We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
C$301
Fully refundable before Thu, May 30
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Fran_Guigui
Murten, Switzerland

Beautiful experience and warm welcome

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 18, 2021
We just spent 3 nights at The Hotel Terrasse Am See in Vitznau and it was a delightful experience. The hotel is part of the Swiss Historic Hotels and if you take the time to speak with the owners, they will be happy to share with you their passion and the history of the hotel, closely linked to the Rigi train located next door. The whole experience was beautiful; the room, the region, the lake, the view, etc... Breakfast and dinner were tasteful and much enjoyable, as well as the Swiss wine. We highly recommend The Hotel Terrasse Am See and we shall be back next time we go to the Lac des Quatres Cantons region ! Thank you to the owners and their team !
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$544
  • Expedia.com
    C$604
0.2 km from Hotel Terrasse Am See
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
C$379
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$379
0.1 km from Hotel Terrasse Am See
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Hotel Terrasse Am See
Beachfront
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Hotel Terrasse Am See
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$255
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$255
1.3 km from Hotel Terrasse Am See
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$301
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Hotel Terrasse Am See
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$281
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from Hotel Terrasse Am See
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$401
  • Expedia.com
    C$479
4.1 km from Hotel Terrasse Am See
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
C$374
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$374
4.3 km from Hotel Terrasse Am See
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
C$388
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$388
4.5 km from Hotel Terrasse Am See
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Vitznau
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
134
67
18
9
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
134
67
18
9
18
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 246 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2020 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Terrasse am See during our small Switzerland tour. It was unfortunately quite disappointing and terrible value for money.

The location is great (right next to the Rigi station), the hotel could be absolutely fantastic (it is on the lake, has an incredible upper floor terrasse and amazing dining area overlooking the lake), but the owners don’t seem to invest a lot of the money they make into refurbishing the hotel. Tiny rooms and bathrooms with no insulation (old building with squeaky wooden floors so don’t expect to sleep if anyone else above or below doesn’t), a ridiculously small closet and the common areas are old and a bit tatty, but you will pay the exact same price as a standard room in the 4* Vierwäldstatter Seehotel in Brunnen - which is entirely renovated, has 24h reception and many other facilities.

What disappointed us the most though was what we assumed was the lady owner. A cold welcome, sighs when you dare ask for an omelette or poached eggs for breakfast (she literally started by saying no and then said the omelette would take a lot of time and it would be plain - I ended up ordering a boiled egg which she never brought) and she charged us 10.-/dog/night asking us upon check-in if we had rugs to make our dogs comfortable on the floor because beds were for humans (though it is the ONLY hotel we stayed at that offered no bedding and no bowls (not even a water bowl) for the dogs). Of course we are well organized and always have everything with us but you can’t take a fee and not provide the slightest amenity... Clearly a hotel where dogs are tolerated, certainly not welcome even if they are well behaved.
We’ve done quite a few hotels in this price range but this one is clearly overpriced for what it offers and the location next to the Rigi station doesn’t justify it. There are much better options in the area.

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Jofisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 22, 2019

Very cosy historic lake hotel, nicely renovated with respect for the history of the property, lots of original details. Good beds, great views over the lake, very nice breakfast! Good value for money! Highly recommended!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Roy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 21, 2019

Our stay at Hotel Terraasse am See was like walking into an impressionistic painting.
We were greeted with warmth and a smile. Our room was overlooking Lake Lucerne with the mountains in the background and stars over head. Our dinner was excellent and creative on a patio over looking the lake with lights in the trees and red umbrellas. It was as if an impressionistic painting came to life! Our few days at Hotel Terrasse an See will remain in my mind and heart. To return would be my joy.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thomasmH1143GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 29, 2019

A perfect base for a weeks waking around the lake. The hotel is right next to the lake within 50m of the Rigi bahn and the jetty. Our room had access to a balcony overlooking the lake, a perfect place to relax in the early evening and enjoy beautiful sunsets over the lake. Our room had a bath which was a bonus.We had two evening meals in a stunning restaurant overlooking the lake, which on a half boatd basis worked out at 35CHF for 3 courses, good food & value. The char & perch fish dishes were excellent. Plenty of excursion possibilities close by....the swiss path (suggest boat to Treib then funicular and walk to Bauen), Buses to the Stoosbahn and take the worlds steepest funicular then cable car to the Fronalpstock with spectacular views of the lake, Burgenstock worth a visit to go on Europes longest outdoor lift and not forgetting endless walks on Rigi (Kulm, Schdieigg and Kanzeli). Lovely place.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank the_holloways
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 17, 2019

Time warp meets Faulty Towers.... a room so full of old out of date stuff, including the bathroom that cannot have been touched for 25 years at least.

Some nice old period pieces of furniture in the bedroom that sported the tiniest TV screen I ever saw. Not a smart one of course.

The breakfast was a trivial offering. But the croissants were fresh and the service friendly.

But the whole experience left me wondering why this fantastic spot is lost in time and seems to have no desire to ever catch up. Maybe that appeals to some clientel ?

Room tip: There is little sound insulation between the rooms, so not sure how one could choose a quiet one
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews