We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cabin”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alpine Lakefront

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region, California

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
honeylove...
Huntington Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Neglected Rental but the Lakefront View Makes Up For It”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is advertised as "older & vintage cabin), however what they don't mention is not only is it older but a very neglected vacation rental that I have ever been in. The front door window was already boarded up with only a few staples holding it together which eventually fell out (because of the door opening/closing on it's own from the wind) by the end of our stay. 75% of the lighting in the rental do not work. Garage door opener does not work. The furnitures from the couch to the beddings were very very dusty, as if no one has lived there for years. The only bed in the house that was comfortable was the master bedroom. The others were like laying on the floor - stiff and extremely hard. However, most of the appliances and important amenities were functioning well. I am rating this average because of the condition of the property. However the hot tub, fireplace and the fact that we had great lakefront view while bbqing and hanging out on the deck made-up for the rest of the conditions of the property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot Tub and Lakefront Views
Liked least: Overall poor condition of the property, poor lighting, uncomfortable mattresses & cleanliness.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Thank you for your feedback on this cabin and we will definitely have these things taken care of. We're very sorry for the issues you experienced at this property during your stay. Thank you for letting us know so we may improve and make our cabins better for you and other guests. We hope you will return to Big Bear soon and stay with Cool Cabins."
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We will definitely look into the issues you had and see how we can improve the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Big Bear Lake hotels

Los Angeles
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA.
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Sep 2013
Very sorry to hear that you had issues while staying at Alpine Lakefront. We did want to take a moment to update you as well as anyone else reading the reviews who are interested in renting this property. The cobwebs have been taken care of and the home is currently in the process of being repainted on the out side. Once again we wish to apologize about the broken board we were not aware of it upon your arrival. So glad our maintenance department was able to fix it so quickly for you! Also we are very sorry the washer was not working but glad the homeowner was able to get a repair man out within 24 hours so that you could use it for the remainder of your stay. As far as the condition of lake, unfortunately it is the lowest it has been in quite some time and 90% of the perimeter is mucky... Once again we are deeply apologetic for the issues you had while staying at this cabin and we hope the money you were refunded as well as the future discount offered was helpful. Hope to see you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ramona CA
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jun 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Alpine Lakefront is one of our more vintage Lakefront Cabins and we apologize if you were taken by surprise, however the homeowner is always prominent in taking action against any issues reported and tries to make it as comfortable for our guests as possible. The fence is well maintained but it is made of natural wood, unlike a chain link fence, there is some space between the slats and unfortunately it is possible for a smaller dog to slip through. In regards to the dock, you were the first to report any issues and the dock was fixed immediately upon your departure. We will have new pictures up this week. Thank you for bringing the concerns you had with the cabin to our attention and we hope you will be back to visit us very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing