We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A little Gem in the Hills of Perth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grandview B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview B&B
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little Gem in the Hills of Perth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Our return to Perth found us arriving at Grandview at 11:00 pm. Geoff was there to great us and helped us with our bags. He quickly showed us our room and offered us a beer. Now that is what I call service! We made arrangements for breakfast at 8:30, not sure how many people were staying or actually where we were. You get in that travel stupor and move around in a bit of a bubble. We climbed into the comfy bed and passed out. It was not until we awoke the next morning that we realized the beauty of our location. The Grandview lives well beyond its name with breath taking views of the city.
Breakfast for 2 was served in the dinning room and was a full spread of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, soy milk for the lactard (me) and a selection of breads. We were the only guests and from start to finish felt at home. We watched budgies (parrots) play in the bird bath and even spied a kookaburra coming in for a drink. We were both wiped from travel and spent most of the day inside. I was fighting a nasty cold and Geoff picked up a bunch of cough drops for me and offered us rides to the local stores. He didn’t need to offer, as we were merely guests, but he did immediately make us feel like friends.
The decorations are an eclectic mix of memorabilia from music to telephones. The room was clean and ample space for those who pack less than light. We enjoyed a selection of DVDs and free Internet. We didn’t use the pool, but it looked gorgeous and clean. Geoff also stocked the fridge with beer and fresh fruit platters. All the right touches. We did step out and take in the skyline of Perth at night. There is something very peaceful about watching the hustle and bustle of the city from a distance.
We left the next morning at 3:30 am and Geoff arranged the cab. He was up with us to help with bags even though we insisted that we were fine. At 3:25 he assured us that if the cab was not spot on time he would take us. Our cab arrived and we exchanged hugs. Such a beautiful place; I know we will be back when we can actually enjoy the pool and really experience everything it has to offer.

Room Tip: There are only 2, so you really can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharkyJillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
26
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

As other reviewers have already said Geoff is the perfect host and the view is as grand as you hope it is going to be. The bedroom and ensuite shower room are spacious and there is a fridge for keeping drinks cold. The lounge and dining areas are all superb and the highlight is sitting on the verandah admiring the views and watching the amazingly tame birds. Geoff is more than happy to provide a pick up and drop off service to the airport and also willing to meet guests from the local bus if they do not have transport. We would have no hesitation in recommending this B & B and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

This was definitely the best privately owned accommodation we stayed in on the whole trip to Australia From the moment that he picked us up from the airport Geoff couldn’t have made us more welcome, with his typical Australian humour he offered essential pieces of advice to the questions we asked him while on the way to Grand View
Geoff and Leanne are very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble
The room was faultless and impeccably finished with the essential air-conditioning as well as a cooling fan above.
The house is decorated with a range of interesting eclectic collectibles Geoff’s balcony has a view over the hills and Perth that is simply awesome giving a chance to see breathtaking sunsets no wonder they named it Grand View.
Breakfast was generous with lovely hot croissants, fresh fruit, cereals and drinks.
The swimming pool was just the right temperature with comfy loungers surrounded with just the music of the bush, a great place to unwind ideal for couples we highly recommend Grand View.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank explorerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

We arrived late in the evening after a long day of travel to a gracious welcome from our personable host, Geoff, As soon as our luggage was stowed in our room, we found ourselves settled on the deck with a bottle of house wine and the most amazing view of the Perth city lights before us. The accomodations were private, beautifully done, sparkling clean and very comfortable. Breakfast with that daylight view of Perth was delightful. Geoff went the extra mile by finding us the best bus schedule to Dunsborough and reserving a taxi for the next morning to get us to the terminal in good time. Just wish we had more time to stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryCarol4348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2011

My partner and I decided to stay here for the last 3 days of our holiday before jetting off home to the UK, as it was close to the airport although not too close to be noisy.

The first thing we noticed when we arrived was the friendly welcome we recieved from Geoff our host who went out of his way to make us feel at home and comfortable.

Our room had a beautiful view over Perth, was very clean and even had small touches that were lovely. Even a stack load of Dvd's to choose from to watch if we wanted.
The shops were a little walk away, so transport would be better for getting around.

The general views and the swimming pool was lovely along with the outstanding breakfasts, and also the Kookaburra's were very friendly too! If you you want a relaxing stay and true value for money then we would definatly reccommend staying here you will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy82_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2011

Just returned to Melb after a great trip to Perth. The Grandview was fantastic and very relaxing. Our host (Geoff) was most hospitable and extremely helpful with local knowledge. We especially enjoyed the views from the bacony where we could relax with a glass or two of some of the local wines

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Very nice house, great room and a very friendly host. It was all pefect, we had a great stay and can fully recomend the Grandview. it is Close to the airport and the host picked us up. It is a 20 minutes car ride away from Perth downtown.
...............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rudi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gooseberry Hill
12.7 km away
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
#1 of 1 in Pickering Brook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.7 km away
Airport Apartments
Airport Apartments
#1 of 3 in Redcliffe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.3 km away
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Possum Creek Lodge
Possum Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.2 km away
Kalamunda Carriages
Kalamunda Carriages
#1 of 3 in Kalamunda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
6.6 km away
Bickley Valley Retreat
Bickley Valley Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bickley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview B&B

Property: Grandview B&B
Address: 30 Girrawheen Drive, Gooseberry Hill, Western Australia 6076, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth Hills > Gooseberry Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gooseberry Hill
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandview B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandview B&B is nestled on the escarpment overlooking Perth city and surrounding areas. We are situated just 15 minutes from both the international and domestic airports and we offer complimentary WiFi to our guests. At Grandview you can expect immaculate executive style accommodation within beautiful bush surroundings. The house is in a quiet and tranquil location offering guests the opportunity to relax and unwind and enjoy some of the most wonderful sunsets you will ever see.Be enchanted by: Native flora and fauna Daily visits to our bird bath by Rosellas, Honey Eaters, Butcher Birds, etc. Periodic visits from our Kookaburra friends Regular visits from our wandering kangaroos. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing