We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
214
78
20
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
78
20
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice bathmood lightingmodern designcoffee loungewood and stoneluxurious hoteltwo nightswelcome drinkhotel is excellentsister hotelbuffet breakfastevening mealchurchmonikaradiovillagemountains
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 322 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2018

This hotel left us a bit underwhelmed. We live in Switzerland and my wife and I don't mind paying Swiss prices for a nice weekend away - if the experience is worth it. This hotel has a hard time justifying that.

We paid 950 CHF for two nights in a "Wellness Classic Room". The room itself is nice, but not special. The whole wellness experience is limited to a shower that is able to blow out some steam, nothing 'sauna' about it at all (as advertised).

If you want a real sauna, you need to walk to their sister hotel down the street - not really a "wellness" experience. There they have a small wellness area in the basement with a Finnish sauna, three one-person bubble baths (one of which was broken) for which you need to throw coins into a machine to get them to actually work (really??), and six (6!) beds. Hardly enough for two large hotels in Saas-Fee. People were coming in, aimlessly standing around for a bit and then leaving again, sad really.

The service was overall OK, no complaints. People do their job.

We tried the restaurant one night. It's a bit gloomy, the food was not very inspiring and where we were sitting there was a cold draft from the door.

See the pattern here? They're trying to sell it as exclusive, but it just isn't. We go away for weekends 5-6 times per year. I'm afraid our experience with the "Dom" hotel group is going to be limited to this one time.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Berend M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone W, Geschäftsführer at The Dom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2018

Dear Berend M
thank you for leaving a review for your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you have ben dissapointed by our brand new wellness rooms.
Our wellness experience is the idea of whole self catered treatments within ones private room.
We feature a steam bath sauna system from starpool with integrated programms that let you experience different programms including lights and sound. Extra scents, which are distributed throughout the programms let you relax and leave you feeling envigorated.
After that you can scrub of with real ice which is displayed in two ice fountains on the hallway. All this has been advertised and we stand for it.
Possibly the steam bath unit wasn't explained to you properly so that the enjoyment was limited. I will check with our reception staff if this is done every time on check in thouroughly.
This system is usually only put in private spas, but we have opted to put it in 7 brand new designed rooms. Two suites even feature a private hot tub with panoramic views over the glacier and mountain side.

I hope that you will find a more suitable wellness hotel for your taste. I am sorry that we are not the ones for you.

Kind regards,
Simone Werner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

I went to the dom a few years ago and was really happy with my stay, so decided to go back. Not going back after this weekend, thats for sure!

Good : the hotel itself, is super nice; the rooms are great, the location is good, the breakfast is good (not great).

Bad : the staff is not helpful; not unfriendly or anything but just not trying very hard. Example; while paying the bill, i was asked if everything went well, and i said it was just ok, not great. There was no answer or interest to know why i wasnt really happy with my stay. Its 900sfr for the weekend!!!
The shuttle to the slopes was not available because it was a busy day, it wasnt possible to take the skipass at reception anymore (it used to be the case); so we had to walk to the slopes and queue... no form of compensation of any kind. Cheap hotels offer this in saas fee

I had booked the dinner included in the stay, and upon arrival (at 20.45) we were rushed to the restaurant, no time to go in the room, the kitchen was closing soon. That was sooooo rude!!

In the restaurant the food was very bland, like boiled meat with boiled vegetables. We walked out to another restaurant on the spot. The restaurant said they’ve welcomed other food refugees from the dom before.

The next morning, we just said we will not have dinner there although its included in the price of the stay. No questions asked. Any normal service hotel (of this price range) would have at least asked what was wrong or offered a compensation of some kind; a drink in the room, late check out, anything, there was nothing! They just didn’t care.

Oh, and the fancy touchscreen stuff in the room doesn’t work, and the manager should check the dust under the bed and armchairs, its filthy! Otherwise, as said, the room was great.

All in all a horrible feeling of having been totally ripped off.

To management: i was a returning customer who will not return anymore!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank yzzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone W, Geschäftsführer at The Dom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Dear yzzza
thank you for leaving such an extensive review on your stay. It is important for us to give our point of view on the incidents described.

You have booked one of our higher categories (deluxe room with free standing bathtub) over a high demand weekend, which is naturally not going to be a budget rate. On your mentioned concerns, all equipment was checked and found to be working. For users not as adapt to such things, all functions can also be used on regular switches inside the room.

Upon your arrival, you were greeted and brought up to your room by reception and a mention was made, that kitchen closes at 21.30 as it does in most restaurants, therefore it was requested not to take too much time so that you can enjoy your pre-booked dinner. At no time was rush put on you.
For the dish itself, it was a a specialty dish called `Tafelspitz` and yes, it is boiled meat, prepared by an outstanding chef. As the server asked if everything was ok, you said yes and upon her return to the dining hall, you had simply left without explanation or giving us the opportunity to make you something else. No charge was applied to your bill for both nights.

As for your review at the Schäferstube, I am happy you found something more suitable to your taste, your comment made there of being "a food refugee" I think is more than tasteless (no pun intended).

I am very sorry that we were unable to drive you to the cable way station at your demand. Our offer to you to drive you in 20 minutes was not received well. There is a second possibility to get to the slopes by public ski bus which stops right in front of the hotel. This also was not received well. Also a call or email ahead that you would like tickets reserved for you in the hotel would have saved you the waiting time.

Upon checking on our records for previous stays, I was unable to find your names. I hope that in future you find a hotel in a ski resort which caters better to your needs.

With my best wishes for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2018 via mobile

We had a great! Stay at this hotel. The service we recieved was no less than phenomenal (reception, breakfest).
Just be aware of the bells of the chuch if you stay in the rooms that facing the church. It may be annoying to wake up at 7 am to hear them
We stayed in the room that facing the other side. The room was perfect (delux room). Very recommanded..

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ben a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Dom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2018

Dear ben a,

thank you for your very enthusiastic review. It is an honour to be rated so highly by you and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our house.
We would be glad if we may welcome you soon again with ourselves.

Sunny regards from Saas Fee
Rica Sill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2018

The superior rooms are truly spacious and with a great bath - whereas the standard rooms are equally comfortable despite a bit smaller size. It's recently renovated and the beds are of great comfort. It is centrally located - allowing for easy access to shops as well as skilift (with the hotel shuttle). The staff was attentive and helpful (even for last minute issues !)
While the skiroom has lockers for the skis, mind you that tall skis (ie. 1.87m) do not fit. A nice bath foam to enjoy the bath would have added to the touch (rather than using the body gel / shampoo). For the breakfast, we would have preferred fresh fruits.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MBFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Dom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Dear MBFN,

thank you very much for this great review. We are glad that you liked the room and your stay in our Hotel and that you could enjoy your time in Saas-Fee.
We would be glad if we may welcome you soon again with ourselves.

Sunny regards from Saas Fee,
Rica Sill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile

Everything before we arrived looked really good! Online check in, good instructions and a really fast pickup at the parking lot.

But then we arrived at the hotel. Nobody welcomed us?! There was a man on the phone who gave us a key without speaking to us. No information about the hotel or other services.
I booked childcare, witch nobody new about and was hard to get any information about where it was!
Bar was closed and the ordered extra bed was a baby bed.. (for a 4 year old)..
Nobody took the time to help us out because they were on the phone all the time;-)

Rooms are ok, but not really special.
There are better places in saas fee

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fanny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Dom Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2017

Daer Fanny V,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give an feedback of your stay. It is important for us to know the opinion of our guests in order to respond better to your wishes in the future.

We are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations to your full satisfaction and will definitely take your criticism here as a reason and an incentive to increase the quality again to make your next stay unforgettable again.

We hope you give us the chance to show you once again the advantages of our hotel and the improvements. We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon.

Kind regards from Saas Fee
Rica Sill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews