We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
christmas present

we received a buya gift voucher of our son for a tour and afternoon tea we booked sunday 14th... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Anne499520
,
Stockport, United Kingdom
Arise Sirloin! Said James l (or did he, no video evidence then). Immense historic importance nevertheless and "awesome"

Having passed Hoghton Tower (or rather the bottom of its very long drive)countless times over the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Ray S
Read all 456 reviews
  
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
302
102
22
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
102
22
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour farmers market loin school trip house tour dolls houses re enactment fascinating history stately home charles dickens king james gift shop interesting place manor house afternoon tea beautiful building banqueting hall
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 456 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

although we only live a couple of miles away and have done for 50 + years it's not somewhere we'd ever talked about going to. We love history and decided we drop in on our way home ...its was just amazing Chris did the guided tour and his knowledge is phenomenal.... if you like history it's a house full of hidden gems ..well worth a visit ..thanks to the family for looking at creative ways to protect their home and our heritage for future generations... Shamazing thanks to everybody

2  Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2018

We decided to go to the drive in movie day/night at Hoghton Tower. There were films during the day for the children we went for 7 pm to watch Love Actually. The staff were very helpful and friendly, food was available on site. Although it was a rainy night it was a cute experience watching the film in our car. The sound came through the FM radio and we did have some buzzing at times. A lovely night.

1  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2018

My son and daughter in law had their wedding reception here. Fantastic venue for a wedding if you get everything in place - we had a lovely reception in the courtyard with a string quartet, moved into the gardens for garden games and further refreshments and canapes, then into the splendid banqueting hall for a magnificent meal (With a Twist caterers), wonderful piano music from the minstrels' gallery and then duelling pianos for the party afterwards. Absolutely fantastic day in a truly gorgeous setting.

Thank June E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

lovely small stately home. easily doable in a few hours. nice to see where the Sir Loin of beef came about, or so legend says. lovely great hall. lovely drive up to the family home of Baron de Hoghton, one of the first baronacies in England. pop along and enjoy.

Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2017 via mobile

Excellent, good selection of various artisan market stalls from cheese, chutneys,chocolate,to wild venison and gin. With the odd warm sausage and hog roast thrown in, so worth a visit when it's next due.
Added attraction was the option to see Santa in the great hall, next to the roaring log fire, fabulous setting, and for those who have young children, this is must at Christmas time, so put a note in your diary for next year, as it does get booked up early.

Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena F, Manager at Hoghton Tower, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a good time. Merry Christmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews