We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastically finished, I'm glad we visited!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Built in 1781, lovingly restored in 2010.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Built in 1781, lovingly restored in 2010.
Original hay-feeders.
Welcome basket.
Ideal for a special occasion!
Original stone steps.
Luxurious simplicity.
A mix of antiques and modern.
Luxury toiletries.
Open fields to the rear.
The village pub - still a warm welcome.
The Manor
In the deep mid-winter, view to the pond.
The smell of a real Christmas tree :-)
Our 2015/2016 5 star award.
Our 2015/16 Gold award.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Digby, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ed M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastically finished, I'm glad we visited!”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My partner and I stayed for 4 nights at The Granary, after being greeted and shown about Jim our first reaction was how well presented and well finished the interior of the apartment was. It has everything one would need in terms of cooking utensils and facilities, plus there are a few luxury extras. There are a number of guide books and guest recommendations about what to do in the area, so there was no problem finding things to do. We had a great time and would recommend a trip! A big thanks to Jim and Linda!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
We're very happy you enjoyed your stay - visitors are always surprised by how much there is to do!

Thank you for choosing us for your get-away and if you come for another visit I will make a point of saying hello in person as well, Linda :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Digby, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The copper bath tub!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath
Liked least: Cant think of anything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thank you both, it was a pleasure having you stay (they have the bonniest baby boy!). Linda :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean C
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This accommodation is truly superb, Downstairs is one massive room with the living area blending into the kitchen area. Upstairs is a very large bedroom and an even larger bathroom which is absolutely stunning. Outside is a beautiful courtyard with a gorgeous view. Inside, there is nothing they haven't thought of to make you feel special, including bath bombs for the deepest bath I have ever seen. I could go on, but really, if you want to be spoilt, then visit the accommodation yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you both for your lovely reviews - and thank you for being such great guests and keeping all the plants alive during our mini heatwave (I'm sure the next guests appreciated it too!).

I hope you have a lovely summer and if ever you fancy another visit all our returning guests get a 10% discount when they book direct.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron C
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best self catering accommodation we have experienced yet!”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we like self catering. We have two small dogs . We like quiet , but not remote. When we found the old granary we thought it would be OK . We didn't think it would be outstanding!! The photos don't do it justice ,and having read the history of the site and subsequent renovation I can only stand in awe of the competence and skill of those involved in its restoration. It's not often I can recall a time when we have stayed in a place where we couldn't think of some improvements we would like to be made or homely things we have missed . The old granary is the exception. If Carlsberg made self catering accommodation it would look like this ?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: local pub not dog friendly as advertised on Internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoreenW31...
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous place for couples in countryside.”
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were delighted to have found The Granary, this is one of the best rentals we have stayed in and we have stayed in many over 20 years. It deserves every accolade including the gold star 5 from English tourist board.
Everything in the property is top quality and interior design by Linda is excellent.
The small patio area with the raised beds of various herbs was lovely and the views from it were so tranquil. Village pub recommended.
All in all superb in every way.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Many, many thanks for the kind words : - )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing