We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurbished sensation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Fremantle
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Arrived by taxi and dropped off in the wrong street. Alyssa the Functions Manager was on a break but saw us struggling with luggage etc and came to our aid. Organised the check in andvised us of the directions places we needed to go, and then helped us to our room at 11am, well before normal checkin time. The rooms are large, well appointed, comfy beds and lounge area. Met a man on our way to dinner last night who has stayed here before and he can't believe how brilliant this hotel is now

Room Tip: Be sure to go to Sewell Street entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Grandma07012007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Grandma, thank you for the great feedback. Please feel free to email me directly when next you wish to stay and I will personally look after your booking. Regards Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Loved the use of space in the hotel room. The beds were comfy, and I loved the L-sofa at the front that was way more useful (than the usual round table and two chairs) as a sitting area, eating area, and eventual bed for one toddler.

Even the tiny kitchen in the back helped make the stay feel less like a hotel and more like a studio apartment, which is so great for a family on the go.

There's no bell boy though, so be ready to carry your 10 bags and 2 car seats all by yourself to the room (also make sure your driver knows the right street for the entrance...Sewel not Hubel...)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jahmin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Jahmin, thank you for the feedback and my apologies for the wrong drop off point. We updated google maps several months ago and it now states hotel reception Sewell Street and since then we have had better luck with our taxi drivers. Some do still get it wrong sorry. You are correct we do not have a bellboy however my team or I am always more than happy to assist so I will try and make sure the reception team know we have to help as much as we can when we can. See you next time and email me directly to book and I will personally look after your reservations. Regards Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Review of restaurant only - live locally and have never stayed at the hotel. The food used to be good here but we had a very disappointing meal here tonight. The smaller bar which provided easy access to order from (as a family with small children) is now closed. This forces you to order in the 'main bar' with the crowd of people only interested in drinking with resulting queues etc.

The menu has changed but not for the better. There seems to be less selection with no real sides to add to the small selection. Some of the dishes that we ordered did not match the description from the menu very well. Even forgiving the poor description, the food was still of a much lower quality than we have experienced here in the past.

This place now has more of a 'pub with food' sort of atmosphere rather than a restaurant.

A shame really, we won't be returning for a good while.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank adcr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Adcr0, I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy you meal on the weekend. Please accept my apologies and if you do elect to return please email or call me first so that I may handle your reservation for you personally to ensure you have a great expereince. I must admit I am a little confused and would be happy to discuss gm@tradewindshotel.com.au or 9339 8188 mainly because the menu size has not really changed and not sure if you mean traditional sides of shared plates so I am a little lost. I am sorry you do not like going to the main bar. We installed 12 new beer taps and new wine and champagne fridges in the main bar and opened up the main bar to the terrace and painted the lot hence why we serve from there because it has a must bigger selection of items for guests to select from. It was a very busy weeekend with the football finals and we did not have any issues or problems over the weekend from our customers. We only had to stop service to one group late on Sunday night. Nevertheless we pride ourselves on being family friendly and having great food so I will share your feedback with the chefs and discuss how we ensure our quality is maintained. We will also take on board the concepts of more sides when we rewite the menu. Happy to talk if you have time. Again apologies you did not enjoy your meal. Regards Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

The hotel has been renovated since the last time I was there. The rooms have new bathrooms, beds etc. They are really nice and inviting. The bed however is very hard and it would be good if they could get toppers for them as I could not sleep.
The restaurant and function rooms still need to be renovated but apparently this should happen within the next year or so.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Dear Carol P, thank you for the feedback and please accept my apologies if you did not get a good nights sleep. Beds are a tough one but what I can say is we have had the beds for almost 6 months now and we have only had until now 20 to 25 positive comments and 3 requests for the manufacturer details. I will personally check your room to make sure the bed is as it should be to make sure we have not been given a dud amongst the delivery. The function rooms have been painted, the function toilets completely redone, all function areas have beem recarpeted and have new curtains so I assume you are talking about the function chairs. These are next on the list and will be done soon I am sure. Still a good chair just dated fabric unfortunately. Again please accept my apologies that you had a poor nights sleep and we will certainly investigate that room to make sure the bed is as it should be. Regards Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

A good experience all round, from a lovely room to breakfast in the morning. Modern well attended surroundings and a gorgeous view, but much too cold at the time to enjoy the outside or the pool. The staff were very friendly and efficient, I have no hesitation in recommending the Tradewinds Hotel and would definitely stay there myself again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SadSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear SadSandy, thank you for the great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back. Please email me directly and I will personally look after your booking. All the best Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We stayed for 2 days with friends. Rooms great, well done. However we couldn't watch TV as all channels pixelated. Room bar was not replenished. On our last night we had dinner in the restaurant. After waiting over an hour after ordering, we were informed that our meals would be served soon. Another half hour and the meals were served. Our friend ordered medium to well done steak, at $38, which he was looking forward to. I had chowder. The steak was blue, and burnt on the outside and mushrooms burnt. He asked that it be cooked a little longer, the result was inedible. The prawn in my chowder was also burnt. Very disappointing even though not charged for the steak, wasn't a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Margaret C, thank you for feedback. We are onto the issue with the TV. Seems a tradeperson removed a repeater a few days ago and caused this problem. We are trying to get them back asap to fix the problem. My apologies for this inconvenience we offer 100 free movies and all free to air channels and foxtel in the bar so we need our in room entertainment running 100% so we are very disappointed this impacted your stay. I have spoken to the chef and the food and beverage manager and they will speak with and retrain their teams in relation to your meal experience. I dont think we have in the 2 plus years I have been here have someone wait 1 and half hours for a meal my apologies. We have a 20 to 30 minutes maximum for all food service. Please email me directly if you decide to return and give us another chance and I will personally manage your booking. Regards Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Communication on the phone was great and we were given an upgrade. The bed was very nice as was the room but really this is not Fremantle and I knew that but didn't realise that we would experience such poor service. I thought that the restaurant and hotel attached would make up for not being in the thick of things. On our first night we went down to the pub for a drink and struggled to find a table not exposed to the elements. Staff less than friendly and even came no placed a sign on our table to tell us we could not stay as they had a booking for our space. With no alternative we went back to our room. Fast forward to the following night when we book a table at the restaurant for dinner. As we are here for some special time together I try to order some Mumm champagne from the menu. No sorry none available so try for the verve. No none of that either( bottle shop next door and I mean right next door on the same block has plenty in the fridge). Cut our loses and go for a great pub meal on the riverbank just under the bridge. That was our saving grace. Crayfish tails were excellent. Take home a bottle of Mumm to the room and thanks for nothing Tradewinds.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank madonnajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen W, General Manager at Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Madonnajones, Thank you for the feedback. I have handed it to our F&B manager for followup. Please accept my apologies for the problems you encountered. As you can see from the feedback we get it is normally positive and therefore I am very disappointed your dining experience was not what we would expect. We will sit with the team and discuss the approach related to firstly changing a guests table due to reservation and also remind them of the many option available to replace sold out beverage stock. We have on our menu two other champagnes and several very good sparkling wines and I am sorry that none of these worked for you. I have let the team know that if a guest wants a particular product and we are out of stock we can run to the bottle shop for them and allow the guest to BYO at no cost. I have no issue allowing this because in my 2 and half years here we have never run out of a product that we could not replace for a guest. I think we are in the best part of Fremantle and George Street is a wonderful food and shopping strip. However understand we are not in Fremantle CBD although we are only a 15/20 minute walk away or a short ride in the bus from the front door of the hotel. Again my apologies that the stay did not go as you expected. When next you wish to stay please email me directly and I will personally handle your reservation for the restaurant and hotel to make sure you have a great experience. Regards Stephen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Fremantle
2.2 km away
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
2.1 km away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
0.9 km away
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
Pier 21 Apartment Hotel
#4 of 8 in Fremantle
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Be. Fremantle
Be. Fremantle
#2 of 8 in Fremantle
256 reviews
2 km away
Quality Suites Fremantle
Quality Suites Fremantle
#5 of 8 in Fremantle
220 reviews
2 km away
Norfolk Hotel
Norfolk Hotel
#8 of 8 in Fremantle
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle

Address: 59 Canning Hwy | East Fremantle, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Western Australia 6158, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Fremantle > East Fremantle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Fremantle
Price Range: $167 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradewinds Hotel The iconic Tradewinds Hotel is a riverside retreat of unparalleled style and service. Enjoy the tranquil calmness of your home away from home. Lounge around the garden pool or breathe in the view at the alluring rooftop terrace. The hotel is located on the doorstep of Fremantle’s vibrant cultural hub. Feast your way through the Fremantle Markets, cruise the Cappuccino Strip and explore the history of the Fishing Boat Harbour. Escape. Play. Explore. Meet. Train. Create. Restaurant and Bar Unwind, connect and soak up the atmosphere in the leafy courtyard. The soothing Swan River views, relaxed ambience and alfresco dining make it the place to mix and mingle. Hotel Facilities 83 beautifully refurbished large rooms, one and two bedroom apartments and suites.. Swimming pool. Cabanas, sun loungers and day beds. Expansive river view rooftop terrace. Indoor / outdoor restaurant and bar with beautiful river views. Open breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room service. Seven event venues and meeting rooms. In-house gym. Complimentary tour bookings. Bus stop located directly in front of hotel. Complimentary secure car parking. Airport transfers and shuttle service – additional cost. 24-hour reception desk. Luggage storage. Fox Sports. Dry cleaning and onsite laundry service. Accessible rooms and services. Guest lounge. Complimentary Wifi. Business Centre. Accommodation Style meets luxury in the new sophisticated, spacious rooms, apartments, suites and penthouses. Each room includes High speed complimentary WiFi. Bluetooth® music sound system. Entertainment system with complimentary movies. Air-conditioning. Tea and coffee making facilities. Mini bar. Desk area and luggage compartment. In-room safe. Bathroom scales. Stylish bathroom amenities. Iron and ironing board. Hair dryer. Telephone. Complimentary bottled water. Rollaway bed - additional cost. Complimentary infant cot. Oversize chaise lounge. Rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Tradewinds Hotel Fremantle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing