We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
307
218
53
26
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
218
53
26
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseyarra valleybuffet breakfasthigh teaplay golfroom servicegolf viewroom was largebusiness conferencebeautiful surroundingspleasant stayking bedmini barcourse dinnerrelaxing breakupon checkcouple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
487 - 492 of 620 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just spent a night at this hotel over the weekend, on the morning of our departure we used the gym in the health retreat. The weights machine my fiance was using broke as he was using it, crushing his head and resulting in a nasty head injury. The woman in the health retreat turned up after 5 minutes and started examining the machine and filling out a form instead of running across to the hotel to get us some ice and a first aid box, which is what any nice, caring, normal person would have done, we had to ring across to the hotel ourselves to tell them that there had been a serious accident and to bring ice and a first aid box across to the gym. The hotel is a 2 minute walk away from the gym, it took them FIFTEEN minutes to come across. The girls in reception were kind and helpful, however the management at the hotel have not even uttered us an apology, just a couple of pathetic emails saying that they are 'gathering information', in other words they know they are responsible, they know that the faulty gym equipment could have killed my fiance and they are trying to cover their cowardly backs. Absolutely disgusted with this hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank CJD79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived at 1.30pm to check in and booked a table in the restaurant for 7pm. We went and saw a movie and when we returned to our room reception called us around 5.50pm asking if we wanted a booking in the restaurant to which my husband was told "you have no reservation and the earliest we can accomodate you was 8.30pm." My husband advised that this was too late and that we would have room service.

When placing our dinner order my husband requested mushroom sauce to have with his steak which he was told wasn't possible. I ordered a chicken dish which was disgusting and had pure fat wrapped around each medallion, the chicken was not a good colour and was more like a pate.

The shower had mould on the tiles and the television does not show the full picture on the screen so if there any words on the screen you cannot read all of them. The bed was also as hard as a rock!

Grounds and surroundings are beautiful, it is such a shame the service is poor! We visited the Yarra Valley on numerous occasions but will never stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelYV, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

I apologise that there were some aspects of your stay that did not live up to your expectations and that you were inconvenienced through our mistake with your dinner reservation.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a road trip to Melbourne we decided to head off to the Yarra Valley for a night at The Sebel Heritage. Left Richmond and arrived at the Sebel approx 1 hour later, nice drive. The whole scenery around the valley was so beautiful and green. Turning into the grounds of the Sebel was magnificent with the surrounding hills and undulating plains driving up to the entrance of the Sebel's beautiful well manicured gardens, a very welcome site indeed. Of course not to forget the most magnificent golf course, a golfer's dream having a house on the edge of the fairway and a huge lawn but not having to mow it :)

The gentleman at reception was very helpful and welcoming giving us maps of the area and marking off the best ways to get to the vineyards. Our room was lovely, big bathroom, big doors opening to an outside sitting area looking up to the hills. Everything was beautiful and clean and classy. Our package had a welcome bottle of wine which was a very nice drop:) and a chockie frog on your pillow. We had a room on the first floor which I thought was unusual but then realised that there was only 2 floors and it was nice to not have to go up and down in the lift.

We did not have dinner at the restaurant, only breakfast. Prices seemed a bit expensive but menu looked nice. We ate at the Wattleseed restaurant at Healsville which is approx half hour away but we were out and about and it suited us to eat while we were out. We also had dinner at a restaurant at a winery just 10 mins from,the Sebel but sorry I cannot think of the name of it. It was very nice, wood fire.

I had a pampering at the Piaf day spa at Healsville (see review). We loved the area and hotel so we decided that we would book in for another night of luxury.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in this establishment with two preschoolers. The hotel was very quiet and very comfortable, (in fact our grandchildren were the noise factor!) The staff were absolutely wonderful to them, (and to us.)
We all enjoyed the lovely heated indoor pool for swimming and with out the children the golf course would have been very inviting.
The meals were wonderful and special dietary requirements were catered for without fuss. The morning breakfast was amazing. The best gluten free bread ever. The scrambled eggs were the only disappointment not being made to order as we're the other egg dishes. You had so many other dishes to choose from this was not a problem.
I would recommend this hotel if you would like to take a break in the heart of the Yarra Valley. I do not think that you would be disappointed.

Room Tip: I do not think that you would get a bad room. It would be a preference of a view you wanted. Park or golf course maybe.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emceebee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SebelYV, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to note the experience you and your family enjoyed during your stay with us. I was delighted to read you enjoyed both the service and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews