We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
5
7
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
7
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 17 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2017

Hotel Nagel has been part of the Nagel family for over 160 years. In that period of time, they've learned how to run a hotel, restaurant, bar, event hall. Südlohn doesn't have a lot of hotel options but really doesn't need many with Hotel Nagel there. The service was friendly, relaxed, and accommodating. Breakfast was traditional German with sandwich meats, cheeses, bread, grains, and yogurt; other options are available upon request. The dinner menu is extensive, well prepared, and delicious. The rooms are very basic and spartan, and I suppose that's part of the charm. Don't expect a keycard, they use an actual key on a metal tag. There are no branded bath products, you have hand soap and shampoo (no name). One thing I would have wished for is a small shelf of some sort in the shower stall to place my bar of soap as there was nothing there. The mattresses are firm, but get the job done. Overall, if I am in the area I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Hotel Nagel. It's not the Park Hyatt, but it doesn't need to be. It allows the basic charm of the town of Südlohn to shine through the sincerity and hard-working ethic of the family and staff.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel Nagel was for us a stop-over during a long drive from Scandinavia to Brussels. It lies at the german - dutch border, in a small town with industrial estates and not much else.

The hotel has been built after the war, it looks like any run-of-the-mill small hotel. The only exception are two enormous nails ("nagel" in german) which have been erected in the beer garden. In discussion with the host we heard, that the original buildings on the same spot were destroyed during a bombing raid in the last days of the war. Several photograps did show the old hotel as it was in the beginning of the 1900's.

In conversation with the very friendly host we heard that he was actually the third generation to run this hotel and his son is already learning the trade.

The rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean, good beds. The hotel restaurant serves typical german food but closes quite early. The breakfast was very good.

Altogether a positive surprise, the conversations with our host opened us the picture of a long hospitality tradition in a small town between two nations!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EeroE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews