We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good hotel, perfect view”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Baron Tavernier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Baron Tavernier
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chexbres
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel, perfect view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Le Baron-Tavernier hôtel and restaurant. Visited: balcony suite room 36.
From the little that I have seen the reception, good service
- room is large, badly needs some redecoration, as still in 90ies style, fairly impersonal, lacks cosiness, fake plastic flowers, bare noisy neon light in bathroom, etc.
- very small pillow, no extra in room
- bed not undone at night, no welcome gesture (fruit, chocolate, anything)
- Cleanliness ok, moquette and table à valise could be cleaner
- Facilities could be more modern (outdated, very small TV, DSL connection but no free WLAN, safe impractical and of uneasy access)
- Outstanding view from the terrace, clearly what you're paying for
- Average breakfast
Overall quite charming, but below standard for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elfinst0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    49
    20
    18
    6
See reviews for
22
77
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

The hotel is set amid the wineyards, in a strong slope overlooking the east part of Lake geneva.
The view is simply gorgeous. Be sure to ask for a room with full view (and not only the side of the hotel) so you can benefit from a 180 degree and more panorama.
The hotel is very nice and very well kept.
The other great part is their restaurant called the deck, a terrace with the same view and pretty good food.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6voyageurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

I am a travel writer and spend a great deal of time carefully choosing unique hotels as I know how one can misinterpret internet photographs. The choice of a hotel can make or break a travel experience and render the journey truly memorable or eminenty forgettable.

I was on a research trip to Switzerland as I am writing for a new book concerning a glamorous concert pianist active in the 1920s. Everyone knows the country is frighteningly expensive just now with the strength of the Swiss Franc added to the generally stratospheric Swiss prices (complained about since the eighteenth century incidentally).

I needed to stay in a hotel near Montreux for a week. The Hotel du Lac at Vevey was magnificent but outrageously expensive (even with a longer-stay discount) as were most of the finer hotels in Montreux as the famous jazz festival was soon to begin. So I thought I would be clever and stay in a small picturesque village on the shores of Lake Geneva.

A big error of judgement. I had consulted an outdated Red Michelin Guide to Switzerland and it had given Le Baron Tavernier the much sought after red designation. When I consulted the 2011 guide (too late) I noticed it has now lost that accolade but remains in the guide. Always buy the latest guide. Spend a few pounds to save more serious disappointment later. Beware the designation 'Hotel-Restaurant' if planning a longer stay anywhere.

Le Baron Tavernier is basically a restaurant with rooms that caters for one or two night stays over weekends. A noisy road runs just beneath the balcony of very small double rooms with uncomfortably tiny bathrooms and thin walls (draw your own conclusions on that one). The view of the Vaud vineyards and mountains is truly spectacular if you are given a room with a balcony at the front. The staff are charming and friendly but are forced to work in both restaurant and hotel and the hotel services, such as they are, suffer as a result. The fashionable restaurant known as 'Le Deck' is one of the finest relatively affordable trendy restaurants on Lake Geneva with equally stunning views and excellent food.

However the managemant have forgotten the hotel or no longer consider it a priority with such a successful restaurant - Ferraris and Porsches always parked outside. The reception is effectively only part-time (ring a number on a mobile placed on a deserted counter for attention), no help with luggage, a tiny 'service' lift near the kitchens and cooking smells pervading the entire establishment. No air conditioning - I needed a fan which was helpfully supplied. All this would be alright at half the price or less but I felt exploited and misled as it considers and markets itself as a luxury hotel yet with none of the expected facilities of one. Really miserable, parsimonious breakfast was included considering the excellent restaurant potential. I decided to change after two nights.

I moved to the Hotel Victoria for the remainder of my stay. This is a superb Relais and Chateaux establishment situated in the charming village of Glion above Montreux priced at slightly less than Le Baron for a double room.

This hotel is one of the finest I have ever stayed in and richly deserves its red designation in the 2011 Red Michelin Guide. What a contrast for less money! A spacious room with antique furniture, large luxurious bathroom wth costly fittings, towelling robes, a superb restaurant with extensive breakfast included, an elegant dining terrace overlooking the lake from high above, swimming pool, fitness room, magnificent public spaces finely and tastefully decorated with valuable paintings and objets d'art, carefully tended extensive gardens with an equally spectacular if not superior view. Staff that go out of their eay to be helpful. Noel Coward stayed at this hotel for a year and a tetchy Somerset Maugham often visited. If you are ever planning to visit Lake Geneva near Montreux and have a car this is the only place you should consider. I simply never wanted to leave.

As for Le Baron Tavernier - excellent restaurant but with an attached wildly overpriced so-called 'hotel'. Unless you are incapable at the wheel after the fine Vaud wines and food at 'Le Deck' and need a bed for the night - forget it.

Oh....and I told them all this before I left so this review will not come as a shock to the management.

Michael Moran
www.michael-moran.net

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichaelMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I stayed one night from sunday to monday in a single room. Was it because of that that I got a room with no view? Although the small room was very nice, the small window let me see towards the alps with a bit of Lake Geneva. I know that there are plenty of rooms with a spectacular view, and the hotel was half empty. (Some yrs ago I spent a spectacular night in the suite.) However, this is not the reason why I rate it so low. The reason is: breakfast in an uninspired room, with the usual annoying pop music, the waitress humming all the time in discordonance but having great fun, the buffet assortment being of good quality but subminimal (no eggs for example), the cleaning smells of monday morning kitchen maintenance... When I exited in the open pristine morning after checking out I was once more breathtaken by the spectacular view on lake, mountains and vinyards, that I missed during the whole stay in the hotel. Why isn't the breakfast not served on the terrace?

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view! Ask for breakfast on terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lot56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chexbres
0.8 km away
Hotel-Restaurant Prealpina
4.1 km away
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
Le Mirador Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Mont Pelerin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Lavaux
Hotel Lavaux
#1 of 3 in Cully
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Grand Hotel du Lac
Grand Hotel du Lac
#1 of 6 in Vevey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
7.2 km away
Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage
3.4 km away
Auberge Du Raisin
Auberge Du Raisin
#2 of 3 in Cully
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Baron Tavernier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Baron Tavernier

Property: Le Baron Tavernier
Address: Route de la Corniche, 4, Chexbres 1070, Switzerland (Formerly Le Baron Tavernier Hotel & Spa)
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Chexbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chexbres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Baron Tavernier 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Lavaux Vineyards, a UNSECO heritage site, The Baron Tavernier restaurants & SPA offer an exceptional experience to epicureans from around the world. The hotel's rooms and suites will only add to your amazement and to the comfort of a truly unique stay. The fusion of tradition and modernity are providing an atmosphere reflecting the spirit of Baron Tavernier. From fine dining to a simple drink with friends, please come to relax and entertain your taste bud in one of our restaurants. Our friendly employees will be happy to take care of you. Go throught the Spa's doors and succomb to this peacful heaven for a moment of relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Le Baron Tavernier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Baron Tavernier Switzerland/Chexbres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing