We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second to none!”
Review of Grandview B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grandview B&B
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We stayed at Grandview for a total of 4 nights, 1 at the start of our Australia holiday and 3 at the end.
Geoff collected us from the airport after our early morning flight as arranged, and later that evening was kind enough to take us back to the airport to collect our rental car.
Geoff and Leanne’s friendliness was fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they were excellent and friendly hosts.
Grandview is a wonderful house, set on a hill overlooking Perth, with wonderful views of the city. The outside decking on the upper level provided a sitting area and the day bed was super in the sunshine! The lower level had the swimming pool, BBQ, dining table and chairs and sunloungers. We enjoyed watching the sun set over the city and the early evening visit from the Kookaburra.
The room itself was modern and clean and had everything you could want, with a large comfortable bed, foxtel cable TV (and a DVD player with selection of films), nice en-suite with shower, toiletries and heated towel rail. There was a separate room within the bedroom with clothes storage, fridge, tea and coffee making and an ironing board. Electric blankets were nice as it did get a little cool in the late evening.
Breakfast was continental style, with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast, croissants, teas, coffee and juice.
We were thankfully able to use the washing machine, which was very handy.
Geoff and Leanne are happy for you to share the facilities of the house, and there are interesting items of memorabilia all around.
A 20 minute walk (few minutes drive) up the hill is a very nice Italian restaurant called Embers, we ate there at lunchtime and also had a very nice evening meal (best to book for evenings as it gets busy). There is a French patisserie here too, although we did not get to try as it seemed to be closed a couple of days during the week.
A little further along the road is Kalamunda , we walked from the B&B and it took about 35 minutes (only a short drive). In Kalamunda you will find a few restaurants including Thai on the Hill (very nice), as well as a variety of shops, supermarket, fish and chips, visitor centre etc.
Perth was about 30minutes drive away, Geoff did say getting there by train was easy too.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable time at Grandview, and would most definitely choose to stay again.
Thank you Geoff and Leanne.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy123Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Grandview B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed here for a night and our host could not have been more friendly, accommodating & supportive. Fabulous views. An eclectic array of collectors items on display in the living area. Great conversation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worklifebalance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Grandview B&B has the best host we experienced in Australia! Geoff and Leanne are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble (including taking a picture apart-don't ask?!) The view from their deck of the Perth skyline is amazing especially at night. The rooms are comfortable one larger room with ensuite and one with a private bathroom. The electric blankets were very welcome. An extensive continental breakfast served in the dining room was very tasty. Grandview is decorated in a really interesting style with lots of music memorabilia, a phone box and petrol pump in the lounge. We liked it so much we booked in again a few days later! Gooseberry Hill is near to the Swan River and Perth city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judehunt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

It was the last night of our one-week stay in Perth. Feeling tired driving 5 hours from Pemberton, we were just looking for a room with proper heating and a nice bed. But we were being greeted with much much more..

Geoff, the host had been waiting for us the whole day as he does not know what time we arrive. He greeted us with his big smile and nice warm tea. We felt so at home and sat down to chat and laugh, forgot all about unpacking or tireness. He told us where to go for a nice walk, and helped us booked for dinner at the "Best Italian Restaurant" (really yummy:) on the hill, which is ony 5 min drive from his house.

The room was big and comfortable, overlooking a beautiful hill and Perth city at the far end. The shower was nice and warm. The surrounding was so beautiful. We took our evening walk before dinner and saw rabbits, pretty colourful birds, wild flowers,

Geoff's house has a nice swimming pool but we did not take a dip since it was winter, There were lavenders in his garden and yellow and whilte wild daffodils..
We only stayed for a night, but there were so much memories to take home. If we go to Perth again, we will surely stay in Grandview for more nights :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheng29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We came to Perth for a short break to unwind and found the perfect answer to our dreams.
The hospitality was first class and included a free bottle of wine as a memento when we left to come home.
The furnishings included interesting olde worlde items.
We would highly recommend this B & B to anyone visiting Perth.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshine255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We stayed at grandview for 3 nights in May this year. We had free pick up from the airport which was great. The b and b was not far from the airport. Geoff the owner was very hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. The actual b and b is stunning with the best views of the Perth skyline which comes alive at night. The whole place was exceptionaly clean. Geoff is an obvious antique collector with curios everwhere to browse at. Since it was May it was a little chilly and it was lovely to curl up beside the fire before retiring to our room with a great modern ensuite. Breakfast was lovely with real coffee. We would definitley stay there again on our next trip to Perth.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jobethrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I recently spent four nights at Grandview B&B. I found the venue superb and it is just a short distance from the airport.
The views are just magnificent and we enjoyed watching the sun set over the city of perth each night.
We booked the Guest Suite and the facilities were not only modern, fresh and comfortable but the hopitality by the owner made our holiday more enjoyable.
Breakfast was great with lots of fresh fruit.
I would recommend anyone visiting Perth to stay.

Russell and Gill Trezise (Mornington, Victoria)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrizzyMornington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gooseberry Hill
1.3 km away
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
86 reviews
0.8 km away
Possum Creek Lodge
Possum Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
28 reviews
3.2 km away
Kalamunda Carriages
Kalamunda Carriages
#1 of 3 in Kalamunda
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 km away
Lavenderpatch
Lavenderpatch
#2 of 2 in Mundaring
5 reviews
4.0 km away
Jennys Retreat B&B
Jennys Retreat B&B
#4 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
4 reviews
5.1 km away
Darlington House
Darlington House
#1 of 1 in Darlington
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview B&B

Address: 30 Girrawheen Dr, Gooseberry Hill, Western Australia 6076, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth Hills > Gooseberry Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gooseberry Hill
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandview B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandview B&B is nestled on the escarpment overlooking Perth city and surrounding areas. We are situated just 15 minutes from both the international and domestic airports and we offer complimentary WiFi to our guests. At Grandview you can expect immaculate executive style accommodation within beautiful bush surroundings. The house is in a quiet and tranquil location offering guests the opportunity to relax and unwind and enjoy some of the most wonderful sunsets you will ever see.Be enchanted by: Native flora and fauna Daily visits to our bird bath by Rosellas, Honey Eaters, Butcher Birds, etc. Periodic visits from our Kookaburra friends Regular visits from our wandering kangaroos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Grandview B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing