We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Carlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My wife and I just stayed at the Avlon House for 5 nights. I stay at top hotels all across Canada every week as part of my job. The Avlon House exceeded all of our expectations and in my opinion was better than a 5 star hotel at a multiple of their nightly rate. The room was well appointed spacious and cheerful in decor. Internet access by WIFI was no problem. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was amazing. The host Tom was always available and we engaged in many pleasant conversations. Its the type of experience that you cant ever get at a hotel. We will stay there again and again in our future trips. Thanks again Tom, you really know how to run a business.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

We were surprised on arrival to be met by the same host as had previously met us at the Carlow Guest House some years ago. However his current B&B is better, more homely and probably one of the best B&B's we have stayed in anywehere and at a very competative price. The reception we received was friendly and the bedroom was very large. The level and standard of the rooms facilities was above what we would normally expect and included toiletries, a comb, toothbrush and shaving kit just in case someone staying forgot to pack one and the trouser press was also welcome. We needed none of them but it was such a nice touch. Breakfast did need to be booked the night before but we both knew what we wanted and neigther of us was disappointed. The full Irish breakfast was very generous and well cooked and the scrambled egg with salmon was an unusual offering in a B&B, indeed this is not something that I have ever been offered outside some of the better hotels I have (vary rarely) stayed in. Would I go back? without doubt the only reason I would hesitate to recomend this lovely B&B is the worry that next time it would be full.
If you're visiting Carlow try this B&B and, like most of those who have rated it, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Four out of the five rooms are very big and the rooms at the back are quieter, although the road out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkMike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Everything was excellent. Immaculate rooms,lovely hospitality. Food 10/10. Will return when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here for one night - What a fabulous place. The best B & B we have ever stayed in! The room had everything you could want - Bottled water, alarm clock, television, tea making facilities, trouser press, toiletries etc. I have stayed in some hotels and they wouldn't provide as much. The breakfast was excellent - a gigantic portion ( we didn't need to eat for the rest of the day). The owner was great ,very friendly and pleasant. Overall a wonderful place to stay I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sashaontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed here for one night. I am a single woman travelling alone. I felt very safe. The bedroom was immaculate, everything was very clean and very comfortable. The owner went out of his way - above and beyond anything I could have expected - to help me change my flight on the internet due to a bereavement. I have never posted a review before anywhere but I am so pleased with the help I was given that I wanted to post this.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Slept over one night in Carlow and made the very fortunate choice of selecting Avlon House. Not too big to loose the personal touch, yet with all the privacy one would like. The rooms luxurious and with all the nice little touches that one appreciate getting while travelling. Very clean and neat and overall a very beautiful house with beautiful things scattered throughout.
And don't skip breakfast, it is not only very tasty and good, but a very decent portion as well. Especially the eggs Benedict is very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sach70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here a number of times for business. It is one of the best B&B's I have stayed in. The rooms are excellent, spotlessly clean, great showers and free WIFI.I honestly cannot think of one negative, the owners will go out of their way to accommodate you. The breakfast great, portions too big:) with lots of choice. The last time I stayed I went to Carlow by train and rather than call a taxi to take me to my appointment the owner offered to drive me there. Great garden facilities, make sure to check them out! Highly recommended will always stay there when in Carlow.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie12320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlow hotels
3.9 km away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.8 km away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
599 reviews
1.8 km away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
0.1 km away
Carlow Guesthouse - Bed and Breakfast
1.1 km away
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avlon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avlon House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Avlon House Green Lane | Dublin Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range: $86 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avlon House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avlon House Bed & Breakfast Thanks past guests for sharing their experience of our product at Avlon House B&B Carlow as a result of their efforts we have being awarded a 2014 Consumer choice award from Tripadvisor. A big thank you for making Avlon House B&B Carlow the number 2 B&B out of Tripadvisors top 25 B&B's in Ireland 2014. Avlon House B&B also carries an AA "Highly Commended" 4 star award for consistently offering guests a quality of product within the top 10% of AA4 star establishments in UK & Ireland. Our Bed and Breakfast is a boutique Failte Ireland 4 star Irish Tourist Board approved Property. We are located within 7-10 minutes walk north of Carlow Town on the R448. Great rates & Good reviews just some of the reasons to book your accommodation at Avlon House in Carlow Town Ireland. Secure off street free parking with CCTV protection. Breakfast served daily between 7-10am full menus. All Rooms En suites with power showers, Bedrooms are fully equipped with Multi Channel TV, Telephone, Tea / Coffee facilities, Trouser press, Hairdryer, Toiletries & Mineral water are supplied with our compliments (Body Lotion, Shower gel, Shampoo, Conditioner, shower cap, Soap, Razor & Foam, Toothbrush & Paste, vanity kit, Nail Kit, Mending Kit, Shoe Shine), Wired & Wireless Broadband access in all rooms. 2 Lounges for guests use 1 with 700 DVD library, other with daily papers & 300 title book library. For the smokers we offer the use of our log cabin with board Games to help pass the time. During the fine summer evenings you can relax on the patio while listening to the water trickling through the water features or smelling the aromas from the Barbeque. Snack menu available daily from 4-8pm. New for 2012 Avlon House accommodation in Carlow town is now offering complimentary use of bicycles to explore the Carlow Country side to guests staying 2 or more nights (must be reserved at time of reservation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Avlon House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing