We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Endre P

Clean, 80's, out of range, but friendly stuff

Review of Landhotel Selau
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 14, 2019
The hotel is out of range, with not to much interests in the nearby. You will need to walk at least 15 min trough residential areas to find a good restaurant anyway is not more that 2 ?!.It's clean, but the furniture and the atmosphere is the 80's. If you want to go back in time is good place but not more than one night.The stuff do is very friendly and will do all what they can to fulfill your needs. The breakfast is fine, standard continental breakfast.If you have a car is the best in order to go around, and stay cheap in the Nuremberg area.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.8 km from Landhotel Selau
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Landhotel Selau
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
C$128
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$128
8.5 km from Landhotel Selau
Free Wifi
Junior Suite with Views and Terrace
Contact accommodation for availability.
9.2 km from Landhotel Selau
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Contact accommodation for availability.
8.7 km from Landhotel Selau
Free Wifi
Restaurant
8.7 km from Landhotel Selau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.1 km from Landhotel Selau
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Contact accommodation for availability.
10.5 km from Landhotel Selau
Free Wifi
Free parking
Holiday Inn - the niu, Hop Forchheim Hotel Lobby
Contact accommodation for availability.
13.1 km from Landhotel Selau
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Neunkirchen am Brand
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
2
8
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2
8
8
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2015

One thing I need to admit - The hotel is really clean - that is the plus.
Breakfast buffet is okay - I would say good standard. Staff is helpful and nice.

All the furniture in rooms is dating way back, probably to the famous times of the hotel - 80ties. there are ridiculous restrictions on WiFi - only 1 device per room, so no way to connect 2 notebooks or a smartphone and a laptop - really ridiculous.

There is not much to do around, although there are 1-2 good spots where to eat (may be more ?), I do not recommend eating in hotel (except breakfast). There is also strong smell from kitchen like they do not change oil for weeks.

They - not sure why - do not take notes at reception, so they called 2 taxis in the morning for one guest - in the end Guest looked like it was his fault, although it was dismissed by the reception and explained to both taxi drivers, the bad feeling remained.

In the end - if you have a good reason and car, you can stay here. Breakfast is good and hotel is clean, do not expect anything more.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MichC588
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here while attending a trade show in Nuremberg. Meant quite a drive each way but we wanted to pay less than staying next to the exhibition centre.

The hotel is surprisingly big, nice rooms (although single beds), friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast and nice food in the evening.

Plus Judas Priest once played there.

Would definitely recommend, although perhaps not for a trade show in Nuremberg due to distance.

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

If you do a Google search, you'll find a bunch of reviews for this hotel that basically all complement the staff. I've stayed in MANY hotels over the years, and the staff at the Selau Hotel is probably the best I have ever experienced. They go out of their way to make the customer happy (I was there during Thanksgiving, and they made a special Thanksgiving meal for me, WITH TURKEY, knowing that I was missing Thanksgiving back home).

The hotel itself is a bit dated, and it is anything BUT convenient to get to. But, if you need a decent, inexpensive hotel to stay at in the Nuremburg area that has very good food and excellent service, then this is the place to stay.

A very interesting side note is that there are posters of big rock bands (Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Ted Nugent, Ozzy) all over the 1st level corridors. Come to find out that the hotel property used to include basically all of the land around it, and all of these bands basically played AT THIS HOTEL (outside in a field Woodstock-style).

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles
Thank Jason1838
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 2, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews