We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing stay in this cozy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Living room with a wood burning stove Bedroom with a super kingsize bed and high quality matress
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Abbotsleigh Cottage is a stylish 2 bedroom contemporary apartment within a Regency country house.
Living room with a wood burning stove
Bedroom with a super kingsize bed and high quality matress
Open plan living room with wood burning stove
Super Kingsize bed with Egyptian cotton sheets and views over the valleys and beyond
Outside seating right in front of the apartment
Bunkroom off the main bedroom, great for kids and adults alike.
Bunkroom with full length beds, great for kids and adults alike.
Bunkroom with full length beds, great for kids and adults alike.
Autumn view from the living room
The gardens at Abbotsleigh Cottage
Garden at Abbotsleigh Cottage
Bridge over the River Frome at Freshford
Freshford Village, the area known as Sharpstone
Bridge over the River Frome and the Inn at Freshford just the otherside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Freshford, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Michael W
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay in this cozy cottage”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Phillip and Naomi were wonderful hosts who greeted upon arrival and at our departure. You would never know they were there the 3 days we were there. Phillip even had the fireplace going when we arrived. The apartment was a roomy one bed/one bath with a combination living/kitchen/dining area. Nicely decorated to make you feel at home. The bed was as comfortable as could be...very important to us.

Freshford is a quiet and beautiful little community. The train was a 10 minute scenic walk from the house and a 10 minute ride to Bath. I would love to go back when everything is in bloom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam T
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful place to stay - xmas/new year break”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed for a few nights between Xmas and New Year with husband and teenage daughter. A really lovely cottage, spotless and very well cared for. Everything had been thought of at the cottage and really felt at home for our few days. Walks, breakfast at the local shop and trip to Bath - really nice to blow the cobwebs away after Xmas and only downside was the torrential rain but wasn't a hardship to stay cosy at the cottage :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful cottage, deliaghtful people, delightful village”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for two nights in this cottage. It is perfect for a couple. Such a beautiful village and because everyone walks you can talk to the locals as you pass. Idyllic. We will be returning in the Spring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners were kind and thoughtful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice K
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Having stayed in many holiday rentals here and in Europe we think that this one was one of the best. We were warmly welcomed by Phil and he quickly showed us on maps details of some of the local walks, shop/cafe and pub, along with details of the rail replacement bus (the railway was out of action whilst we were there). We were very pleasantly surprised to find the very well equipped kitchen had some essentials which are so often omitted from holiday rental properties, including olive oil, sea salt, tea, coffee and much more. There were plentiful pots, pans, cultery and paper napkins for those who want to cook. The bathroom had lovely toiletries too, with loo roll. The bedroom was spacious with a super-king size bed and quality linens. We loved the immediate area and after a visit to Bath we didn't venture too far and had long walks in the beautiful village, valley, surrounding hills and riversides. In conclusion we would highly recommend Abbotsleigh Cottage, many thanks to Phil and Naomi who were unobtrusive but friendly and always willing to stop for a chat. PS Don't miss the local travelling wood fired pizza van. The best this side of San Gimignano!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful rental, beautiful town.”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were very impressed with this rental cottage in Freshford. The area is absolutely breath-taking and the small village of Freshford is a beautiful and peaceful place to stay. It's also a plus that Bath is only a short drive or train ride away. As for the cottage - it is beautifully decorated and very clean. There was plenty of room for my family of 4 to stay. The owners made sure we were taken care of when we arrived to town late and all restaurants were closed. They went above and beyond to make sure the children had food in their bellies before sleeping for the night! The only problem was the driving in this stone-wall town. It adds to the charm of the village, but it is quite stressful driving around in it (especially for us American drivers!) But - who needs to drive, when there are several gorgeous walking paths to nearly everywhere you could possibly want to go in town or to the local train station. I would recommend this rental to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MargL26
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We enjoyed our stay in this clean and well presented apartment which has a lovely aspect overlooking the garden.
It is very peaceful and we slept well in the large comfortable bed.
Freshford is a very beautiful area in which to stay.
The kindness of Philip and Naomi was much appreciated.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr_Z_Mack
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful accomodation in excellent location for Bath and beyond...”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at this property for just a few days at the end of a holiday tour of Somerset at the beginning of June. It is located in a beautiful quiet village that has fantastic transport links into Bath by rail. The train stop is an easy and pleasant walk through the village from the property.

The accommodation is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean. Given my allergies I am incredibly fussy about cleanliness of where I stay, and this is probably the best accommodation I have stayed in to date. The property has been sympathetically renovated to provide a modern space whilst retaining the character, and has those essential touches such as White Company linens and fluffy towels. My husband (6ft 3") really appreciated the roomy shower as he had not be able to fit under one without crouching and squashing himself into tiny cubicles at the previous hotels during the week. You can be assured of a good nights sleep as the bed is large and very comfortable, and there is no noise at all overnight.

We found the owners are that excellent mix of welcoming and helpful without being intrusive, so you can easily relax outside after a busy day sightseeing. Communications with booking, and directions were also good. The chocolate brownies on arrival were a lovely touch!

One of the main points that stuck with us from this trip was how friendly the village is, everyone smiles and speaks as you walk past and the drivers are also very considerate on the narrow roads. There is a community shop and cafe which unfortunately we did not get to, but it would prove convenient for those self catering. We have previously stayed in Bradford-on-Avon which is larger and more impersonal, so will definitely look at Freshford instead for our base in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: too short a stay
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing