We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hurb
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
464
98
31
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
464
98
31
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel lake lucerne paddle boards nice garden top floor a lake view room art nouveau modern style magical experience private access team makes floor room constructive feedback outdoor jacuzzi beautiful spot wedding party unique location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 616 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2019

Superb location right on the shore of Lake Lucerne, lovely view across and along the lake. Very modern rooms and bathrooms, our room was at the back but as no air conditioning the lack of view was compensated for by cooler north facing rooms.
We liked the tea and coffee facilities on the landings, better for the environment than in every room.
The thing that surprised us most was at checked in we were told the restaurant was full and one 10 minutes drive away was recommended. Not happy we went to the restaurant and asked if there were any tables, having driven for 6 hours to get there going out by car was the last thing we wanted to do. We were offered a great table straight away and had it all evening. The food was superb and service excellent. Seems strange that a hotel would want to recommend a competitor unnecessarily.
So much to do in the area we will be back.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank wappynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel_Vitznauerhof, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Dear Wappynick,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write such a nice review!
We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in one of our mountain view rooms. You are right, they are indeed cooler ;).
We are however sorry about the miscommunication regarding the restaurant. This should not have happened and we are really happy that you were able to have dinner with us anyway!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Your Vitznauerhof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful, great views and amenities. One of the one site restaurants - Panarama Terrace, was exceptional. Our server, Hedwyghe (I had to ask her name because the service was the best we have received) I was in the restaurant industry for 15 years both owning and serving in fine dining. I would have loved to have her working for us! She had perfect recommendations and was attentive and made our experience even better. We had the melon and prosciutto, ribs and wings off the bbq .... soooo tender and perfect amount of bbq flavour and sauce. We are actually going to book a trip back from Canada just to stay at this hotel again and enjoy the restaurant of course! We had a lovely room with a large terrace overlooking the lake. Quiet but lots to do.
Thanks again Hedwyghe for making our meals so memorable!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MichelleB9228
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel_Vitznauerhof, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Dear MichelleB9228,

Thank you for your very kind review!
It is great to read that you have had such a great stay with us and that you enjoyed our terrace so much.

We have forwarded this big compliment to Hedwyghe, thank you for this!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back and send you in the mean time our warmest regards from Vitznau,

Your Vitznauerhof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2019 via mobile

I visited with a couple of friends a week ago to have an evening dinner outside by the lake.

1. Food was nothing special/mediocre, but still it was very expensive.

2. Three frickin times they forgot our orders, and we had to wait for ages to get what we wanted.

They only thing we liked was the view over the lake.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank joakims379
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel_Vitznauerhof, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2019

Dear Joakims379,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write this review.

We are sorry that your experience was not how it should have been. It is not acceptable that your order was forgotten three times and we have discussed this internally.

We would love it if you would give us another chance to make sure you get the experience you should have had!

Warm regards,
Your Vitznauerhof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

You can’t argue with the location of this hotel, right on the shores of Lake Lucerne. And the communal areas are lovely. However, having spent over $500 AUD a night for the room, we were very disappointed that’s the rooms are not much more than an Ibis room. Cheap furniture, two single beds pushed together like a backpackers hostel and tea/coffee facilities. There was also no aircon, which is essential in the summer months and we certainly suffered because of it! Hotel staff are lovely but unfortunately, it didn’t live up to expectations due to the fact that they cut such significant corners on the rooms.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lukeharps
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel_Vitznauerhof, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2019

Dear Lukeharps

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write this review. We are always happy with the opportunity to improve our service.

We are happy to read that you value our location and our hotel staff. This means a lot to us, because without our staff we would be nothing!

Due to the fact that our hotel is located in a monumental building, we are not allowed to make (big) changes, such as air-conditioning. For that reason, we have ventilators availbale for all rooms.

We have a lot of business guests in our hotel, therefore our rooms are also possible to be booked as twin-rooms. For those who prefer to have a kingsize-bed, we have a (what we call) "lovebridge" and we can make all beds like king-size beds.

We would love it if you would come back in the future and give us a second change to amaze you.

Warm regards,
Your Vitznauerhof Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2019

This is the second year we enjoyed a long weekend at this hotel. We fell in love last year and had to come back. This place feels like the mediterranean Ticino without having to drive as long and we can avoid the awful traffic around Gotthard. We love the wonderful Garden and views from the rooms. This year we went to the restaurant SENS and were delighted of the quality of the food and service. The atmosphere of the hotel is just the way we like it, it is not too big, you'll find a mixture of old and modern interiors, warm people, good food and a unique location at the lake.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MiaI835
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel_Vitznauerhof, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2019

Dear Mial835

Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to wright it.

Great to read that you fell in love last year and now already have returned! Also nice to see that you have visited our pearl at the lake, Restaurant Sens.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back next time!

Your Vitznauerhof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews