We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maple Bank Country Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
US$167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Oak Hotel(Braithwaite)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coledale Inn(Braithwaite)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
201
32
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
201
32
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrhona and tommylake districtgreat hostsfront of the houseno hesitation in recommendingfull englishself cateringlong weekendrooms are cleandouble roomlovely placegood sizebreakfast was excellentnothing is too much troublelast minute bookingset us up for the daywarm welcome
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 236 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Sorry it's taken such a long time to review this place. I was so impressed with this little gem of a hotel it has sparked my first ever Trip Advisor review. My partner and I booked this a little over 2 weeks before going (always ring direct for best offers) and Rona couldn't have been more helpful. We arrived with a very warm welcome and were shown to our room, facing out onto the road. A lovely, spacious yet cosy room with great tea making facilities, modern TV and the most comfortable bed I've stayed in away from home. The road noise was never an issue for both myself or my partner, we even had the windows open during one night.

Breakfast was another treat - Rona and Tommy go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need and recommend places to visit in the local area too. Very informal with guests chatting between themselves and Rona and Tommy - really nice atmosphere.

There's nowhere else we'd consider staying than Maple Bank when looking at Keswick again, as we were made to feel so welcome. One particularly wet afternoon we came traipsing in and Tommy popped our soaked-to-the-bone walking boots in their airing cupboard, even leaving them by the front door later for us to collect!

Not to be missed, we'll certainly be visiting again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to join TA to post this splendid review for us, I'm sorry but as it was last October that you stayed with us I don't remember who you are?
All the same, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and mentioned guests chatting and the relaxed atmosphere, as this is what we aim for.
We hope to see you again and maybe I'll be able to put a face to the name!
Please call for best prices a avoid paying commission.

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our 4-night stay in Room 7, facing the back yard, not the A66 highway, was quiet and comfortable. The family running the Guest House was very friendly and helpful. The room was large with plenty of floor space (and a luggage rack) for our suitcases. There were nightstands, a wardrobe with hangers, a comfortable chair (requisite for 4-star Stay English rating) and a dresser with an electric kettle, mugs, etc. The bathroom was also a good size with a warm drying rack, that was turned on in the evenings and the mornings. Breakfast was the Full English Breakfast, with cereals, yogurt, and fresh fruit available. Fresh eggs were supplied by their hens in the far back of their property. We would enjoy staying again.

Room Tip: Back Room avoid noise of highway, though front windows seemed to keep things quiet. View of yard and garden and chickens (in the far back - no sounds) was very relaxing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you Carol and Max for this excellent and informative review. Tommy and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Maple Bank. If you are ever visiting Britain and the Lake District again we would be very happy to welcome you back to our home.
Please call direct for best prices, you could pay more if you book online!

Kind Regards Rhona and Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2013

once again we returned to Maple Bank for 4 nights while we attended the Keswick Convention.
our 6th visit and just as good as always.
Tommy, Rona and Amy greet us warmly and can not do enough to accommodate myself and my 82 year old Mum.
The fruit salad for breakfast is the high light of my stay whilst my mum's is the fresh eggs from their own chickens!
As long as Tommy and Rhona are at Maple Bank we will be staying there.
Thanks again all of you.

Room Tip: we usually have room 3, a twin. Comfortable beds, quiet location.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorktriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you Claire for this excellent review, It is always a pleasure welcoming you and your Mum to Maple Bank.
Hope you had fun on the motorbike on your way home!
We look forward to seeing you again next year, and we manage to get over to York to see you in the winter.
Call direct to avoid paying commission!!!

Rhona and Tommy xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2013

lovely views from front rooms a bit of road noise but the views made up for it Rona and tommy looked after us very well and we would re vist them excellent breakfast rooms very comfy nice places to eat in the village the ivy house was our favourite well worth a vist Tommy was very obliging snd let us put our motor bike on his garage overnight We will certainly re vist lovely area of the lake district

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheenalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you Sheena and Neil for this great review, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was very nice to meet you both and Tommy is always happy to welcome fellow motorcyclists to Maple Bank.
Don't forget to call direct for best prices!!!

Regards Rhona and Tommy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights and came up for SCAFEL PIKE, from the SEATHWAITE approach. Weather was brilliant and we completed our walk with brilliant views at the top. Derwentwater was lovely and the four of us went kayaking on the lake as soon as we got here.

MAPLE BANK is a lovely place to stay and the rooms were a good size and very clean. We had a double bed room overlooking the front of the property. Wonderful views from our room. Tommy and Rhona were fantastic, friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast. Could not fault a thing. Wonderful experience helped by Tommy and Rhona.

Thanks for map and help with the cold water on a very hot day !

Bruce, Emma, Frank and Kate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maplebank, Owner at Maple Bank Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you Bruce for this great review, we are delighted you all enjoyed you visit to the Lake District and to Maple Bank and that your planned mission to climb Scafel Pike was successful, we look forward to seeing you again on your next mission!!

Regards Rhona and Tommy
Please call for best prices!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews