We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in Guimar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Rural Finca Salamanca
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guimar
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay in Guimar”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Really a very nice place to stay, just outside of Guimar. Positive notes: The grounds are beautiful. The staff is generally very good and Frank in particular is excellent. Location is great, very close to the beaches on the east side of the island and the pyramids. The port of Guimar has some wonderful restaurants and an off-the-beaten-path flavor that the resort towns lack. Prices are reasonable and if you are travelling in the off-season, you can negotiate your price (we got a 30% reduction on our room rate). We had a late departure flight and the staff allowed us to stay in our room most of the day we departed and did not try to hurry us off. Negative notes: The rooms are not quite as nice as the pictures on the website would portray them. The hotel's restaurant, while okay for the buffet breakfast, is otherwise awful and hands down the worst food we had on the island. The hotel's computer is ancient and does not have updated software. If you relaly need internet access, bring your laptop with you and use the WiFi connection. Finally, I had a pair of expensive swim trunks stolen from a drying rack on our private balcony. It almost had to be the cleaning crew. In that one case I found the Front Desk to be unresponsive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VulcoRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    55
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
83
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

We had a lovely week in the finca Salamanca. Tenerife is in fact a beautiful and rather unspoilt island, once you manage to avoid the tourist ghetto's on the south coast.

The hotel is basically a former estate, located in the middle of a wonderful avocado plantation.

LOCATION: just outside the little town of Guimar (on the eastern coast of the island) , just 3 km from the highway. There is no shopping/entertainment within walking distance so you should have your own wheels.

ROOMS: the hotel is small and rooms come in different categories: ordinary, junior suites and suites. We stayed in one of the 4 suites and basically this was a spacious wooden cottage, decorated in canarian style. there was a small terrace to sit on and also a little kitchen in the living. We liked it very much

STAFF: very friendly and welcoming, both in the restaurant and at the reception.

RESTAURANT: located in an atmospheric old barn. Very good , typical spanish/canarian food and not expensive at all: we had dinner here every evening. breakfast was ok too.

SPECIAL: the large gardens surrounding the hotel are a pleasure to walk in, especially since parts of them have been turned into a wonderful garden with lots of cactusses and canarian plants.

MINUS: the TV set in our living was very small and did not work too well. Off course we had not travelled to tenerife to watch TV but this could be improved.

All in all we felt very well in this place and it was a great base for exploring the island.

If you like a calm, quiet and comfortable place this hotel is fine for you, if you are looking for entertainment you should go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niels_jansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

we just got back from a weekend stay at Finca Salamanca and overall we were pleased with the accomodation. Reception staff very pleasant and helpful (breakfast staff not so helpful nor pleasant). Surroundings beautiful with excellent mountain views and the finca set in grounds full of fruit trees which creates a relaxing atmosphere when you are chilling by the pool.
Just a few niggles...the coffee machine in the dining room makes the most digusting artificial tasting coffee I have ever tasted (and I have tasted some pretty bad coffee in hotels), surely its cheaper to jusst make a pot of coffee (there are only 20 rooms!) The rooms was quite hot and stuffy and the ceiling fan only makes a slight difference and has to be left on all the time (it was august however): A bar service would be a good thing to offer guests. We had a nice meal in the restaurant for a reasonable price but the service was very very slow, they dont seem to cope well with a busy restaurant (eight tables, two waitresses proved to be too much for them to handle).
You need to hire a car as there arent any bars or restaurants within walking distance, although Im sure that the type of guest who stays here will almost certainly come with car hire.
All in all I do recommend it.

  • Liked — the views from swimming pool
  • Disliked — hot room and foul coffee
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington England
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

With a superb, off-the tourist-circuit location, the Salamanca was excellent value and, for us, a memorable experience.

We had chosen the hotel for a family gathering to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday....without her knowing!

Me and Her Indoors stayed on our own for two days before the kids (4 Adults, 1 -13 year-old, 1-9 year-old and one baby) arrived to spring their surprise presence over dinner!

The staff were more than acommodating....they were friendly and efficient...and did much to ensure the surprise was pulled-off to perfection. To challenge them, we had 2 kids who eat only limted kids' things....a baby..and 2 veggies!...but this presented the staff with no problems...

Two nights a week , the Hotel puts-on a buffet, but as this clashed with the intended 'surprise', they agreed to maintain a full a la carte menu for us...

The food is of a high standard and well, but not pretentiously, presented. The main restaurant is an old tobacco barn...very rustic and charming...There is also a covered terrace restaurant...

We were concerned that the smaller members of the party would find the location less than intersting (being away from the popular part of Tenerife)...but we couldn't have been more wrong...They loved it...The pool was clean and fun...and the gardens are a treat....even allowing for the black volcanic soil...

The mini-gym equipment had sadly seen better days...

The rooms are chalet-like and basic...but spotless and they have all you need ..Would recommend the hotel for a short break.

A car is essential, and there are some good eateries in Candelaria...about 10 mins by car...and the town itself is beautiful...especially around the Basilica.

Recommended restaurant (ask for directions) is The Archete..the arch..which we'd chosen for a special last-night meal...again 10 minutes away...unless you get lost like we did...

Eventually (after 40 minutes) and stopping miles away up in the hills, at a house way off the beaten track.....in the now pitch black....

... we were considering our options for aborting the trip (6 brassed-off adults, 2 bored kids and a baby ready for bed), the owner of the house came out...and the God's were smiling on us......

.....it was the head waiter from the Salamanca!!..who jumped in his car to guide us to our destination...Lovely guy...

Turned a potential disater into a night to remember..Thanks Felipe...(and his wife Maria).

All in all ...great place..great occasion...Thanks to all...

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Nontouristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2006

First impressions are good. Very canarian with large gardens and lots of greenery. Avocado trees everywhere. Not at all what you'd expect to find on Tenerife.

Although its billed as a rural hotel, its actually just off the main road from Guimar to the motorway. Traffic noise isn't particularly intrusive, but the hotel isn't in a particularly rural location. Its completely walled though, and the gardens are superb, and when inside it does feel quite secluded. And its in a convenient location for getting places. But a car is essential as there's no bars or restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel has a really nice restaurant located in an old barn, very atmospheric. The menu's a bit limited, but the food quality was OK and nicely presented. There doesn't seem to be a real bar area to sit and have a drink . The hotel has some pleasant common areas, but the lounge is upstairs above reception and due to its location no-one seems to use it. The hotel management don't seem to encourage its use.

The pool area is pleasant with plenty of sun loungers and a bar. Pool towels are provided. The hotel claims that the pool is heated, but there was little evidence of this and the pool was uncomfortably cold in November.

Our room was spacious with its own terrace, (overlooking a small avocado grove) but not all rooms have their own terrace (we noticed that rooms 10 to 114 did not). The room was well equipped but the big downside was the bed, simply the hardest and most uncomfortable matress we've ever had the misfortune to experience. The hotel management seemed surpirised when we complained (they told us that hard matresses last longer in hotels, and that these matresses were standard throughout the hotel!), and showed limited sympathy. When we took the hotel manager to the room and forced him to lie on the bed, he eventually offerd us a twin room with matresses which were marginally less hard. In the event we were pleased that we only stayed a week, as quality sleep on these beds was for us a rare commodity.

The servicing of the rooms was patchy. A basket of toileteries was provided at the start of our week but these never seemed to be replenished - no shower gel or shampoo, just bars of soap.

Overall, its a nice hotel but decidely patchy in places. There is scope for improvement and with some effort and attention to detail this could become a top class hotel.

  • Liked — Spaciois room
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dillon2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guimar
29.0 km away
Hotel Spa Villalba
Hotel Spa Villalba
#1 of 5 in Vilaflor
455 reviews
17.3 km away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,555 reviews
23.3 km away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 km away
La Quinta Park Suites
La Quinta Park Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Ursula
867 reviews
17.0 km away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
744 reviews
33.8 km away
Hotel Rural El Patio
Hotel Rural El Patio
#3 of 5 in Garachico
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Finca Salamanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Finca Salamanca

Property: Hotel Rural Finca Salamanca
Address: Carretera Guimar Arafo 2, 38500 Guimar, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guimar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guimar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural Finca Salamanca 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rural Finca Salamanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural Finca Salamanca Hotel Guimar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing