We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking view and beautiful villa”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Agia Paraskevi, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Hebrew first
Any
English first
JaeBliss
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view and beautiful villa”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I couldn't have been happier with our stay here. The villa was perfect for 2 of us (but could sleep 6) and was modern and clean. It was lovely and tranquil, with no bother from other people.

The pool and gardens were clearly well loved and the view was simply gorgeous. We had a full functioning kitchen meaning we could make breakfast, lunch and snacks with ease and the internet was fast and consistent.

All the windows in the property made good use of the view, meaning we could enjoy it from inside if we needed a break from the heat. We made use of the washing machine and dishwasher, and although we did use the AC from time to time, there was enough sea breeze that it wasn't technically required.

The villa was located close to several towns and we weren't short of things to do. You will definitely need a car to make the most of this villa as you won't be able to walk to the restaurants or supermarkets otherwise. Don't worry about the drive way being a little steep, we managed it with ease in our ECO rental!

All in all, we had a great stay and will be booking again for 2016!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo V
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BETTER THAN MAURITIUS AND THE MALDIVES AND …AT HALF PRICE”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

My faithful followers know that my wife and I have visited more than 100 countries, some more than once or twice.

For us city folks, Alkistis Villa was heaven on earth. We relaxed and did nothing other than lying on sun-beds or taking a dip in the pool or taking in the breathtaking deep green olive grove and infinite sea view. But read on for we did not actually stay idle, and it’s interesting.

Nikos met us at Platanias and drove us through the Adelianos olive valley and up the Ag. Paraskevi hill. There on the slope hangs magnificently Alkistis, the Villa!

Argyro, the wife, welcomed us with a big smile. The traditional Cretan clear strong spirit Tsikoudia or Raki in a short bottle and 4 shot glasses stood on the living-room coffee table. We all drank to a wonderful time for us to come.
Funny, tsikoudia makes you talk to “strangers” like you all grew up in a family of 8 siblings! And I always wondered why Cretans are so friendly…

Happy we took a tour of the 2-story villa. A spacious living-room with a fire place (in case we rented it during winter time,) wifi, satellite TV, home cinema with a rich collection of CDs and DVDs in assorted languages. I found there movies I always wanted to watch and I did. Then a well-equipped kitchen with a big fridge, a dishwasher and every little detail. My wife, who’s a gourmet chef, loved it all! On we went to the master bedroom which features a canopy double bed with a firm mattress, table and chair, night lights on bedside tables, and closets, drawers and every little detail just like home. And a well-placed half bathroom, with a clothes washer/dryer, next to the master bedroom.

Now we walked out the living-room wide glass door to the deck. A wooden table with chairs, easy-chairs and umbrella on the left. At right a sparkling self-cleaning swimming pool and further out another umbrella and sun-beds on a well-kept lawn waited for us. All surrounded by a low stone-wall and low cut laurel bushes so we enjoy spectacular views down the olive valley and the sea even when we laid down on the easy chairs or sun-beds. The stillness of the surrounding area left us with a feeling of been forgotten in time except the jingling bells of the sheep brought us back to reality.

Nikos and Argyro then took us upstairs. Two more bedrooms with two single beds combined to a double in each room and a comfy full-size bathroom with bathtub in between. Out the door we walked to a spacious veranda with a wooden table and chairs and an umbrella. The view is breath-taking even when we sat.

One thing we noticed and we liked a lot is that each and every room is strategically equipped with one or two window screens so the sea and mountain breeze come in freely cooling the villa naturally while insects stay out. All rooms are equipped with air-conditioning units, however. But the villa is cool by itself due to efficient insulation, I guess. Another thing we immediately noticed and liked a lot is that the villa is spic-n-span clean.

When friendly Nikos and Argyro went home, we were left with the feeling that we had just bought a brand-new home (villa) even for a short period of a week!

The owners were always very helpful to recommend close-by beaches for a good swim like "Platanias," "Gerani" and more; restaurants to enjoy good, traditional Cretan cuisine where the locals eat, like "Taverna Zisis," which we did and highly recommend ($15 or €12 p.p. for a full meal including local hor d’ oeuvres (kalitsounia, dolmas,) Cretan salad, main dish (tsigaristo meat for me, pastichio for my wife) beer, fruit and tsikoudia!; and "Taverna Galera" by the sea, where we enjoyed fine and plentiful fresh sea-food and view at reasonable prices; stores we could buy traditional Cretan food items and pastry like "Savoidakis," "Nyktaris," even a Cretan products specialty supermarket called "INKA," etc.

The old city of Rethymnon is only 5 miles (8 kilometers) close. We visited almost every evening and stayed out all night having fun, making new friends, enjoying a drink, buying souvenirs here and there. We visited "Meli" for assorted flavors of velvety ice-cream; "Kritika Proionta" for buying Cretan specialties like Tsikoudia, rakomelo (raki with honey,) extra-virgin olive oil, balsamiko, pasta and more; "Gaias Gefseis" for enjoying loukoumades (traditional Greek hot small donut balls with honey, cinnamon and sprinkled with nuts,) booyacha (cream-filled thin phyllo dough,) kalitsounia (sweet mezethra cheese in village phyllo dough) and delicious Greek coffee to order; "GEM Jewels" for buying watches, jewelry of exquisite taste at bargain prices, and more…

The villa is ideally located in the center of the island. So, more adventurous people are less than 2 hours drive close to significant places like "Knossos" and "Phaistos" for the history buffs, bustling old cities of Rethymnon and Chania for the trinket lovers, "Matala" beach for the fr. hippies (folks …over 60!) and sympathizers, the famous "Arkadi Monastery" where Cretans fought effectively for their independence, the "Samaria" gorgeous gorge, legendary villages like Anogeia, Zoniana and Livadia, or so many inviting golden sandy or pebble beaches all around the island.

Greece including the island of Crete is still inexpensive. Cretan beaches and sea are inviting and refreshing, Cretan food is healthy, delicious and fair-priced, prices are low due to great competition, people are friendly, tsikoudia runs plentiful. Money-wise Alkistis Villa was a bargain for us two people having the whole villa to ourselves. For 2 or 3 couples or a big family is even a bigger one. We are making plans already for visiting again soon.-

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed October 20, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zürich
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nick T
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very comfortable en peaceful villa”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The hospitality and helpfulness of the owners of the villa you'll experience from the beginning of your holiday: they guide you from the motorway to the villa so you do not have to find the way. They offer an excellent "five star service" and are always ready to help and to give tips.
When you arrive at the villa the first thing you think is: what a view! The second: what a peace! The third: this is a wonderful holiday! And that is what we got ...
If we were at home we fully enjoyed all the comfort and facilities that are present, of the pool, the view and the ringing sound of the sheep in the background.
But we came not only to Crete to enjoy the villa. Doing excursions was no problem. There is plenty to see in Crete and the villa is ideally situated as a base, close to the highway. As a result, we discovered easily the most beautiful spots in all four corners of Crete.
The Cretan cuisine also coincided in the taste. The restaurant in the vicinity of the villa is certainly recommended, going dinner there is an experience in itself. Also shopping went very smoothly, there are plenty of supermarkets and bakeries in the area.
What we noticed also was the friendliness and helpfulness of the people everywhere we came, on the street, in a cafe, in the shop, ... everywhere we were warmly treated and that is very pleasant if you are on holiday.
About this villa and its owners nothing but praise, it is definitely a must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing