We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired & Disappointing”
Review of Yarra Valley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yarra Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed over two nights as a gift from my sister - who checked prior as to family friendliness. For over $700, we got one of the hotel’s rooms - tired, totally devoid of character, but fine. Breakfast is from 7.30am on the weekend - so late for kids. No lunch served at the hotel at all - when the staff were asked whether the Golf Course Clubhouse directly opposite had anything suitable, they said ‘they wouldn’t know’ (luckily they did - such lovely staff in there). The Lodge is isolated if you don’t have a car (my husband took ours to a bike race, so we were stuck). We were told by the staff to just get room service - the menu for which features no kid options (lucky my son likes lamb kofta!) We asked that our room be cleaned while we were out - we were told that departing guest rooms would be first but they would ask the staff to attend if possible (we checked, they didn’t). Our keys were changed over after day one - three times the new keys failed to work. I seriously don’t know why anyone would stay here - particularly at that price - unless they are a total golf nut. We have stayed at lots of hotels with our child, even quite adult ones (for instance traditional inns in Japan) have been more child-friendly than Yarra Valley Lodge. The whole place looks tired and the staff need some energy.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Emma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 26 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2017

Stayed at the Yarra Valley Lodge for two nights for a work conference. It's located in the compound of the Heritage Golf and Retreat Compound. We had to buzz at the gate before we were allowed to drive through.

Upon check-in, we were greeted warmly by Jess at the reception - she was helpful and friendly compared to the other receptionists that took over.

GOOD
---------
- Dinner at Bella's was delicious. Wait staff were good.
- Rooms were extremely spacious (Had 1x 2seater sofa + 2x single sofa + coffee table + queen bed) and clean.
-The Bed was comfortable and the pillows were fluffy and firm.
- Rooms has a great view.
- Heritage Retreat & Yarra Day Spa is in the same compound as the hotel - approx 2mins walk from the main accommodation building. I highly recommend that you book yourself into a treatment - The massage treatment is on the pricey end, but well worth it!


BAD
---------
- The only aspect that was disappointing was the Wifi access. My android phone just could not connect to the Wifi network - it kept showing 'Acquiring IP Address'. My IPAD took a while to connect.

Overall a great stay. 2-3 days is the maximum time I would recommend staying at the lodge, because though it's a beautiful place you would need to do a considerable drive to go to other restaurants once you get sick of eating at Bella's or at the onsite Bar (pub food that opens after 4pm).

Room Tip: Try to get level 2 or 3 room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chuckylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Yarra Valley Lodge was mid point overnight stay on an 11 day road trip through NSW & Vic. With hindsight we should have made it a two night stopover as it is so well situated to explore the Yarra Valley and the lodge itself has great room and walking areas in and around the golf course. Te room was very large and well kitted out over sized bath as an example.
Staff were friendly and helpful and we had great food and service with our room service dinner.
Lorraine on the front desk at check out provided exemplary service

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TNK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

The resort is incredibly beautiful, well maintained and set in a stunning location. However, the service across the board, from reception to food & beverage is terrible, the departments are clearly understaffed which puts those few workers under pressure, unhappy and at times quite rude. And yes, we felt all this very much. Dear GM, I suggest you organize a good customer care training for all your staff, teaching them that the customers pay their wages and they must look after them! And review the breakfast staff skills... In your opinion, is it acceptable to wait 25 minutes for a cappuccino in such establishment?

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank SempreOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Stayed there last Friday & Saturday Night - lovely room overlooking manicure lawns and garden beds - lovely room & view - just wanted a light meal so went to the bar - I suffer from extreme allergies and Marshall the barman was just wonderful he checked all my allergies, the liaised with the kitchen to make sure everything was perfect and it was and it tasted terrific. Next morning allergy issues with breakfast - NO a wonderful gentlemen could not do enough for me even assisted in our choices of wineries and places to visit. I had brought my own cheese knifes and housekeeping had takjen them by mistake - reception found 2 of the 3 - wonderful lady Lorraine calls me today to tell me she has found the 3rd and was just lovely - All I can say is I'll be back - definitely

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeStat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear LeStat69

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and mentioning some of our amazing staff by name. They have been rewarded accordingly as recognition for looking after our guests so well.

Once thank you for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Carl Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Stayed here for 1 night before visiting Mornington Peninsula. Well appointed hotel in middle of golf course. Grounds are beautiful and views from room /balcony magnificent. Hotel is in middle of nowhere so no nearby alternatives for eating nor drinking. Cannot fault hotel nor rooms but unfortunately at the time of our stay was very quiet with nobody in bar (not even a barperson!) and very few in restaurant. Think of the Marie Celeste on a busy day. Ending up having room service as more atmosphere. No fault of the hotel and if you are seeking a quality stay in the Yarra Valley it would be hard to do better for beautiful surroundings and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear David

Thank you for the your 5 star review and pleased you enjoyed your stay. You struck an odd night where the hotel went from quiet to full but I pleased my team was attentive and looked after you well during your stay.

Warm regards
Carl Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Haven't figured out why people would come here apart from for a conference and even then there are better and more friendly places in Melbourne itself.

There is no restaurant/cafe/bar for lunch or drinks, the food was average that I did have, the spa was a walk away and closed early and the service was, to be nice, business-like rather than friendly.

Not a place I'd want to stay more than the one night. The rooms aren't that nice, the scenery is not scenic....not a place I would choose to visit once let alone again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChrisJR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Yarra Valley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Chris

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Most guests love our location set amongst the Valley and 2 Championship golf courses. They enjoy the plethora of wildlife from Kangaroos to native birds and the odd rogue wombat.
The Spa and Retreat 200m from the hotel is open from 6.30am to 6.30pm everyday and contains a 25m lap pool and sauna.
We don't open our Bella Restaurant for lunch as our guests who are not conferencing with us head out to explore the Yarra Valley region and its amazing vineyards and produce.
The service we provided should have been more warm and genuine and not business like like you described. We do pride ourselves on providing a serendipitous experience for our guests and to hear we did not achieve this is disappointing but we will use the feedback to improve.

Chris thank you for your thoughts.

Warm regards
Carl Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chirnside Park
9.1 km away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
346 reviews
32.7 km away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 4 in Warburton
286 reviews
6.7 km away
Yarra Valley Motel
Yarra Valley Motel
#1 of 2 in Lilydale
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
Yarra Valley Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Yarra Glen
159 reviews
10.1 km away
York on Lilydale
York on Lilydale
#1 of 1 in Mount Evelyn
173 reviews
13.2 km away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yarra Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Lodge

Address: 2 Heritage Avenue | Heritage Golf & Country Club, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Chirnside Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Price Range: $165 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yarra Valley Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the gateway to the Yarra Valley, Yarra Valley Lodge is a world class resort offering guests total luxury, surrounded by two championship golf courses. Take advantage of the hotels location on the doorstep to over 100 wineries. Exuding the warmth and timeless appeal of a private lodge, 102 spacious and superbly appointed guest rooms and conference rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Yarra Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Hotel Chirnside Park
Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing