We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (701)
Filter reviews
701 results
Traveller rating
359
195
86
34
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
195
86
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fairy garden carlow town many occasions family wedding on arrival highly recommend this hotel steak wedding reception staff were very friendly next morning lovely hotel every member of staff function room an overnight stay keep up the good work top class restaurant staff
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 701 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Overall a very good experience at the Woodford Dolmen Hotel room was very warm even though the radiator was turned off and window left open although the was the only thing to mark the hotel down on as everything else was exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Hi Brian B

Thanks for leaving your review here, delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our current weather spell which I've hear described as an "Indian Summer" is a pleasant surprise to us all & is treating us to some lovely mild tempatures for this late time in the year which is having an impact on our heating times & levels.

Thanks again for your lovely comments,
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Had to request an air freshener from reception as there was a stale smell in the room. It smelt like stale cigarette butts in an ashtray. A gentleman called to our room and gave us an air steriliser machine. This helped a bit. Although, the next morning after we showered the smell returned. Had food in the Plumtree bistro in the evening good size portions and nice vegetarian options. Breakfast was decent the next morning. Well cooked and presented food and the staff were very friendly. One other point about the room we stayed in was supposedly wheelchair friendly. It was a bit difficult to move around the room with the additional single bed in it. Although, I do appreciate that hotels need to provide additional beds to their clientele, it would have been easier if this bed was not present. When we checked out we were asked how our stay was by Stephen, and we told him about the bad smell. I should point out that the option to change room was unavailable as their was a wedding and a karate event being held at the hotel.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank WalshFamilyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Hi WalshFamilyIreland

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review here. I'm happy to read your comments about our food & staff & delighted you enjoyed these. Although the hotel is completely non smoking it is hard to 100% manage this within the privacy of guest bedrooms so I have passed your comments on the bedroom to our accommodation manager who has completed a deep clean of the room.
Have noted your comments on the space in the room for wheelchair users & will pass this to the front office manager.

Thanks again for your feedback & I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to Woodford Dolmen Hotel again.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018

we had our wedding here two weeks ago and to say the hotel was perfect is an understatement from start to finish the hotel staff were absolutely amazing.Clare Kavanagh went above and beyond for us and our big day she really made us feel as if we were the only two people in the world. They offer the best wedding packages by far seriously could not fault them one bit. The food was amazing too from our meal to the finger food our guests are still talking about the hotel staff and food and how amazing it was. We can not honestly thank them enough for everything as every time we turned there was yet another beautiful thing for us done by Clare Kavanagh and the staff. Absolutely fantastic hotel really and truly from the food staff and bedrooms well worth booking.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tillym W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Hi Tillym W

Thank you so much for your excellent review of our wedding service. Clare & the team here work very hard to ensure a magical day for every couple & their guests so she will be delighted to read this.
Again thanks for your feedback & wishing you both a wonderful married life & I look forward to welcoming you both back for your 1st Wedding Anniversary stay.
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

I attended here for a wedding recently. Great day out and a fantastic spread. Food was fantastic...and plenty of it! They really made my friend feel like a princess for the day. They only issue i had with the whole experience was the dance floor was a bit slippy.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank roncalligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Hi roncalligirl

Thank you for your 5 star rating of the wedding you attended with us. It's lovely to see you say we made your friend feel like a princess as our wedding coordinator prides herself on attention to detail & looking after the little touches for all brides & grooms on their special day so she'll also be delighted to read this.
Thanks again for taking the time to leave a review here & I hope we can welcome you back again soon
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We stayed here for family wedding. The hotel and grounds are beautiful. The wedding package was amazing. The hotel was faultless. Very friendly and efficient staff. 5 star experience . Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mking292257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolmenManager, General Manager at Woodford Dolmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Hi mking292257

What a lovely review to read this morning, thank you for your glowing reference & so happy to read you & your family enjoyed your stay & wedding celebrations with us.
I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Regards
Colin Duggan - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews