We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
168
30
7
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
30
7
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree rats scuba diving mini zoo dive centre great place to stay huge bathroom home from home lobster casa particular beach towels air con high level separate house the bus minute cycle speaking english the main house
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 217 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2019

We were lucky to be there over the Cuban celebrations of new year and there was a huge party for Ivettes friends and family and all the guests were invited as well. A whole Barbequed pig was cook and everybody brought along something from salad to cake. The food is always great and plenty. If you want to experience the real Cuba and meet real Cubans this is the place for you. To be honest wouldn't stay anywhere else you are made so welcome and part of the Family. As always the Diving was excellent you can have a Try Dive with Ronel, Ivettes Husband who heads the Government dive centre. You have free use of bicycles and there are Mask and Snorkels for free.

Room tip: All the rooms are really nice luxury at budget prices all Air Con and Satellite TV Fridge
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobCastle17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2019

The resort includes 4 houses, a restaurant, animal shelters, a garden and free bicycle renting. Nice facilities, we had a good room in the newest house and a refrigerator filled with water, beer and affordable wine. Thumbs up. We were given a good introduction to the place, the surroundings and tour options. This resort has received a lot of excellent TripAdvisor ratings - most likely deserved good ones – BUT we feel like mentioning some annoying experiences from our stay.
As many TripAdvisor reviews are highlighting the resort’s restaurant we probably had high expectations. Can so many travelers go wrong or what happened with the delicious food? Our dinner was disappointing; rice and vegetables served 10 minutes before the fish and the scrimps came in, basically a very unambitious meal and for this we paid unreasonable 27 CUC which is much too expensive having tried several comparable restaurants in Cuba.
We found the resort quite noisy from time to time. During daytime we often experienced high-level discussions between staff and hosts and cell phones continuing ringing. The chairs right outside our bedroom windows were continuous occupied by other guests and/or staff and it felt like being an uninvited part of a private conversation. There should be defined a set of rules for using chairs when they are just outside your bedroom’s windows that cannot be closed. Noisy was also the heavy traffic on the road that starts early in the morning.
Altogether not top rating from us. There are other resort and restaurant options in the town….

Room tip: Rooms towards the garden are more reduces the noise from the road
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edlew2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2019

My 2 adult children and I had a very comfortable stay at Casa Ivette and Ronel with a triple room and huge bathroom. Secure parking for our rental car was within the property. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were tasty and punctual. The \"mini-zoo\" was interesting. Bicycles and some snorkel gear were available for guests. Staff could arrange various activities, if one wanted. This location was close to everything, including the excellent museum, other restaurants, the nice sandy beach and the wi-fi hot spot at the small mall across from the museum.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JOhanne_K_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were backpacking around Cuba for a month, after travelling through Varadero, Havana and vinãles, we stumbled across Playa Giron! With the intention of staying for 2 days, doing one or two dives and then moving on, we were shocked ourselves when we stayed for a total of 8 days (we left and then came back again!!) and did a total of 20 dives between us!

Yvette, Ronel, Carlos and their staff are all extremely welcoming and will bend over backwards to accommodate you! The bedrooms and bathrooms are extremely clean and stunning, and THE FOOD IS FANTASTIC!! With fantastic breakfast, lunch and dinner all available in the casa, we only ate out once or twice during our entire stay! You'll certainly never go hungry!

The diving in the Bay of Pigs is certainly not the be missed with fantastic fish, corals and clarity! The prices are also extremely good! I would highly recommend diving here even if you have never done it before! I qualified as a diver whilst staying here, and as Ronel owns the dive centre, his casa was the perfect place to stay. He and the other dive masters are also all fantastic teachers!

With crocodiles in your back garden, fantastic diving and lovely people, you'll fall in love with playa Giron and it's little bit of paradise! Could not recommend it more!

W+Z xx

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Zoë N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

I stayed here for 2 nights while scuba diving in Playa Giron. The room was super clean, beds were comfortable, and everyone was very welcoming. The room included air conditioning, a fridge with beverages at a great price, and bikes were free to use. The town is very small so it was easy to get around by bike to visit Playa Cocos and the museum. Breakfast was $5, and other meals varied but all very reasonable prices and delicious. I highly recommend eating at the casa. Carlos, the concierge, and Ivette were very helpful with helping plan my future travel plans to Cienfuegos and Trinidad. They had great connections for casas in both of those cities! The dive bus stops by every morning if you plan to go diving with Ronel- some of the best coral I have ever seen. I highly recommend staying here, and can't wait to visit again!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scheinric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews