We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
2
9
15
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
9
15
5
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 42 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

This hotel was used as an overnight stay in my one day sojourn to Vinales/Pinar del Rio.
The Hotel's rooms are the bare minimum and frankly depressing, the bed sheets and pillows looked suspiciously dirty and the bed was really uncomfortable.

The central dining room is a disaster and the "food" if i can call it that... is even worse.
The happening spot is the bar next to the lobby but even that becomes a bit too much after an hour.. Loud drunk locals and young girls (jineteras) cuban slang for prostitutes... Offering themselves to men old enough to be their Abuelos ( grandfathers). Each to his own but this was a bit too much even for me.
I went to bed hungry that night and woke up with thoughts of an early morning swim before heading back to Havana..a quick survey of the unhygienic pool quickly scuppered my plan and it was off to Havana in the rental car that thankfully had not been broken into or having a part missing...this happens alot in Cuba.
Will probably never go back to this dive.. Oops....I meant " Hotel"

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank vanguardia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2017

On a recent visit to this hotel, I was reasonably impressed with the dedication of the staff, the quality of the service and the overall atmosphere of the place. The hotel is popular with Cubans and occupancy was at a reasonable level. The place was busy.

Some renovations have been going on and continue. The pool has been modernized and the pool area was impressively clean, even with a large crowd in attendance. I could smell the chlorine.

The bar area beyond the reception was a popular spot. The bar staff were very polite and coped well under pressure. The fellows at the check in desk were polite and helpful as well.

There is an Italian restaurant beyond the pool area that provides some basic Italian food at a reasonable price. This provides an alternative to the hotel’s central dining room fare.

This hotel offers a budget alternative to other hotels in the Pinar del Rio /Vinales area. Room prices offered via pre-purchased voucher were reasonable.

HOWEVER:

1. Unless you fall in the 18-25 year old rage and are a reggaeton enthusiast, avoid the dive-bar discoteque at the side of the hotel. It has the ambiance of a coal mine and is strictly for local kids.

2. The most drab aspect of the entire hotel is the central dining room on the second floor, that goes for the food offerings (other than the standard, drab breakfast) as well as the indifferent service there. This aspect needs much improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dirk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Quiet Room exists at the Islazul Pinar del Rio!

As I have noted some customers complained that Saturday night is Noisy on the Hotel because heavy sound can come from the dance floor.

Please inform the reception and they are giving a quiet room to the latest floor.

For the parking, two places exist, one with somebody watching your car or the second car park behind the building. We rather prefer the one one closed of the hotel.

Many effort to refurbish the hotel are on going. Most of the rooms were refreshed but not only. The vaste swimming pool restoration is in progress. Last Many effort are also in progress to deliver good room standard to the customers.

If wrong note exist it's for the breakfast. The staff gives the lowest standard we had along our trip around the CUBA ouest side.

Room Tip: Rooms far from dance floor exist.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Didier W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2016

The hotel was very clean. The room was a big size with a balcony to the valley. Breakfast was included and it was a nice surprise before heading back to Havana. The breakfast was buffet style and we ate plenty. The patio has a bar with wifi, a little loud, but was great to get in touch with family with the internet.Great value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuletin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2016

Cuban hotels are not yet up to the mark and this large hotel has little going for it. The food is poor still cannot understand why the fruit is not good. The bar is below the rooms so the noise carries upwards, drinks served in plastic mugs. Unfortunately you do not have much of a choice.

Room Tip: All the same ones away from busy road are much quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews