We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Reading room house extremely modern and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Reading Room House

5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Let the sunsine in!!! High spec kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
5 metre wide bi-fold doors for indoor/outdoor living
Let the sunsine in!!!
High spec kitchen
Large dining table for 6
Underfloor heating throughout
Superking or twin bedroom with en-suite wetroom.
Beautiful Elan Valley
canoe on the River Wye
Stunning Elan Valley
Gilfach Nature reserve
Walk or cycle around the Elan Valley dams
One of the Elan Valley dams
Enchanting Woodland Walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newbridge-on-Wye, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie Q
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Reading room house extremely modern and comfortable.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The reading room has all mod cons and is well planned. It is situated in a quiet area and has very helpful unobtrusive owners. This was a holiday for my elderly mother who is disabled. She managed okay but found the toilet too low for her needs.
Also there are three steps to negotiate from the bedrooms and kitchen to the lounge, although a rail was in place. So for people with mobility problems these are the two drawbacks.
We would not hesitate to return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. Reading Room House is a contemporary modern, split level home and therefore is not marketed as suitable for disabled so, unfortunately didn't have the equipment or facilities needed by your Mother. We look forward to welcoming you again with the rest of your family and grandchildren.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazzy-Baz...
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic 5 star house with everything you think you need and so much more!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I cannot express in just a simple review just how amazing our holiday to the Reading Room House has been.

It started with a warm welcome with flowers, home baked goods, strawberries, chocolate, cream and wine, and then we saw the outstanding accommodation. This felt like the poshest hotel made into a self-catering home with an amazing walk in shower, Jacuzzi bath, under floor heating, and wall of glass which opened up onto the patio.

King sized beds, lush fittings (waterfall taps and mood lighting in the bathroom) and everything we needed for this to be a home away from home. If it had had an outdoor Jacuzzi then we would never have left all week as Tesco delivers to the door!

The home made jams were simply delish and this has to be the highlight of our year, we are all so refreshed and relaxed and hope to visit again real soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chic boutique style of the property, so beautiful!
Liked least: Having to go home at the end of our week!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review, it's lovely when guests appreciate what we have tried to achieve.
I noticed that you gave a four for ease of booking and directions, I am really sorry for this as it was an agency booking and we have little control of it, hopefully you will book direct with us next time! Thanks again and very best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosskrotzenburg, Germany
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tpeach198...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

An amazing place to stay, Diane & Graham made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived.
The reading room house is such a great place to stay, a very clean beautiful house with views that I can still picture now! I already miss the place. I will definitely be going back and would recommend to everyone I know.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. Glad you appreciate our beautiful surroundings and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How everything that we needed was there - just perfect.
Liked least: Only the issue with Tesco but this had nothing to do with the cottage or Diane & Graham.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JeanetteR...
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing in pure 5* luxury”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This accommodation well deserves its 5 star status. It was immaculate and we had everything we needed and more. We were left a lovely cream tea on arrival with home made scones, fresh bread, homemade jam and cream. Not forgetting the bottle of wine!
We had a wonderful week, the weather was mixed but we were never cold in he bungalow. It was modern but still cozy, we took advantage of the puzzles and games provided. We had two teenage boys with us and having wifi was great for them.
The walks nearby are beautiful and we would recommend going to watch the kites being fed. 300 kites flying over head was an experience we won't forget. The dams and walks around the Élan Valley should be seen, fantastic!
All in all a brilliant week and we would recommend this property as a base for exploring the local areas. It is very quiet with only a few shops nearby but perfect for walkers, cyclists or just to switch off from busy lives. We would go again at a drop of a hat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Modern contemporary style
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
Thank you for all your lovely comments and we would love to see you all again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobandliz...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbeatable 5 star accomodation”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed in the Reading Room for a weeks winter break and was totally astounded by the high level of accommodation. Flat screen TV's in bedrooms and lounge, fully fitted kitchen with all built in appliances, underfloor heating in all rooms, luxurious beds, fantastic bathrooms, in fact everything you could wish for in a holiday home. And as well as the big things the little things were all there. WiFi, a welcome pack, extra bedding ( which we never needed ), all the kitchen condiments, spare toilet rolls, etc., etc. Words alone cannot describe the high quality in the Reading Room, and I cannot recommend it enough. Well done and thanks Diane and Graham, we will see you again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury, comfort, cleanliness and high standards in the property.
Liked least: Nothing. There is nothing not to like in the property.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for all your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing