We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
17
46
60
66
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
46
60
66
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful ocean audience frogs roundtrip bugs homes
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 254 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2018

yes the beach has a wall - ugly but it gives you some comfort that you won`t get swept out to sea lol, there`s a nicer beach 10 minutes walk to the east (left if facing water). the snorkeling from the beach in the area is nice (not at the hotel). tropical fish, coral in good shape, no boats to worry about. nothing too exciting in the water - but it`s nice and free. there`s a bus that leaves from the hotel for 3 CUC roundtrip per day. it can take you to caleta Buena (all inclusive usually included with your stay at playa giron - nice snorkeling, beach chairs, bar, etc), playa perdiz (nice snorkeling, buffet lunch 15 CUC) and cuevas los peces (free - can rent snorkel gear). the food at the hotel is very basic and the basically the same every day. the specialty restaurant is a joke. no animation when I was there this time - it was very quiet. there was a great live band thurs-sun.. but I was the only audience. the disco had some ppl Saturday - but closed due to no clients the rest of the week. dive mater on site will take you snorkeling / diving everyday to a location that depends on the weather - prices very fair.

Room tip: try to get one with the updated shower
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2018

We booked a room for 3 people ( 2 adults + 1 child) checking in on 14/12/17 for one night and we checked out 30min after as it was impossible to either sleep , eat or drink water there and most important have a proper relaxing day.

The hotel state is as if a World War 3 had just finished there. Total devastation. Swimming pool super dirty. Full of mosquitoes, ants, weed, broken bottles on the pathways, bins overflowed with rubbish, electrical sockets very unsafe and loose exposing live wires, cockroaches poo everywhere ( see the photo with the poo by the unsafe socket),mattresses very dirty, thin and very old with only a very thin sheet to protect you from whatever lies beneath , kitchen was dirty, bathroom fixings corroded, dirty , we were warned by one of the ladies not to drink any water, curtains were fixed and very dirty so we couldn’t actually open the windows to get any lighting.

See photos attached.

We ended up staying in one private house as we could not have risked our daughter or ourselves to stay in this utter shambles and disgusting place !!!

This hotel must not be advertised online. Do not stay there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank visitorg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2017

Friendly check in and bar staff, but after that I struggle. Beack was ok, but would be better without old coastal walk / walkway.

Limited cocktails, only rum based.

Dated bungalows, very basic, but large. Shabby electrics, poor shower, curtain not attached, not to clean.

Certainly would not recommend unless no other options!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 406kenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2017

The hotel is spread out in many bungalows which are either single (2 bdrm and 2 baths living room) or double (1 bdrm) with a patio for all. The furniture is basic and the beds are all exhausted. Some units have been renovated others not (our case) and are fed with solar hot water individually. There was never a lack of water. The floor of our room was VERY slippery and was provided with only a small towel per person. The bungalows can be far from the lobby and in our case 15 minutes walk back under the sun. Taking a bike is a good idea to stay for more than a week. The dwellings are provided with air conditioning (noisy and not adjustable) and shutters as windows and no mosquito screens. We had an infallible system to protect ourselves from the insects present in the room in this case a couple of greedy lizards.
The whole place is clean but run down and it would take a lot of love to show it off. No landscaping work is done apart from the horses and goats that graze and leave their traces.
On the bar and restaurant side, basic but always good. The restaurant serves the same dishes and presentations every day. On the other hand the taste is excellent and sometimes better than in several other hotels in Cuba. We did not lose a pound during our stay. On the weekend from Friday, many Cubans from the capital come to spend their weekends there.
The 'à la carte' restaurant is located at the far end of the hotel and the à la carte choice is non-existent but the quality is good. On the other hand it is possible to consume only ONE glass of wine. You are better off buying at the tienda before spending an evening there. No bar service either ...
Two swimming pools are available. The smaller one did not have a running filtration system and did not have a ladder to get out. Children need help getting out.
The sandy beach is protected by a Big ugly Dyke which breaks the view of the sea.
The staff at the service is always friendly and helpful as is the people assigned to the maintenance or the security guards.
Directly at the exit of the hotel is a CADECA open from Monday to Saturday which facilitates the money exchange.
Forget the choice at the Tienda, not much available and the cigars are only Trinidad's ...
It is possible at 08:00 to ask for a voucher for Caletta Buena who is associated with the hotel. Just take the shuttle bus (3 CUC / pers) to 0930. On the site you have free access to the catering service and bar (2) in the all included. A beautiful beach with diving center and a refreshing cenote. The return (included in the 3 CUC) is at 14:30 or 16:30. In our opinion a must do ...
The dive center is located next to the hotel and the service is completely impersonal and it is a dive factory. You are better off going to Caleta Buena. a small dive center with a small boat but very interesting and good dive instructors.
At the hotel, we met lots of interesting people because the human dimension is there bigger.
In summary for the price paid what to ask for better.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jofoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2017

This hotel is considered one of the best beach hotels in Bay of Pigs area in Cuba. Unfortunately it is not even closer to good.
Rooms were large but very dirty with dirty bed linen. Toilets were big but the fittings were age old.
There is no appealing atmosphere in the chalets . Not even a chair in the balcony facing the sea.
There is a private beach bounded by a concrete wall which is apparently clean and safe.
The restaurant is very compact and noisy. The buffet dinner and breakfast were not of good quality.
Staff were helpful only after paying a tip.
We checked in as all inclusive guests but there was nothing other than a few drinks in the bar on offer.
Not value for money.

Date of stay: April 2017
1  Thank Kuneema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews