We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular”
other travellers have booked this property
Stunning views of the Caribbean Sea, Hurricane Hole and the British Virgin Islands are the focus
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views of the Caribbean Sea, Hurricane Hole and the British Virgin Islands are the focus
Coral Bay Eco-Retreat beckons you to enjoy the Virgin Islands view from your outdoor dining deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Stunning views of the Caribbean Sea, Hurricane Hole and the British Virgin Islands are the focus
Coral Bay Eco-Retreat beckons you to enjoy the Virgin Islands view from your outdoor dining deck
Views over the Caribbean Sea,gazing over the horizon,watching brightly lit cruise ships in the night
It's so peaceful that the Banana Quits land on your hand for their morning sugar
Aerial view of location-yellow pen on left is pointing to it
Pawley Island hammock for two is perfect for favorite island sports: hammock warming and star gazing
The colors of the expansive view change throughout the day
House exterior from south
Exterior showing closest neighbor(white roof on left)
Lower BR deck & banana quits in feeder on tree by bed
You're welcomed by a mermaid
Exterior from east showing part of kitchen
Bamboo etagere' in living room wlecomes you with Caribbean books and hiking trail maps,St. John info
Living room bamboo etagere' holds books, magazines, TV/DVD player (no TV reception/DVD only)
'Jenny', a painting by Nevis artist of a legendary goat woman; CBER was once a home for rescue goats
Living close to nature includes visits from local critters: donkeys, deer, sheep, mongoose
View from open-air master bedroom, private deck, bathroom, massage table area, view of Caribbean Sea
Master Bath includes shower, eco-low-water usage toilet, wicker chest, pedestal sink and open view
Sunrise 'Morning Show' is spectacular, peaceful, beautiful, serence way to start the day
Gheckos abound as bug exterminators, crumb cleaners and computer consultants!
Sunrises and sunsets are spectacular and offer meditation and contemplation and a natural light show
Tropical flowers, indigenous plants abound in aqua ceramic planters
Hermit crabs sometimes join you in the kitchen!
Traffic jam Coral Bay style on the Johnny Horn Trail
Did we mention the fabulous sunrise aka as the Morning Show
Exteror from across the valley-shows 44 steps, driveway
Angels, statues, crystals join the natural settings of rocks and trees to create serenity and peace
Upstairs half-bath is open air and shares an outdoor garden shower
View towards Coral Bay harbor overlooks Bordeaux mountain and often captures rainbows
Mural in massage area created by the first guest to stay in Coral Bay Eco Retreat
The deck is the centerpiece for outdoor living with the hammock, grill and glass-top table
exterior from west-upper deck
The historic and beautiful Emmaus Moravian Church, built in 1700's, is the gatekeeper for JH trail
Map/sign at the Johnny Horn Trailhead; 1.5 miles to Leinster Bay
Challenging part of the road to C B E R- requires four wheel drive vehicle/adventurous spirit
Whimsical metal frog statue adorns the massage are garden
Painting by Bahamian artist of Little Girl in Prayer
Painting by Jamaican artist of Caribbean woman cleaning fish; my father & grandfather were fisherman
House on right:Located adjacent to the VINP, perched on a hillside;nearest neighbor is home to left
massage table area/deck adjacent to lower br
Banana quits are so friendly...a bird in the hand!
Tiny gheckos visit bromeliad in bedroom garden
The sugar birds will call you back!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Coral Bay, St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin Y
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We got married on the beach at Trunk Bay then stayed here for 8 fabulous days for our honeymoon. We are both very into hiking, camping, and backpacking so being off the grid was the perfect honeymoon for us. The house has everything you need and Allison has thought of everything. Just bring food and clothes and you are all set. The view each morning from bed is spectacular. I can't say enough about this place. The only way it could have been better is if we could have stayed longer.

We had a last minute conflict with the jeep rental place not wanting us to take the jeep up to the house, but Allison went out of her way to help us and was able to get it straightened out. I can't say enough about how helpful she was. She was genuinely interested in making our stay perfect and went above and beyond to make it so. Our stay was perfect so she succeeded. We are already looking forward to staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many to pick one, but the location is probably the best
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
I hope you CAN stay longer next time...for an anniversary! It was a challenge to get all the arrival details straightened out, but I know how I would feel if I were in your hometown for a visit and a car company screwed up....I'd want help and support! When you're here, you're family to me and I want your stay to be teriffic. So glad it was! Thanks for your kind words and many prayers and wishes to you for an amazingly happy marriage! All the best, Allison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meagzzzz
Felton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deep relaxation in paradise.”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I honeymooned at the eco- retreat for ten days right after our wedding. We were in need of some deep relaxation in a place that was in the middle of nature, but also wanted a place with a comfy bed. This was the perfect place! We loved the simplicity and beauty. Allison was extremely accommodating from the moment we booked the house with her. She escorted us to the cottage and pointed out beaches, restaurants, and hikes for us along the way.

If you like your vacations to be a little rugged in order to be relaxing, this is definitely the place to be. We hope to return to the Coral Bay Eco Retreat someday!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calypso-P...
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The view alone....”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

First, let's get this out of the way right up front:

The view will simply blow your mind. It is beautiful...simply stunning.

Now, moving on...I have never felt so close to nature than I did the week we spent in St. John. Using the Coral Bay Eco Retreat as our base camp, we were able to have a week of awesome adventure, with everything we needed moments away.

The house has a small TV & DVD (I recommend never turning it on, as the view is much more fulfilling to watch) and Wifi. The solar power connects to a converter that provides enough juice to fill up all your gadgets.

I think my favorite part is the Bananaquits. Every morning, a spectacular sunrise and the sound of birds beckon you to awaken. The Bananaquits are used to guests, and politely remind you each morning that they like to eat sugar for breakfast. They fly out of the brush and land on your palm. Such a joy to wake up to every single morning.

The house is well kept, and VERY eco friendly. One should understand and expect to do their part by rationing water and power, and disposing of waste properly. There is a refrigerator, but it will not keep ice frozen more than a couple of days, so keep that in mind. We planned to stock up at the outset, and then again midweek.

One super cool highlight of the property is the kitchen-garden. All sorts of herbs and greens right there in the outdoor kitchen, ready to be clipped and added to whatever you're cooking! Very nice touch. Also, on amenities...2 words: OUTDOOR. SHOWER. Do it...it's magical.

As far as activities, The house is located right off the Johnny Horn hiking trail. For the adventurous, I HIGHLY recommend checking out the (provided) "trail bandit" hiking map, and seeking out the Brown Bay plantation ruins to the east. There is a ton of great hiking available right from the house. Waterlemon Bay has great snorkeling, and is pretty off the beaten path.

All in all, I would return here in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being close to nature, THE VIEW, Bananaquits.
Liked least: The walk up from the parking area to the house when laden with gear was a bit rough...but the view makes it worth the effort.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aluckybug...
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique property with spectacular views.”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Eco Retreat is a special place. We wanted privacy, nature, charm, creature comforts and a (tiny) bit of adventure. The Retreat provided all of that and more.

The views are spectacular. Allison, our very accommodating hostess, must live in an equally incredible place because I don’t see how anyone who owned this house would choose not to live there! Allison did everything possible to make our stay pleasant. She even keeps a cell phone at the house in case your service doesn’t work.

Both beds are extremely comfortable with nice linens, and the open-air bedroom is like no other place you will rest your head. You wake up to birdsong and a Caribbean sunrise. The kitchen has everything you need to cook. That said, it is not the type of home where you will want to prepare complex meals that involve many pans and serving dishes. Use the time you save washing dishes to sit on the deck! We cooked big breakfasts and packed lunches and ate out the other evenings. Coral Bay has great restaurants, including Indigo Grill, Skinny Legs, Pickles and Aqua Bistro.

Some considerations. You need a four-wheel drive jeep to get up to the house and then you climb 45 steps. Your water is heated by the sun. We always had electricity from the solar panels, but we were careful to only use what we needed. The power went out a few times on St. John but not for us! You should be the kind of person who laughs and grabs the camera when a gecko invades your space, and love having banana quits eat sugar from your hand and hummingbirds zoom by your head. All of this added to the appeal of the house for us.

I loved being off the grid. I have Verizon so my phone never worked anywhere on St. John. The internet wasn’t always reliable (a function of the island). I adjusted immediately and left the real world behind. I highly recommend you do the same, and start by renting Allison’s retreat.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve d
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The place, the view, the solitude is absolutely spectacular. We spent a week there and could not have been more pleased. You give up some things, like hot water, and you're not right in town for the night life. You have to drive up a pretty gnarly road in 4WD low, and the hike up from your parking spot might be a problem for some people.

BUT, what you get in return is incredible! The house is basically two decks with quite a bit of roof over your head. There is a central room with a sofa and some amenities that can be opened to the breeze making it essentially a screened house. Above that is a loft bedroom. On the same level as the screen room is a covered outdoor bathroom (with a privacy wall), covered outdoor kitchen, covered wraparound porch and large open deck. Off to the side, tucked into the trees is an outdoor shower. Below the deck is another level with a covered outdoor bed (AWESOME!), a massage table, and an indoor toilet and shower.

There are world class views from literally any place you stand. The WiFi is great. We used it to watch Netflix before we went to bed to the sounds of frogs and birds.

Birds are everywhere, especially the Hummingbirds and Bananaquits. The short but challenging drive down the trail puts you right in Coral Bay and a short drive to any of the beaches. Coral Bay has a real market and lots of places with great food. That won't be a problem.

For us, the best part was being able to start and end our day in total seclusion with those incredible views. You have total privacy to live and dress (or not) as you like. It may not be for everyone. You have to make it up the stairs, and the drive might be too hairy for some but I'd advise you not to worry about that. The showers are cool, not icy cold, but certainly not warm, either. But none of that matters because it fits the place. That shower would make me mad in a hotel, but here it makes total sense, standing in the trees, taking a shower in the open air with birds all around you.

And the privacy,the view, the sunrise every morning from your bed, you can't get that any place else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surpassed expectations”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I honeymooned here and it was couldn't have been much better. Allison, as other reviewers have said, is wonderful and very helpful. She has a gift for creating welcoming and comfortable spaces. Seriously though, every aspect of the house was well thought through and intentional.

We stayed without a jeep and stayed mostly at the house. It's a good hike to the beach which is the only downside to doing this, but for the active and vigorous, it's an adventure.

The views were breathtaking, the birds ever-present, and joys of living in the open air unending.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lostsol95
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Idyllic is the first word that comes to mind when waking up and experiencing the sunrise perched high on the Johnny Horn overlooking Coral Bay, the neighboring islands, and the expansive sea beyond.
Allison is a wonderful person and peaceful in nature. She unobtrusively checked in with me before, during, and after my stay.
The accommodations were very comfortable and had a nice balance of being open to the outdoors and still private, while leaving a minimal, if any, footprint on the environment. Wildlife surrounds you. I had bananaquits eating out of my hand, hummingbirds whizz past me, and anole lizards keeping the place in check!
My intentions for my stay were to live simply and experience St. John's natural surroundings, and Allison's Retreat exceeded my expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing