We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice spot for lunch”

Riverbank Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 79 Restaurants in Carlow
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Riverbank Restaurant is a award winning restaurant over looking the River Slaney. The restaurant is over two floors catering for large groups, families and romantic couples. Their is a extensive variety of food available ranging from Irish Beef to freshly caught fish to include scallops, crabmeat, monkfish, cod and a House favorite Seafood Pancake. There are also a wide variety of stir fry, curry and pasta dishes available. A la Carte menu and Early bird menu served from 6pm daily, Early Bird Menu is a three course meal which to include steak at no extra supplement for €25. We specialise in home cooked fresh food and have a wide choice of homemade dessert which are mouth watering just to look at! Also a special place for a relaxing Sunday Lunch with main courses priced at on €10.95. Looking forward to cooking for you in my restaurant. Sharon - Chef /Owner
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

After touring around the vicinity we pulled in here for lunch. We both had lasagna which was fresh and definitely home made but a little bit more would have been nice. But, in fairness there was plenty of salads and chips (which were a little dry).
Desserts were to die for though.
Restaurant was empty when we arrived and full in 30minutes. Kitchen is open to see and everything that was going out looked delicious.

Date of visit: April 2017
1  Thank Markleigh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 127 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved this restaurant, Sharon the owner was brilliant, the food she cooked was outstanding, she seriously couldn't have done anymore to make our night more special. The waitress was so nice and caring. Seriously we couldn't recommend this restaurant enough, superb food, very friendly and great value for money. Thank you Sharon

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank anndY3005XA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2017 via mobile

We went for dinner in the Riverbank. We ordered steak and it was excellent. Cooked exactly how we like it, veg and fries were also freshly cooked. For desert we got sticky toffee pudding and apple tart and custard, they were to die for! Really clean and lovely staff, I would definitely recommend the Riverbank

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Jenny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardonary, Owner at Riverbank Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Dear Jenny H
Many thanks for your excellent review on our restaurant.
I am glad ye enjoyed your evening with us and I will pass on your compliments to the girls.
Many thanks again for taking the time to give us such positive feedback.
Kind Regards
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2017

After 90 minutes we left the restaurant without getting our dinner despite several assurances from staff. Very disappointing. We waited for 60 minutes having finished our starter.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Food
Thank derekog6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardonary, Owner at Riverbank Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Dear Derekog6
I wish to pass on my sincere apologies for your delay last Saturday night.
As you know their was a large group of bridge players including yourselves who were playing bridge in the close by hotel.
We did our best to accommodate roughly 70 guests who arrived at the same time including many tables who had not made reservations.
Once again I can only hope you can accept my apologies for you and your group.
I hope you will return at another time so we can showcase to you this delay is not a normal practice in our restaurant.
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2017

I was among a group of 60 people , approx, here recently for a function.
I only heard very good reports from those around me about the food. I had the very nice soup, the melt in your mouth lamb shank and cheesecake. All were very very nice. The service was also excellent , given the crowd size.
I would highly recommend the Riverbank.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardonary, Owner at Riverbank Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2017

Dear Joero.
Many thanks for your excellent review on our restaurant.
The night in question was a pleasure to have and I am very pleased to see how much you enjoyed your evening with us.
I will pass on your compliments to the girls.
Many thanks again for taking the time to review our restaurant.
Kind Regards.
Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Riverbank Restaurant also viewed

Tullow, County Carlow
Carlow, County Carlow
 
Carlow, County Carlow
 

Been to Riverbank Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing