We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends how much you paid”
Review of Hotel Le Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Bristol
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed for 1 night, and paid less than CHF150. For that price we were very happy with our stay. However had we paid more: The pools were too cold - meant we couldn’t stay in the water as long as we would have liked to. The sauna did not open till 11am so we couldn’t even warm up in there. Hotel rooms were very hot, opened window but had to have curtains open to get air into the room. Massive pillows but far too soft, one of each type would have been nice Shower in the room was cold water only at 6.30pm, whereas at 10am it was fine. Breakfast cost CHF 25 per person, which we didn't have as expensive, however, a walk in village proved not much other choice of places to go for breakfast. Took forever to get served for a drink in the hotel bar.
Overall we had a lovely stay in a beautiful, clean room and great surroundings but there were several things that were not quite right. If you get a good deal go for it, but be careful not to overpay and then expect everything to be perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiorinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 467 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Clarens, Switzerland
11
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We travelled to Leukerbad this week end for the first time. We had heard of the city and its thermal baths and picked one of the only hotels to offer their own indoor and outdoor pools.
It was a good choice!
We got a huge room, in the main building (quite a nice upgrade from the booked normal room in the annex) and were able to fully enjoy the quiet and calm spa and pools.
During a walk in the village, we went by the public baths, who were completely over crowded. The buffet & dinner were really nice.
The only potential change would be longer pool opening hours (they closed at 8PM).
Overall, during this 24h stay, we spent 6 in the water!
We already recommended the hotel to our friend and family!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed at the Mercure Bristol last weekend 23-13 Nov 2011.
We are a couple with a 23 months old baby and another in the way.
Leukerbad is 2.5 hours drive from Geneva. Most of the trip on the motorway. Only the last bit on the mountains. No one got sick.
The hotel is on the first roundabout on the right, at the entrance of the village, a bit aside of where everything is, but it is a very small village so it does not matter.
We left the car on the street, but the hotel charges you 8chf anyway.
The hotel is a 4 star. The first thing we noticed is that it is not prepared for strollers, or disables. Starting by the fact that you have to enter the hotel by going upstairs. There is a little lift that takes you to reception that fits 2.
The hotel has 2 buildings. We where at the one behind. It is labyrinthine with stairs and little lifts without protection doors (we were surprised about this lack of security).
The room was huge. It had a little kitchen and a sofa, tv, and a balcony with lovely views.
We noticed it had a zone for the kids, and a gym.
The best part was the spa and swimming pools. It has an internal one, with a modern design, a bridge and a connection to the outside one. Then is has a separated natural one.
The plus is that it is not crowded as the burgerbad.
The minus is that it is not very hot. That for us was a negative point as we could not stay in for a long time and our baby was freezing.
Burgerbad pools are much hotter therefore you can stay for hours in the water.
In the overall it is a good hotel. Breakfast was not included and if I were you I would try other restaurants, such as the Argentinean Oasis, with great meat and pizzas.
Another thing I did not like is that the room service do not bother to knock on the door when they want to get into your room. And they do not apology if you are in, but having traveled a lot, I can tell this is a common practice in the area...

Room Tip: Take a room facing south
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tokao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were at the Mecure Bristol in Leukerbad a week ago for two days as part of our honeymoon. This motel was so lovely!

We were on the top floor in the corner (I think room 512) with a view of the mountains and of the pools. Our room was elegant and spacious with lots of nice little touches like chocolates on the pillows and robes with slippers. The balcony was quite large and had a nice little set of chairs and a table that we went out to of a night time to watch the mountains as the sun set. We could hear the cow bells, too!

The motel is close to the centre of the town, its an easy walk up a slight rise. Its close to the Burgerbad baths and to a grocery store.

There are 3 very large thermal pools at the motel, which were so nice to relax in after a hike in the mountains. Try putting your head underwater - there's music!! There are also 2 nice big saunas as well!

All in all, I we had a fantastic time and will highly recommend this one to everyone!

Room Tip: The top floor has gorgeous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JiffyMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Great location with a mountain view if you are lucky. Recent spa complex is lovely and avoids the need to use the crowded public thermae spa. This is why we went, primarily. But the hotel is dated and very much overdue a thorough refurbishment....or, better still, a complete rebuild! Not nice. Stained carpets, dirty glasses, odd entrance/reception layout on the first floor, cramped parking.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tastingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
South of Limburg
11
Reviewed 21 August 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My wife, her parents and our 5 1/2 years old kid came back for the 2nd time to Hotel Mercure Bristol Leukerbad from 05-07th August 2011 (2 nights). We came back for 2 reasons, the view on the mountains and the Hotel own thermal pools. We requested on high floor, 2 Double Rooms Superior South Side with balcony and very important, in the renovated building ! We received Room nbr 312 and 310 for my wife's parents. All was done as per our request.
Clients are mainly coming to this Hotel in order to enjoy the own thermal pools facilities, knowing that the main public "Burgerbad" in Leukerbad is mostly over crowded during week end and during school holidays. Therefore it should be avoided to go there if you don't like the crowd !
During breakfast, don't wait for your coffee, as it is self service and you should pick it up by yourself on noisy coffee machine, which are also not giving the best coffee taste you would expect... Furthermore, avoid to seat close to those coffee machines or the noise they are making each time someone wants to take a coffee or some other drinks is just awful and will soon make you mad...
We were somehow disappointed by the pools which are actually not very clean : we saw insects inside and dirt in the corner. Maintenance should be improved as a few points are not acceptable to us, I will resume it as follows :

POSITIVE POINTS :
---------------------------

1) Check in was fast, efficient and as per our requests.
2) View on the mountains is excellent, take high floor rooms South side !
3) Location of the Hotel is perfect, close to everything by foot.
4) Parking just in front of the Hotel, for CHF. 8.-- per day (limited places !)
5) South side view is the only good choice.

POINTS TO BE IMPROVED :
--------------------------------------

1) Maintenance : 1 shower inside and 1 shower outside the pool area were not working.
2) Maintenance : Wood of the balcony and on the Hotel side should be renovated/treated as looking old and used...
3) Curtains in our room nbr 312 were not clean and should be washed from time to time !
4) Hair dryer of room nbr 312 stopped in the middle of use !
5) Around the pool is looking brown and dirty, specially on the white plastic parts.
6) TV channels are not matching at all the TV list that is provided inside the room !
7) No air conditionning inside the rooms !

Well, that's it. I would recommend this Hotel for a family or couple, who wants to make a short stay in good/average conditions and to enjoy Leukerbad by foot.

Please take a look to the photos I will soon attach and enjoy your stay ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank otterboris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leukerbad
0.5 km away
Hotel Les Sources des Alpes
0.1 km away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#2 of 26 in Leukerbad
143 reviews
40.2 km away
The Baths of Saillon
The Baths of Saillon
#1 of 1 in Saillon
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Wellness Hotel Alex
Wellness Hotel Alex
#5 of 26 in Leukerbad
141 reviews
0.5 km away
Therme 51
Therme 51
#4 of 26 in Leukerbad
222 reviews
14.1 km away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Bristol

Address: Rathausstrasse 51, Leukerbad 3954, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Leukerbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leukerbad
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Leukerbad
#5 Spa Hotel in Leukerbad
Price Range: $250 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the majestic Gemmi Pass, the Hotel Bristol draws its vitality from the depth of Leukerbad's legendary thermal springs. A four-star haven of peace, this matchless Alpine spa offers a stimulating, sunny and revitalizing break amid breathtaking natural scenery.Regulary YOGA Retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Bristol Leukerbad Hotel Leukerbad
Accor Bristol Leukerbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing