but enthusiastic team. Well done Inghams.

Room Tip: Top floor (rooms 41 and 42) best - had decent balconies with stunning views of the mountains and gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here in July during the second week of our Mont Blanc Express trip. It is a far more superior hotel to the one in Chamonix overall, but we found the staff to be cold and at times impersonal.
Our room was huge with really comfortable beds and a lovely sitting area, in addition to a terrace with a large table, chairs and sun loungers. The bathroom was quite dated but functional (once we had worked out how to work to bath/shower taps!).
The food throughout our stay was of a very high standard. Breakfast was a plentiful selection of breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, yoghurt etc. with cooked options in addition to this. We tended to have the crêpes with berry compote, which were excellent. We were brought freshly baked Semmel rolls as well, which was a nice touch. The dinners were really good, plentiful and of a high standard. They started in the lounge bar with canapés and aperitifs and followed through in the dining room with a starter, main course, pudding and cheese board, all accompanied by unlimited wine or soft alternative. The barbeque evening, served on the terrace, was really good, with lots of choice of meats, sides and salads. They clearly have a great chef here. Packed lunches were fantastic - the best I have ever had as part of a holiday. You can have sandwiches filled with any number of fillings out of salami, ham, cheese and lettuce, as well as mayonnaise, which was great after being limited to one choice in Chamonix. There was also fruit juice, a homemade sweet treat and fresh fruit. The afternoon tea was a disappointment compared to Chamonix, however, as there was a limited selection, which tended to be cakes and quiche, although one day there was pizza, which we couldn't stop ourselves eating! Also disappointing was the lack of filter coffee during afternoon tea; instead, there was only instant.
The pool area is great. The swimming pool is a good size, so is perfect for lengths. We enjoyed using the adjacent jacuzzi as well. There was also a sauna area, but we didn't use this.
As mentioned already, the staff were not particularly friendly overall, apart from the senior waitress in the restaurant. Tommy, the manager, seemed competent in his job. The Inghams rep, Gareth, we found to be quite cocky and keen to sell an upgrade to the Bürgerpass (the included cable car ticket).
We would definitely be happy in returning to this hotel, and are keen to return to Saas-Fee in general. The resort has everything and is a charming place to spend a holiday, especially with the mountain lifts included with the Bürgerpass. Another excellent value stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent a week in this friendly comfortable chalet hotel. Staff were attentive and catered for all our needs. We were impressed with the quality of food provided and as a vegetarian I was worried that my choice of food would be limited but I was spoilt by what was provided by Mark the chef. A packed lunch, Afternoon tea and cake and the pre dinner drink and nibbles were a bonus and a treat. Well placed in the village . Highly recommended.
Many thanks to Manager Tommy and all the staff and Gareth the rep.

Room Tip: Room 34 has fabulous view and large balcony and is south facing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Roseby57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel and facilities were as described, if not better. Spacious and comfortable rooms with excellent balcony facilities. Food quality, presentation, service and choice to a high standard. Quantity and packed lunches also very good. Clean and spotless. All staff pleasant, attentive and accommodating. Hotel suitable for all age ranges.

Resort offers a range of easily accessible walks. Lift and bus pass enables access to other walking options within the valley. Beautiful meadow at foot of mountain in front of hotel where able to see flora and fauna. Lots of marmot activity. Camel and llamas at Boden.

Lengthy transfer from Geneva airport but train and bus network efficient and to schedule. A beautiful, clean and safe country. Would strongly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies. Rooms at front offer a view to the mountain but tend to be noisy at weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beaks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel was nicely situated at the end of Saas Fee with good views of the surrounding mountains and the meadows. Unfortunately when we were there not all the cable cars were open. This meant we were limited in what we could do as all walking meant up and down mountains, perfect if you are able for that. Food was alright but nothing special, however the packed lunches were very welcome. Sometimes at breakfast had to wait ages for cooked food or else hot food was served when still eating cereals. As this was the first week of hotel opening for summer season some of the staff were quite reserved. Must mention Tommy the manager as I felt he was very helpful with queries. As we sat at last number table eg 1-6 were always last to be served for evening meal. This should vary from night to night to give everyone a chance to be first served. Saas Fee is not a large village so unless you want a really lazy holiday or are able to walk a lot then it is not truly a place for summer breaks

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank margaretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We were part of a large group filling the chalet for the last week of the season with a mix of skiers and non skiers and wide ranging ages. The service provided by all staff was friendly, professional and caring for everyone's varied needs. Restaurant quality food for all meals with plenty of choice for breakfast and dinner in the evening. The rooms, both shared areas and bedrooms are particularly spacious and comfortable. Location is just perfect for lifts, ski school and strolling through the town, we enjoyed a variety of walks from the chalet and using the local free bus service. Blue skies and sunshine then an amazing amount of snow gave us fantastic views.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Chalet was perfect location for slopes: across the road and one building away from main gathering point for lifts and morning ski school. Rooms were generous compared to many comparably priced/star-rated chalets. Beds were good length for anyone under 6'6", firm mattress and solid build. I had one cold shower in the evening but otherwise the hot water was available.
Staff in resort were amazing: it was almost the last week of the season but they were fresh and keen to engage and ensure a pleasant stay. Food and wine were good, more greens would have been appreciated. We paid to have the option for our child to join us for dinner but we never opted for this as the early dinner proved to be the right time for our toddler who was in bed then by 7.30pm. Thank you to the team for a great week.
A note to groups booking who wish to fly together: make sure you book at the same time as our group got put on different flights which wasn't a great start or finish to our holiday.
A note to SkiTotal, please don't use Monarch airlines.

Room Tip: corner rooms are slightly larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CAM-MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Metropol
Hotel Metropol
#9 of 47 in Saas-Fee
198 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Alpin
Hotel Alpin
#27 of 47 in Saas-Fee
52 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Berghof Garni - The Dom Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Feehof Garni
Feehof Garni
#17 of 47 in Saas-Fee
42 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#25 of 47 in Saas-Fee
96 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Ambassador

Address: Postfach 149, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range: C$117 - C$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 208

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing