We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
C$543
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Hanalei115

Swiss Paradise

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 25, 2021via mobile
It was our 4th time to visit Vitznauerhof this April. We cannot recommend Vitznauerhof enough to our friends and relatives and to everyone who is in Switzerland looking for a lovely place to relax, eat well and enjoy nature. Vitznauerhof is the the place to go if you want to have your perfect "Swiss Holiday!". The atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly yet very professional. The hotel and property is very elegant and classy but not pretentious and uptight. It's like a holiday home that you always look forward going back to. Vitznauerhof represents everything that is beautiful in Switzerland - emerald, clear lake at your doorstep, mountains (the oldest mountain railway in Europe that takes you to Mt. Rigi, Queen of the Alps is few steps away) and the bonus - fantastic gastronomy, which is hard to find in Switzerland. This is one of the places where you don't feel bad paying for food because it's good! Due to Covid restrictions you are only allowed to eat in the restaurant hotel during so one of our main consideration is we should be happy with the food served in the hotel where we are staying.

From the moment you book your room and you will know that the place is run by dedicated staff who wants to make sure that you'll have a comfortable and memorable stay. Ms. Sanne Schuring, the Front Desk Manager personally arranged the restaurant reservations and made sure that our request are take cared. She replied swiftly to my emails and was very kind and helpful.

The room that was assigned to us was big and spacious. It has 2 balconies where you can have a lovely view of the lake and mountains. The bed is big and cozy. It's cleaned very well everyday.

We loved waking up and going to breakfast. They have a good spread and you can order eggs and bacon on top of the ones that are already in the buffet. We would like to commend Christine, she was lovely, patient and cheerful. The person who makes your mornings extra happy.

The snacks and dinner at Inspiration were also delightful. They have Asian snacks like japanese frued chicken, gyoza and pork buns. I am Asian & I've searched for Asian food around Switzerland to satisfy my cravings, and I always end up disappointed. The Asian snacks in Vitznauerhof hit the spot! Finally! Ben and Danielle were fantastic in making sure that we have food and drinks while enjoying the pool or just relaxing in the lakeside cabana. They always have a smile even when it gets busy. Danielle makes awesome negronis!

The Gondola sauna is a great addition. It is unique and you can plunge to the cold lake after sweating. Then have a little rest listening to the sound of nature or watching the boats pass by. The spa managed by Oli and Nicole is well-maintained and clean. Oli and Nicole are always willing to help.

The main reason why we keep on coming back is The Sens Restaurant. Food is very important for us in making a decision where we should stay. Sens is the best restaurant in Switzerland! We'ver been here 4 times and we get excited by the same dishes. We love this restaurant and the whole team. The food is fantastic! Chef Jeroen's genuineness and humility sets the warm and special atmosphere. We appreciate how the team takes care of our 3 yrs. old daughter as well. Again, we highly recommend this restaurant to everybody that we know :-) And it's a must try if you are staying in Vitznauerhof. Reserve in advance as it's usually fully-booked.

The Vitznauerhof team makes this place very special. When you're here you will feel like you are coming home to a lovely family! And this feeling is something that is very unique to this place. You will leave very refreshed, with full heart and belly!
Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Front Office, Sonstige at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this review
Responded Mar 13, 2023
Dear Guest

Warm regards from Lake Lucerne!

We are very pleased to hear that you felt so comfortable with us at the Hotel Vitznauerhof. It is a pleasure for us that we were able to convince you right from the start.

We are very happy that you enjoy returning to us and relaxing with us. We are glad that our rooms meet your wishes. It is a pleasure to hear that we were able to impress you with our culinary delights and that we were able to fulfil your wishes.
We are pleased that the spa was also able to convince you.

We are very grateful for your words of praise and I have gladly shared your feedback with the entire team.

The whole team are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Your Vitznauerhof team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 km from Hotel Vitznauerhof
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$301
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Hotel Vitznauerhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$1,879
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Hotel Vitznauerhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Hotel Vitznauerhof
Beachfront
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$243
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Hotel Vitznauerhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$543
  • Booking.com
0.0 km from Hotel Vitznauerhof
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$312
  • Hotels.com
3.8 km from Hotel Vitznauerhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$401
  • Priceline
4.3 km from Hotel Vitznauerhof
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$415
  • Booking.com
4.4 km from Hotel Vitznauerhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$258
  • Booking.com
4.5 km from Hotel Vitznauerhof
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Vitznau
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveller rating
519
103
32
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
519
103
32
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel lake lucerne paddle boards top floor a lake view room no air conditioning art nouveau magical experience private access team makes floor room constructive feedback beautiful spot modern luxury unique location outdoor jacuzzi wedding party
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 681 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2021

The stuff here is very friendly. Especially thanks to Raphael, Tanja and the nice man from Slovenia (I forgot his name). We had a great time and will definitely return :)
The food was also very tasty!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Bmyh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Front Office, Other at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2021

Dear guest
Warm regards from the Lake Lucerne!
Thank you very much for staying with us as well as for the time it took to write your review.
With pleasure we've forwarded the kind words to the corresponding employees.
Also the compliment when it comes to the food has been forwarded to the kitchen crew with pleasure.
We're already looking forward to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards
The Vitznauerhof-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2020 via mobile

My wife and I went to Vitznauerhof for our anniversary, to enjoy some peace and quite, relaxation, and have a gastronomical experience. And we were not disappointed! It started with the friendly reception at the front desk a few hours before normal check in. We got a spacious, well stocked, and clean room (including rose petals and a personal note), and could change our spa treatments to fit the day. It is also centrally located if you want to visit beautiful Rigi mountain. After each enjoying a massage, we got the experience our personal highlight of the trip: a truly exquisite 6 course dinner at restaurant Sense with excellent Dutch chef Jeroen Achtien and his crew. Simply mind blowing, must do experience! After a wonderful breakfast in bed, we unfortunately had to leave, but we will definitely be back!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank LionelMartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Front Office, Sonstige at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2021

Dear Lionel
Sunny regards from Vitznau to you and your wife!
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your impressions.
We were pleased to read that you celebrated your anniversary with us. With a smile on the face we forwarded your kind words regarding the check-in to the according department. It's great to know that you felt comfortable in your room and that you enjoyed the personal note.
What a pleasure to read your wonderful review about our Fine Dining Restaurant Sens. We happily forwarded the praise to the whole team.
We're looking forward to welcome you again soon!
Kind regards
The Vitznauerhof-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2020 via mobile

It was our 3rd visit last October. Our first visit was right after the spring lockdown. And after that we went back the second time with friends. It refreshing place to stay at after the lockdown. The lake is beautiful and it is just in front of the hotel so you can swim anytime. The cabanas in front of the lake are handy and lovely to have. They have a nice jacuzzi. The paddle boards are also included in the rate and can be used anytime. It is good for families, our 2 yrs. old daughter enjoyed playing in the jacuzzi and the lake. We love the spa. The staff are friendly and accommodating. They were very helpful especially Tanja who assisted us when our car broke and Sanne who made sure that we were informed about an available table at Sens after being on the waitlist.
A fantastic part of this place is the Restaurant Sens (one of the reasons why we kept coming back) a Michellin-starred restaurant led by the very talented chef - Jeroen Achtien. We highly recommend this restaurant as they are doing something very special here. The dining experience they provide and the food are exceptional - plus the amazing view! We ate there 3 times and it was always a magical experience. They even accommodate our 3 years old daughter and made her feel special. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the staff were happy. Chef Achtien is one of the few chefs who really interacts with the guests.
It is a great little corner in Switzerland and we are happy that we found this gem!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hanalei115
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Front Office, Sonstige at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2021

Dear Hanalei
Sunny greetings from the Lake Lucerne!
Thank you very much for visiting us as well as for taking the time to write a feedback.
It's a pleasure to hear that you stayed with us for the third time already and we feel honoured to be called your holiday home in Switzerland.
We're happy that you and your family especially enjoyed our spa area as well as the garden and the stand up paddles we provide. Furthermore we read your kind words about our staff with a smile on our face. It is always very nice to hear such lovely feedback about our work which we do with a lot of passion.
The great review about our Fine Dining Restaurant Sens has been forwarded to the whole team with pleasure.
We hope to welcome you again with us soon!
Best regards
The Vitznauerhof-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2020 via mobile

The Vitznauerhof is the Perfect Location to host a special event with it’s amazing location right on the lake, the building from early 1900 and the wonderful Restaurant Sens in it’s own pavillion right over the water with outstanding food.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ammrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Front Office, Sonstige at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2021

Dear guest
Thank you very much for staying with us to celebrate your 30th wedding anniversary as well as for taking the time to write a review.
We are delighted to read, that you had a wonderful time with us and that you especially enjoyed our unique location as well as the 120years-old bulding and our Fine Dining Restaurant Sens.
It'd be a pleasure to welcome you again!
Warm regards
The Vitznauerhof-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2020

During our stay we loved the room with a wonderful view on the lake, the extremely friendly and helpful staff, the excellent food (in particular the breakfast buffet), the jump into the lake after the sauna (during rainy weather), the stand-up paddling on the lake (with sunshine). We will certainly be back at Vitznauerhof.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 945Stone-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Front Office, Sonstige at Hotel Vitznauerhof, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2020

Dear guest
Sunny greetings from the Lake Lucerne!
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your stay.
What a great feedback! Seems like you fully enjoyed your stay, most of all our location and the facilities. Your kind words regarding our staff will be forwarded to the whole team with pleasure.
We're already looking forward to welcome you again!
Kind regards
The Vitznauerhof-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews