We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Elevated and Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gloria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gloria
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Beatenberg
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Elevated and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My husband and I visited Interlaken in September 2011 and we stayed at the Hotel Gloria in Beatenberg. It's located up in the moutain and it's just beautiful. The views are breath-taking. The ride up was a little scary for me, since I am afraid of hights. We were informed after reaching the hotel to take an alternative route to reach the town of Interlaken, but the cows with huge bells around their necks, grazing on the hillside was like a scene from Hiedi so I am glad we took the steep ride up first.
The hotel staff was great - very friendly and helpful. If you have questions about attractions and the bus to town they will assist you. A bus comes through about every 45 minutes.
We ate ostrich at the hotel; never had it before but it was yummy, tasted like tender steak.
The room was spacious and clean with a balcony with amazing views of the lake below and the Alps behind it. We recommend staying here for your visit in Interlaken.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for the loafed suite. The room was a good size and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeedTravelInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    23
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
36
92
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

First an apology

We stayed in this excellent hotel on our honeymoon in May 2010 - I could have sworn we wrote a review then but it does not seem to be on the site. It was only today when looking at hotels I thought I'd look back at this one and found it missing - so apologies to Bernard and Jacky!

First the location - high on the hills overlooking the lake with a mountain range as a backdrop - could it be better? Misty some mornings, but I guess sthat is down to the time of year. On clear days it was quite spectacular.

We arrived on a Thursday and as warned the restaurant was closed, but there was someone to meet us and reservations in the nearby Dorint Hotel (great meal) had been made for us

All the rooms have great views, ours was on the 3rd floor with a balcony, and a mezzanine with some extra beds, presumably for children.

Food throughout was excellent, Bernard is an excellent chef and when he and Jacky discovered we were on our honeymoon he pulled out all the stops! We even had our own individual menu one evening with local specilaities. Stawberries and champagne on our balcony was a lovely touch too...! Food thoughout the week was of high quality (Bernard makes a point of coming around to diners during service to make sure all is well) and we were looked after very well. They are the ultimate hosts, freindly without being obtrusive, helpful with suggestions on things to see, days to go and how to get there without trying to take over. They have spent years in high quality hotels and it shows - some 5* hotels I have stayed in should send managers here to see how it is done.

The hotel is an excellent base for exploring the Interlaken area, although it is about 20 minutes to get to from the main road near the lake.

Highlights?

So many, but the friendliness and genuinely welcoming attitude of the owners permeated the hotel.

Experiencing Bernard's yodelling club one evening was another!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boxjanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We picked this hotel after reading reviews on this site and we were not disappointed. Intimate with a breathtaking view, excellent restaurant, service that exceeds the best and the couple that run it approach guests more like friends than customers. As an example, Bernhard took all our ski gear back to the rental place to save us time on the last day we were there.
The food is way above what you would expect as the restaurant is not just a hotel dining room, it's dining that you would seek out on its own.
We would recommend this little hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin22222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I did not spend the night, although I would love to have! We came for lunch on Christmas day. The view from the hotel is excellent. While eating, we could look out at the Jungfrau, Eiger, und Monch! The views are just spectacular. ....and then our food came! Not only was the service so sweet and professional, but the food itself was outstanding. I had the holiday meal, which was a three course lunch. The duck was the best I've ever eaten! I would not hesitate to go back, and in fact, I plan on it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I miss my family, that's how I felt when I left the Gloria Hotel on 26/10. Everyone in the hotel was a member of my family, I haven't felt like a stanger. I meet the owners, they are so sweet, loving & caring.

I strongly recommend Gloria Hotel, for many reason:

1- cOZy ;)
2- location is breath-taking
3- Food is THE BEST (thanks to the Chef)
4- everyone will lend you a helping hands even customers
5- everyone happy and smilling (relaxed)
6- clean and envirnment friendly

Special Thanks to Bernhard, Jacky and entire Team. Wish you all the best.

I love you and hope to see you soon.
Faisal Alkharafi

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fkharafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Nestled 3,000 feet above Lake Thunersee you will find this amazing hotel in the small, yet very long village of Beatenberg. With a handful of residents and cows as your closest neighbors, this is really a place where you can get away and relax. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant has been the best food we have had since we arrived - so much that just about everywhere else has been a disappointment. The staff here is friendly and has provided a very personal experience.

To anyone coming to the area, I would highly recommend Hotel Gloria and Beatenberg in general. It's a stark contrast to Interlaken seems commercialized and overrun with tourists.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkoshinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We chose Gloria according to its location and reviews we read. It was better than our expectations. The view from the room is amazing, the bed large and comfortable. The bathroom was OK but somewhat less than the room and restaurant.
Breakfast is very good and has home made confitures made from local fruit. The hotel's restaurant (dinner) is superb!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IdoyatJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beatenberg
0.1 km away
Dorint Bluemlisalp Beatenberg/Interlaken
3.2 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 5 in Beatenberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.9 km away
Wellness & Spa Hotel Beatus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.2 km away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#3 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gloria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gloria

Property: Hotel Gloria
Address: Lindenweidli 115, Beatenberg 3803, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Beatenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Beatenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gloria 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Chalet Style Hotel,family run & lovingly refurbished, spacious modern rooms all with balconies & spectacular views of Lake Thun and the Alps . Including the famous 3 Eiger Mönch & Jungfrau. Free Wireless Internet & free Car Parking. Family rooms are also available. Our Restaurant with panoramic Sun Terrace serves delicious local and international specialties. Five min walk to Nierderhorm Cable car, a truly superb location, personalised service, great friendly hospitality, attention to detail & special touches are abundant throughout Hotel Gloria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Gloria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Hotel Beatenberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing