We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay ”
Review of Yarra Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yarra Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. The rooms are spacious and spotless. The bed is comfortable. We had a small balcony but it’s useless as it’s very narrow there is no way you can sit out on it. The grounds are beautiful. Wifi is patchy. We had desert in the bar which was very good. The restaurant had a small and pricey menu which did not appeal to us. Breakfast is usual hotel breakfast. Overall the staff were friendly except for one staff member serving at breakfast on Sunday morning. It was busy but she was hostile and almost aggressive when we asked her for a coffee. She told us to go to the front desk at the dining room entry to place our order. Her manner left a lot to be desired. The lodge is in a gated community and the reception staff should provide information on closing time and gaining access at night. We were unaware that the gates closed at night and it was difficult to gain entry with the key. Reception staff were unable to provide us with information about local restaurants and directed us to the one in the hotel. We would stay here again and you definitely need a car to explore the valley.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank 255060Charlie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Charlie

Thank you for your review and suggestions for improvement and really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I have spoken to the staff member concerned and addressed the issue you identified to me. Please accept my apologies in this instance.

Warm regards
Carl Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went for dinner there twice - once with large group of friends and again with family. The food is absolutely outstanding - don't know what ingredients are used, but even the simplest foods like potatoes were so flavoursome. The wagyu steak was perfectly done - again, simple but full of flavour.

I particularly like the warm service and quiet ambience. Tables were spaced far apart, and there were no raucous groups on either occasion.

Will definitely visit again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Edmund L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Edmund

Thank you for your outstanding review on Bella restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Had a fantastic weekend for a big number birthday. Loved the marshmallow beds and the serenity of the whole grounds, you instantly feel relaxed as you drive through the gates. The staff went above and beyond and made the whole weekend very special, even coming out to sing happy birthday post dinner in the Bella restaurant. Food was fantastic and atmosphere just beautiful. Will certainly be returning, next time for longer!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Wendy

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. Fabulous to hear our staff in full voice for your birthday.

Warm regards
Carl Forrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

In the heart of the beautiful Yarra valley overlooking a golf course. The rooms are very spacious and we had a balcony overlooking the golf course with kangaroos bouncing across the greens. It’s position is great for trips out to the many beauty spots in this valley. One small suggestion in a hotel of this rating a coffee machine with pods would greatly improve the in room experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Suzanne

Thank you for your wonderful review on our hotel. Greatly appreciated and thank you for the suggestion of coffee pods in the rooms.

Warm regards
Carl Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Our room was a deluxe king room which was spacious and comfortable on the second floor with a small balcony, overlooking the extensive gardens. Breakfast included continental and hot food with fresh fruits, and artisan breads. Dinner menu was limited but well prepared with seasonal food. You do need a car for getting around as the Yarra Valley Lodge was off any public transport links. The hotel is in a gated area adjacent to the country golf club, ideal if you want to play golf at all. There are lovely paths to walk along and you can see wild kangaroos resting or bounding along. We really enjoyed our stay there.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank helensmith672017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Helen

Thank you very much for your lovely 5 star review on the Yarra Valley Lodge. We do have an amazing setting here in the country and its hard to believe we are only 45 min from Melbourne's CBD.

Helen we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Carl Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Everything was great (location, ambience, food, services) except for a few stuffs.

I decided on this place as I thought the view would be great.

However, to my shocking, upon opening up the balcony's door, I was greeted with cobweb and even spiders at the edge of the door. Upon inspecting the glass panels overseeing the open field, I spotted more cobwebs and spiders. Basically at every corner of the glass panel. Totally disgusted.

The toilet floor was very slippery upon wet. It feels like it was not cleaned properly. I think it was left to dry with cleaning agents still on it.

The front desk crew was helpful and very welcoming. If not for the bad balcony experience, I would have given this place a 5 stars!

Definitely would love to go back again.. hopefully the cleanliness can be improve the next time!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GuoTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Dear Guotai

Thank you for your review on the hotel and mentioning our wonderful team. I will have a look at the bathroom methods to ensure we are following procedure. Regarding the spiders.....we clean on every stay the exterior of our rooms but nature and its industrious creatures are very quick to re-claim their areas. We refuse to use chemicals in our natural environment to ensure we don't contaminate this special part of the country.

Guotai please feel free to contact me when you intend to return and I will make sure you are well looked after again.

Warm regards
Carl Forrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Attended a sales conference at this location. Brilliant rooms, lovely location, and great facilities. Would have loved to have had time to get out on the golf course but maybe next time. Amenities within the lodge and complex were plentiful.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Kyle

Thank you very much for the 5 star review on the Yarra Valley Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back to play that game of golf.

Warm regards

Carl Forrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirnside Park
9.1 km away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
338 reviews
32.7 km away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
282 reviews
9.4 km away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
139 reviews
10.1 km away
York on Lilydale
York on Lilydale
#1 of 1 in Mount Evelyn
126 reviews
13.2 km away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Lodge

Address: 2 Heritage Avenue | Heritage Golf & Country Club, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Chirnside Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Price Range: $178 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yarra Valley Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the gateway to the Yarra Valley, Yarra Valley Lodge is a world class resort offering guests total luxury, surrounded by two championship golf courses. Take advantage of the hotels location on the doorstep to over 100 wineries. Exuding the warmth and timeless appeal of a private lodge, 102 spacious and superbly appointed guest rooms and conference rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Yarra Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Hotel Chirnside Park
Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing