We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yr Olaf

Yr Olaf balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yr Olaf balcony
September sunset Yr Olaf Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Yr Olaf balcony
September sunset Yr Olaf
Lounge
lounge
kitchen
Bedroom 1
bedroom 2
Shower-room
Yr Olaf Front elevation
February sunset Rola beach
Lobster catching at low tide Rola
Llwyngwril village
Cader Idris is snow
Barmouth harbour with Cader Idris backdrop
Mawddach Estuary at dawn
Mountain top
Estuary abstract
Old mine workings at Friog
Barmouth looking to Fairbourne and LLwyngwril
Train passing along estuary
Standing stones above Llwyngwril
Cader Idris panorama near Llwyngwril
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Llwyngwril, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VictoriaJ...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A perfect home from home”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Yr Olaf, part of the Rola Cottages site. The cottage had everything we needed for a relaxing stay and was in a great location to explore the surrounding area. Fantastic views over the bay from the deck area and extended grounds with amazing sunsets and seals and dolphins in view. We'd definitely like to return and will be recommending as a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We had great weather so the outside deck area was fantastic
Liked least: If the weather had been bad the view from the living area isn't great - no windows overlooking the sea
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habibahma...
1 review
“Peaceful”
Reviewed November 19, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

upon arrival we were very overwhelmed with the scenery. Wales Was very welcoming. Nature, fresh air the list goes on. It was very easy to go travel via train. The keys were found as told and the house was very beautiful. Comfortable compact and romantic. My husband and I had a magnificent getaway. At night you see many stars and a bright moon. So close to it all. Rainbows during the day over the ocean. It was breathtaking. Recommend it 200%

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KasiaBurz...
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and Cosy pleace to stay”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Great place to stay. Very friendly and welcoming owners, going that extra mile to help whenever needed. We spend a lovely weekend in the cottage and we wished we could stay longer as you don't really feel like leaving after just few days. Great place to relax. We loved the property and its interiors. Lovely location with beautiful views over the sea. Our dog loved running around the cottages and down to the beach. Absolutely lovely place to stay - highly recommending to anyone who would like to spend some time alone or with your other half. We are already planning our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Djm170
1 review
“Really nice, very comfortable and peaceful.”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Quiet, warm nicely furnished and lit. Enclosed garden for dog, beach was amazing, just as it said on the packet! Thanks

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Safi9201
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location, Great House, Wonderful Time!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just back from Yr Olaf, we got just what we needed, relaxation in a lovely cosy cottage. The cottage is contemporary style with the living area upstairs, this enables you to enjoy the sea views from the decking area. It was cold but nice enough to sit outside in the evenings and take in the peace and tranquillity that this lovely spot gives you. Lots of land around the cottages to relax in. The house was warm, clean and cosy, it was well stocked with utensils. Just seen the previous review, not sure they stayed at the same cottage!! We will definitely try to book again in the summer as lots of comments in visitor book mentioning dolphin and seals being spotted in the sea from the gardens.
Walk to beach is steep at points, not for all but we managed it ok with our dog, we walked to the village which took about 25mins. We went off on various walks each day, Tywyn is a 10 minute drive with shops, and a local co op to stock up on food.
In summary, a fabulous location, a great house, and a wonderful time spent at Yr Olaf.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House & Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pete f
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful and tranquil ...”
Reviewed August 28, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Yr Olaf was as described, so no argument there. Secluded, private and almost completely shut off from the outside world. No shops/restaurants in walking distance (the description makes that clear) and some beautiful sea views from the private patio. Downsides – no internet access, which induced withdrawal symptoms for the author, no mobile service and an interesting entrance/exit route from the main road. If you like seclusion - book this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Driveway to main road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila747
Wokingham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed November 7, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from Yr Olaf and were delighted with the cottage. The views are stunning and the cottage itself is well appointed and very comfortable. My partner fished off the private beach and on the last night the sunset was amazing. Unfortunately I had a flu bug whilst we were there but it was like home from home because the cottage was lovely and warm and cosy, the beds were comfy and a great shower. We had a problem with the cooker but we bought a slow cooker which the owner reimbursed us for so we were able to have some great meals. Because I was unwell we did not go out of an evening but each day we went out and enjoyed the beautiful scenery in the area. Would recommend the rail journey from Tywyn to Portmadoc which follows the coast all the way. We would go back because a week is not long enough to see the whole area and would stay at the cottage again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the view
Liked least: The pathway to the beach was difficult
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing