We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newlands Valley, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StuBedfor...
Bedfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage in a great location”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The cottage is well laid out and comfortable and we felt at home as soon as we walked in. The big advantage for us is that it is dog friendly; it has a shared garden so you have pick up straight away, but we would do this anyway.

It is also well located near to the centre, only a five minute walk to all the pubs and shops.

We would definitely recommend to friends and would put it down as our first choice if we visit the lakes again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was detached and maintained to a high standard and close to the centre
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eleanorat...
canterbury
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Great home, warm, relaxing, comfortable. The owner was very accommodating and helpful. Great location too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulaphil...
York, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location with everything you need for a holiday home”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Cat bells is a lovely place to stay, it was well equipped in a ideal location for all facilities within Keswick. House is warm and inviting, has comfy beds and nice seating area with extra games, DVDs, etc, would highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm quirky house
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guy M
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Catbells and Keswick what a great combination...”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed at Catbells with our two young children and family dog in January. One of the bedrooms was not in use due to decorating at the time but that was okay because we didn't need it - and we were made aware in advance.

The house was clean and well presented... and lots of room for the children to run about- unlike others we have stayed in that have been a bit cramped. Keswick is a great place to stay and this house couldn't be more central - walking distance to the park and shops literally a couple of minutes away. It even has sky+ on the TV and we haven't come across that anywhere else.

If you have more than one car, then the street can get a little crowded with visitors parking at the weekends. And the big plus - the wood burner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and location
Liked least: Not much to not like
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saul l
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy, warm & well equipped...”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We stayed at this house before xmas. It has a great location right near the centre of Keswick. The decor is modern and fresh, there are TVs in every room, free WI-FI, and the wood burning stove keeps the living room warm. Our only small criticism was that the bathrooms were not heated.

The owner was very helpful giving us tips about where we could go with our dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the free wi-fi
Liked least: the street is very central so it can get crowded
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillynamb...
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, shame about the house”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5
people found this review helpful

The location of the house is great, 3minutes and you'll be in the town centre, great if you have children.

Outside impression of house fine, although they should advertise a parking space as there isn't!

When we entered the property the first thing we noticed was the smell... Either mouldy food, dog wee or damp, maybe all three. It was so awful the first thing I did was go to supermarket and buy a plug in air-freshener.

As we had a child, we had to move a bed against a wall, I don't think it had been vacuumed under the bed for a long long time.

The decor of the house isn't to my taste and the furniture is abit shabby. Many curtains don't fit properly, and with it being a brick house the condensation is very bad. The kitchen isn't as well stocked as other properties I've stayed in. The photos provided by agency make the property look better than it is.

Although there was a shared garden we didn't use it as the squirrel with a tail put us off (yes, a rat). Seems a neighbour feeds the birds so the rat has plenty seeds to eat.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2013
Thank you for your review on Catbells.

We do advise all our guests to contact the office immediately on their arrival or during their stay if they have any problems or issues with their property. The guests had been into the office early on in their stay with an unrelated issue, but they failed to mention any of the problems listed in their review. When contacted, before their departure, they advised the office that they "weren't bothered" about contacting us, they hoovered the floor and didnt see the point in getting a cleaner out. They didn't want to be moved and were going to discuss any issues they had on their departure. Had they advised the office, we would have made sure a cleaner and/or member of staff attended the property to investigate the above claims and rectify any problems found.

This review has been passed on to the owner of the property and he has responded below.

As an owner, I guess you have to take the rough with the smooth on TripAdvisor but I am very disappointed by your unjust and vicious review. Anyone reading can see that other guests have only good things to say about Catbells. I was at the house two hours before you arrived to put the heating on for you and there was NO smell. The pictures are NOT misleading -what you see is what you get. There is nothing 'tatty', and all curtains and blinds are professionally made and DO fit - If the decor is not to your taste then why did you book in the first place? The kitchen is very well equipped - all pots, pans & glassware have been recently replaced. And there IS a parking space - which apparently you chose not to use.
The house is made of Lakeland Stone NOT brick - and as such there can be condensation in Winter- that's why we provide a de-humidifier. However, I am sorry if you found dust under the bed, and the elderly neighbour has now stopped feeding the birds. I will look into these things, none of which you brought to the agency's attention during your stay. Simon, Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineW...
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location for Keswick Convention and Town Centre”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This is a lovely old house which has been furnished to a high standard of comfort and is ideally positioned for both the Convention Skiddaw Street site and the town centre. The owner is very concerned to see that his guests enjoy a first-class experience and achieves that aim in a friendly manner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position and comfort
Liked least: As week went on, a second set of keys would be useful
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing