We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saas-Fee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed early July as part of Inghams Mont Blanc Express holiday. The Hotel everything was right about it. The location with great views of the mountains and a first class location in this traffic free village of Saas Fee, just a short walk to the various lifts, the bus station and the village itself. The food was overall good and the restaurant was lively - I saw a negative comment about the restaurant yes it was lively and noisy BUT as it is large tables where you share with other guests and plenty of included wine then the noise level was high and fun. Not the ambiance for quiet intimate dinning. Also saw a negative comment about the staff - we found them excellent and chatty but with any rapport it does take two. Happy to recommend this Hotel and hope your time there is as good as ours

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed for one week on the standard Inghams all inclusive package.

Location of the Ambassador is excellent, being at the southern quiet end of the village, close to the lifts but only a short walk to the centre and about 10min walk to the Bus Station at the top of the village. So easy access for everything.

Our bedroom (room 31) was spacious, and included a comfortable small living area with bed settee, easy/ chair, small table, desk/chair and an old CRT tv (no English channels). The Austrian twin beds were comfortable. There was ample wardrobe/ clothes storage etc. The bathroom was just OK - very dated and in need of refurbishment, poorly lit, with his and hers plastic sinks both with multiple cracks around the waste outlet, toilet seat that didn't colour match, and depressing old tiling. Nevertheless, everything worked fine in the bathroom, with loads of hot water always available, and clean. Rooms received basic cleaning daily and fresh towels on request.

A spacious balcony with good village/mountain views was furnished with two chairs, although it was a bit too chilly to sit out for long in the period we were there.

The hotel has a comfortable lounge with a bar. Tea/ coffee were available here free of charge all day with home baked cake also in late afternoon. Pre dinner aperitifs and canapés were served in the evening (6 out of the 7 nights). A weekly light hearted quiz competition was also held in the lounge after dinner one night, which I think everyone enjoyed.

Breakfast and dinner were served in the traditional dining room, which we felt was a bit dark and dingy, and very noisy when all the guests were chatting over dinner - no quiet dinners here. Breakfast was the usual cold continental buffet with a reasonable selection (but no croissants!)plus a hot option cooked to order. Dinner options were selected at breakfast: alternative of two starters and two mains plus vegetarian option. At dinner the team placed couples on a different table each evening. We were a bit nervous about this system at the start but found it actually did work well; we had lots of interesting conversations with people of different backgrounds and within a few days got to know several of the other guests very well. Unfortunately, we did not share the enthusiasm of some Tripadvisor reviewers concerning the standard and choice of food. The young enthusiastic team seemed to be stretching themselves to produce elaborate sounding (read pretentious) dishes within probably too limited a budget and the result for us was not a success. Moreover, little attempt was made to provide popular simple meat based regional dishes and we gave up on the final night, which we expected would be something special but wasn't. So we had excellent two course dinners in other restaurants in Saas Fee on both the Inghams staff night off and the final night of our stay. On these occasions we also welcomed the relative peace and quiet of the two outside restaurants and a generally more attractive ambience. However, it must be remembered that eating out in Saas Fee is not cheap and the included plentiful free drinks with dinner at the Ambassador are an obvious valuable attraction.

An excellent packed lunch was provided 6/7 days.

The young enthusiastic staff at the Ambassador were wonderful - all very friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble - a credit to Inghams selection and training procedures.

Although we have holidayed in Switzerland lots of times in the past, we had abandoned Switzerland after 2008 when the £/CHF rate collapsed and Switzerland became prohibitively expensive for us. The Inghams inclusive package at Chalet Hotel Ambassador, coupled with the resort tourist passes for free use of cable cars and buses, certainly helps to make Switzerland affordable again, which is most welcome. Regrettably,however, we would only rate the Ambassador as solid and comfortable three star, for the reasons given earlier in this review. Refurbishment (especially bathrooms and dining room) plus some simpler better quality (including some regional) food would be needed for us to upgrade our rating.

Room Tip: Most of the higher rooms have reasonable mountain/village views from the balconies but a few face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank margaretandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Although a regular traveller with Inghams this was our first time in one of their Chalet hotels - but it certainly won't be our last. Quality of food and service far exceeded my expectations - proper restaurant standard food and a bottomless bottle of wine ! Nothing was too much trouble for the manager, Tommy, and his young but enthusiastic team. Well done Inghams.

Room Tip: Top floor (rooms 41 and 42) best - had decent balconies with stunning views of the mountains and gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here in July during the second week of our Mont Blanc Express trip. It is a far more superior hotel to the one in Chamonix overall, but we found the staff to be cold and at times impersonal.
Our room was huge with really comfortable beds and a lovely sitting area, in addition to a terrace with a large table, chairs and sun loungers. The bathroom was quite dated but functional (once we had worked out how to work to bath/shower taps!).
The food throughout our stay was of a very high standard. Breakfast was a plentiful selection of breads, meats, cheeses, fruit, yoghurt etc. with cooked options in addition to this. We tended to have the crêpes with berry compote, which were excellent. We were brought freshly baked Semmel rolls as well, which was a nice touch. The dinners were really good, plentiful and of a high standard. They started in the lounge bar with canapés and aperitifs and followed through in the dining room with a starter, main course, pudding and cheese board, all accompanied by unlimited wine or soft alternative. The barbeque evening, served on the terrace, was really good, with lots of choice of meats, sides and salads. They clearly have a great chef here. Packed lunches were fantastic - the best I have ever had as part of a holiday. You can have sandwiches filled with any number of fillings out of salami, ham, cheese and lettuce, as well as mayonnaise, which was great after being limited to one choice in Chamonix. There was also fruit juice, a homemade sweet treat and fresh fruit. The afternoon tea was a disappointment compared to Chamonix, however, as there was a limited selection, which tended to be cakes and quiche, although one day there was pizza, which we couldn't stop ourselves eating! Also disappointing was the lack of filter coffee during afternoon tea; instead, there was only instant.
The pool area is great. The swimming pool is a good size, so is perfect for lengths. We enjoyed using the adjacent jacuzzi as well. There was also a sauna area, but we didn't use this.
As mentioned already, the staff were not particularly friendly overall, apart from the senior waitress in the restaurant. Tommy, the manager, seemed competent in his job. The Inghams rep, Gareth, we found to be quite cocky and keen to sell an upgrade to the Bürgerpass (the included cable car ticket).
We would definitely be happy in returning to this hotel, and are keen to return to Saas-Fee in general. The resort has everything and is a charming place to spend a holiday, especially with the mountain lifts included with the Bürgerpass. Another excellent value stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent a week in this friendly comfortable chalet hotel. Staff were attentive and catered for all our needs. We were impressed with the quality of food provided and as a vegetarian I was worried that my choice of food would be limited but I was spoilt by what was provided by Mark the chef. A packed lunch, Afternoon tea and cake and the pre dinner drink and nibbles were a bonus and a treat. Well placed in the village . Highly recommended.
Many thanks to Manager Tommy and all the staff and Gareth the rep.

Room Tip: Room 34 has fabulous view and large balcony and is south facing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Roseby57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Hotel and facilities were as described, if not better. Spacious and comfortable rooms with excellent balcony facilities. Food quality, presentation, service and choice to a high standard. Quantity and packed lunches also very good. Clean and spotless. All staff pleasant, attentive and accommodating. Hotel suitable for all age ranges.

Resort offers a range of easily accessible walks. Lift and bus pass enables access to other walking options within the valley. Beautiful meadow at foot of mountain in front of hotel where able to see flora and fauna. Lots of marmot activity. Camel and llamas at Boden.

Lengthy transfer from Geneva airport but train and bus network efficient and to schedule. A beautiful, clean and safe country. Would strongly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies. Rooms at front offer a view to the mountain but tend to be noisy at weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beaks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The hotel was nicely situated at the end of Saas Fee with good views of the surrounding mountains and the meadows. Unfortunately when we were there not all the cable cars were open. This meant we were limited in what we could do as all walking meant up and down mountains, perfect if you are able for that. Food was alright but nothing special, however the packed lunches were very welcome. Sometimes at breakfast had to wait ages for cooked food or else hot food was served when still eating cereals. As this was the first week of hotel opening for summer season some of the staff were quite reserved. Must mention Tommy the manager as I felt he was very helpful with queries. As we sat at last number table eg 1-6 were always last to be served for evening meal. This should vary from night to night to give everyone a chance to be first served. Saas Fee is not a large village so unless you want a really lazy holiday or are able to walk a lot then it is not truly a place for summer breaks

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank margaretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saas-Fee hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel du Glacier
Hotel du Glacier
#13 of 47 in Saas-Fee
189 reviews
0.1 km away
Feehof Garni
Feehof Garni
#16 of 47 in Saas-Fee
40 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Allalin
Hotel Allalin
#2 of 47 in Saas-Fee
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Elite Alpine Lodge
Elite Alpine Lodge
#3 of 47 in Saas-Fee
135 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunstar Boutique Hotel Beau-Site
0.8 km away
Hotel La Collina
Hotel La Collina
#27 of 47 in Saas-Fee
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Hotel Ambassador

Address: Postfach 149, Saas-Fee 3906, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Saas-Fee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Saas-Fee
Price Range: $120 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 208

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing