We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Effort to Find”

The Pines Lakefront
Ranked #10 of 75 Restaurants in Big Bear Lake
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 22, 2018

This restaurant came highly recommended, but it was a little bit difficult to find because it's on a private road and not all GPS systems have it loaded. Don't despair, keep trying, it's worth the effort. We ordered off the German menu for Octoberfest and were not disappointed -- sausages for one and weinerschnitzel for the other, both with red cabbage and hot potato salad. The owner-host is friendly, with lots of info about the history of the restaurant and the lake. We liked it so much we're going back before our stay is ended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank RuNanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 150 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2018

According to all information, they are only closed on Tuesdays. We walked down there on a Monday night and it was like a ghost town. Nobody around, no signage to indicate they were closed. Just looked deserted. Was disappointing (although with the lake being so very low, it's nowhere close to being lakefront and probably not even if the lake is at normal levels). Businesses --- keep your websites and information up to date! Didn't get to eat there, but it sure left a bad taste in my mouth.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank BadDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018

We sat outside and the view was amazing. Got there at sunset. All the staff was very accommodating. I don't usually get salmon but decided to try. It was very good. The tables outside were a little close, but all in all it was a good experience. I will go back.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Debra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018

This is the only restaurant I could find on the lake and the setting was lovely. The food was very tasty and the service was wonderful.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank 8305San
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Working in the Big Bear area the locals suggested this spot. Walking up we saw there was a wait but they had live entertainment. We got on the list and was told the wait was an hour. The wait was truly an hour BUT it was an enjoyable wait. We were able to go upstairs and have drinks and were welcomed with another live band. Listening to the music and having drinks made the wait bearable. We ordered the steak and we were NOT disappointed. Our waiter (I think his name was Tyler) was very knowledgeable of the menu and was a great server. If you're in the area drop in!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank photohistorians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pines Lakefront also viewed

 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to The Pines Lakefront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing