We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't wait to go back”
other travellers have booked this property
sunrise Sweet Wind style
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
sunrise Sweet Wind style
sunrise over Hurricane Hole
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
sunrise Sweet Wind style
sunrise over Hurricane Hole
view
back grotto
'tween main house and bedroom
view for breakfast
view from patio
view from road
entry deck, first bedroom & living room
kitchen
living room
living room
bedroom #3
back grotto
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Coral Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jwenwood
Apalachin, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We just returned from a week at Sweet Wind. It was fantastic. The Villa is beautifully decorated and perfectly laid out for traveling with our two teenage boys. We loved the quiet and tranquility. Nina was very respectful of our privacy but we had a wonderful time listening to stories about her very interesting life. She was a great source of insider tips on restaurants, snorkeling spots, beaches, and out of the way places to visit. Our days ended on the deck admiring the stars and gorgeous view of Hurricane Hole. Can't wait to go back!

If you go, try a burger at Skinny Legs and seafood at Aqua Bistro. As is typical on the island, the driveway is steep. Four wheel drive is helpful for negotiating the driveway, the car ferry, and the rest of the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the outdoor shower
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
It was a pleasure meeting such an interesting,clever family with a good sense of humor.I hope to meet you all again, we will do the potato cannons next time, Nina and Lucy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert r
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We came as strangers and left as friends.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We researched a number of villas in Coral Bay and decided on Sweet Winds. The villa is 4/10 of a mile out of town and was exactly what we had hoped for. There is a nautical theme throughout. Nina the owner couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant. A car is needed and it needs to be 4 wheel drive. The driveway is short but very steep.
The view is second to none, and there are wonderful sunrises as the deck faces East. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to go back if health issues allow.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
enjoyed meeting you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryJoM52
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We found Sweet Wind to be just as advertised. It is beautiful, eccentric and funky. Chilling is easy. Cooked a lot, hung out, went adventuring every day. Well equipped yet everything does not work perfectly. Interesting details in the architecture and decoration that make it a comfortable and aesthetic experience. What a view! We would definitely go back when possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and ambience of the place.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Dec 2013
what great guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Reviewed May 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 May 2013
It is so nice to meet such great people doing this business. How refreshing. NH
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne5459
New York, New York
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for families with small children!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our second trip to Sweet Wind Villa. We had such a lovely time in 2012 that we didn't think twice to book with Nina's lovely home again.
We have two children, 2 and 4.5, and Nina made us all feel welcome and comfortable, providing a pack and play and booster seat. She took a list of staples that we would need and stocked the fridge for us with milk, eggs, bread, etc... So that we wouldn't have to go shopping our first night. (There are two convenient stores located right in coral bay.) We ate out about half the nights of our stay and cooked in the rest. We packed picnic lunches for the beaches.
This time we traveled with another family and their 2 year old. The house is perfectly set up for two groups - one bedroom is set on one side of the house, while the other two are on the opposite side - perfect to give each family their own privacy. The kids loved showering together in the outdoor shower after a sandy day at the beach, and running around the fully enclosed decks that circle the house.
We look forward to returning again next year!
The views of Hurricane Hole are so beautiful, and both years we saw double rainbows off the balcony after a late afternoon rainstorm. Nina clearly loves the home, as shown in the careful details throughout.
The restaurants in coral bay, just a short drive away, were great. Skinny Legs and Donkey Diner are particularly family friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The beautiful views.
Liked least: Pulling out of the driveway!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2013
nice to have you all
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Reviewed February 15, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yang Y
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sweeeeet Memory in Sweeeet Wing Villa”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I spent only two days here last December. We are all students and our travel schedule was very tight. If there is any chance that I can stay there for one month I would love to.
It is a cute villa with super great sight of the bay and the moon. The moon is like what I saw in "Life of Pie", it must be the most beautiful moon I've ever seen. I told Nina that the St. John island is just like "the isolated paradise" and she agreed with me.
If you have a group of >5 people coming to this island, Sweet Wing Villa is really the best place to stay.
Nina is the nicest household. We all like her and I miss her a lot. She has a cute dog, Lucy, I miss her too. Her life is a legend and she is an artist. She is very helpful. She picked us up when I told her that we did not have a Jeep and drove us to the places that only locals know. I hope I can see her soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2013
I really enjoyed meeting these students, we had a great time, I look forward to meeting them again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing