We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was our first Beaches vacation so we were very skeptical after reading some of the reviews before we left however we were very pleased with our experience. The staff are super accommodating and eager to ensure all your concerns are looked into. The resort feels very safe as it isn't huge and the kids can easily find their way around. Mike at the pool was so good about ensuring we all had chairs together on the pool deck every day, if you go introduce yourself they are all awesome. Our housekeeper Paula was so kind and genuinely seemed to care that we had found things we had been inquiring about. The list of great staff goes on and on, you can 't help but love their energy and huge smiles.
We only did one excursion, a catamaran to Dunn's River Falls that includes snorkeling and we would definitely recommend it. Our boys are 8 &10 and one of them was really scared to snorkel but a crew member, Joseph, was incredible and in the end we all loved it!! Not only did he take tons of time making our son comfortable, he would get the fish to come up to our boys. Once back on the boat he had everyone up dancing. The only danger is how much you might drink as he serves drinks balanced on his head...so how do you ever say no?
We found the kids club to be a bit frustrating as it was geared towards very young children and our boys felt it was focused on 4 year olds and did not find it appealing. I think it would be better to change the age range a bit to accommodate this age group. Fortunately we met a wonderful family from England and the kids and adults all got along great. We were very sad to leave but are looking forward to our next Beaches vacation.

Room Tip: We had top floor room on east wing really nice central location to main pool water park tennis court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob and Deb I I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,993 - 2,999 of 4,409 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I and 3 sons, (ages 17,15 and 9) had an amazing vacation at Beaches Boscobel. From the comfortable lounge at the airport to the cold Rum Punch upon arriving the Resort, all of our needs were met with a smile. The Players, Jason, Ainsley, Monique, and Rachone kept us happily entertained the entire week. Their manager (cannot remember his name!! so sorry!) was key in getting the guests involved and laughing. The food in all the restaurants was delicious and varied. The themed nights were great! We never got tired of any of the dishes. Our room was always clean and well stocked with waters, soda and juices. It was beautiful and comfortable with all five of us staying in one room! My youngest son LOVED the kids camp "Survivors". He wanted to go everyday and never had any complaints...only rave after rave. The "counselors" Michele, Lola and Shavaun were so kind and loving. My son was close to tears leaving them and the friends he made. He did actually cry himself to sleep the first night we were home. My older sons made friends they now keep in touch with and plan on getting together again. The photographer Neven and Isheka in Snapshots went over and beyond to make sure we had exactly what we wanted. Greg, Don and Claude (scuba instructor, hope the name is right!) at the water sports were awesome setting us up with whatever activity we wanted to play. (and there are a lot to choose from!) The Resort was immaculate and lush with beautiful trees, plants and flowers. It truly will be a trip we will talk about for years and years to come and we have numerous treasured memories we will hold close forever.

Room Tip: We did not use Concierge level rooms. We had the Luxury Honeymoon Suite and were very happy. Did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

we just got back from a 10 day vacation and had the best time we could ever imagine,the staff was so accomidating there was so many things for the kids to do and the food was outstanding,alvory at the arizona resteraunt was a hoot and kept us entertained every dinner we had there,lacey-ann and jay at the pool were always around keeping the kids occupied with games and the cool drinks were aplenty on the hot days,igol was always asking if we were enjoying the meals which were always top notch,our rooms were upgraded when we got there and the view was breathtaking with the sunrise pouring through our balcony every morning,this was the best family vacation we have ever taken,cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The A/C in the room was broken and when turned on, was making lots of obnoxious noise. We could not sleep every night. We called maintenance right away the next morning to only hear that they could not fix it. The hotel did not have another room to move us to. We ended up having a nightmare experience since we couldn't even sleep on our vacation!!! We were disappointed at how everything run-down is: when booking, people told us that its newly renovated, and it was just a plain lie. The beach is so small that because of all the motor-sports, the oil from the boats is everywhere, and we couldn't even get into the water. Throughout the property, in spite of it being all-inclusive, the service staff EXPECTED tips EVERYWHERE. It was UN-bearable. The food is disguising - its fast-food only, so if you want ANYTHING healthy, you will starve.
We are very very disappointed. We have been happy with our Sandals stay earlier in July (Bahamas) when we first discovered the chain. However, after our recent experience in Jamaica, we are very very disappointed.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank W0rldTraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRICS, Manager at Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Warm greetings from Sandals Resorts International! You are very important to us and we welcome the opportunity to speak with you. Please e-mail us at (customerservice@beaches.com). We look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This was our first time vacationing at an all-inclusive resort is it is THE WAY TO GO, especially if you have children. Our days at Beaches Boscobel were completely hassle-free and relaxing. We opted for a room with concierge service and this really added to the ease of our stay. The staff - friendly, happy, helpful. It was evident that they wanted us to have the best experience possible everyday and we did! For a quiet drink away from everyone, find the El Dorado bar located above the water sports center. Kids Camp and nanny service worked out great. Two things to be aware of: the bus ride from Monterey Bay to Boscobel is 2 hours long and secondly, when leaving Jamaica, the customs line at the airport is VERY long. To bypass the long line, buy Club Mobay passes from the resort; they are very much worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms, 3rd floor, on the west side of the resort have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We headed to this resort for my best friends wedding in August . When we checked in
everything went fairly smooth, until we got to our room. We had requested 2 queens beds, received a king bed- and due to bookings we were unable to get our room changed. Luckily i was rooming with a best friend so i wasnt terribly upset that we had to share a bed, but for them not to even care about messing up a reservation is what made me the most upset. The pool area was awesome and they did offer nice entertaintment. I did not like how everything shut down after a certain time- I understand that its a family resort but the swim up bar closed very early!. The best bar was the one that over looked the ocean, we were there every night and the staff was amazing!!! The food was ok, several were sick during the trip and a week more when we got home. The rooms were clean and the grounds were well kept.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McKenzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I just spoke to our clients who are very discrimating when it comes to staff, cleanliness and value for the money. They absolutely LOVED Beaches boscobel their family of Dad, Mom, 8, 5 and 2 year olds all had a great time. They went to Beaches Negril last year and in comparison the staff was more attentive at Boscobel and the lay out of the resort seemed more intimate not as far to walk back to the room even though the resort is built into the mountains. The beach is small but the waterpark was great for all 3 children. The food was good and the kids loved the children's program while mom and dad were out Scuba Diving for FREE!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Family Suites it's worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thekeatings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscobel
88.6 km away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
10.4 km away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,355 reviews
37.4 km away
Jewel Runaway Bay Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
13.3 km away
Moon Palace Jamaica
Moon Palace Jamaica
#7 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,618 reviews
84.2 km away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club

Address: St. Ann, Boscobel, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Boscobel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Boscobel
Price Range: $649 - $1,632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Minutes away from the newly renovated Ian Fleming International Airport•Kids Camp with certified nannies to pamper the kids •Supervised Xbox® Play Lounge with flat screen plasma TV’s•Kids can enjoy fun and games with Elmo & friends in our Sesame Street Caribbean Adventure•Adults-only El Dorado bar located on a terrace overlooking the Caribbean Sea •A state of the art “Liquid by Beaches” Disco •Pirates Island Water Park offering eleven slides for all ages•Voted Beaches Resorts ‘World’s Leading Family All-Inclusive’ 14 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Beaches Ocho Rios Resort & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Boscobel Resort & Golf Club Hotel Boscobel
Beaches Boscobel Resort And Golf Club
Beaches Boscobel Hotel
Beaches Boscobel Ocho Rios
Beaches Ocho Rios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing