We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gladstone”
Review of The Gladstone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gladstone
Ranked #1 of 1 Dwygyfylchi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gladstone”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Gladstone is a large pub with B&B,but the room are as good as any 4* hotel breakfast is nice and fresh. Room 2 had a lovelly sea view and king size 4 poster bed, en suite little small and the shower head was loose, but ok. NIce friendly staff. I would stay again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: Room 2 excellent sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    30
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
29
62
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed 3 nights at The Gladstone. Booked via 'booking.com' and got a reasonable rate which included breakfast. Room was quite spacious but the bed was too short for me (6' 4") so didn't have an overly good sleep. Breakfast was very fresh and hearty. Dined in the restaurant twice during our stay and the food and atmosphere was lovely. Wednesday night quiz was fun although we didn't win :( It is within 1/2 hours drive of all the lovely places around the base of Mount Snowden which makes it well located. The staff are very friendly and very helpful at all times. There is also a good selection of local ales on tap.

Room Tip: Request a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
242 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We had a great stay here. The room was excellent, and had a fantastic sea view. The whole place is so relaxed. Staff are fantastic, and the food was superb. We walked along the beach, and the mountain walks start from the hotel. It is such a beautiful location, and the hotel matches it. It is great for a romantic weekend away, and we will go there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel for a sea view - it is definitely worth it. You can lie in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Took a chance having not been there for many years; recent review said it was good.
Four of us booked for a meal last night (17/09/11); we were not disappointed.
Excellent service, attentive staff but not obtrusive.
Four different meals, excellent quality.
Superb view over the sea from this location.
Will go there again.
DafyddT

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafydd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Having always stayed on the caravan site behind when we visit this neck of the woods, I decided that id treat my wife to a bit of luxury, so I checked out The Gladstone on-line and booked through late rooms. We knew the rooms would be as good as the restaurant (which we have eaten in many times before).

We stayed for two nights, Friday night we ate in the restaurant and as usual the food was first class, as was the service. Nothing seemed too much trouble for my wife, who can often be a fussy eater.

The staff were very attentive and knowledgeable with regards to the menu's and made us feel so welcome throughout our stay!
We Can't wait to come back, A Big Thanks To The Gladstone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Having only popped into the Gladstone once on the way to visit family i knew i was in for a treat, my boyfriend had booked us in to stay for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday.
Having arrived mid morning (checkin was at 2pm) the kind young lady said that we could check in, having never seen the rooms i was AMAZED!! beautiful! they are stunning. For me a pet hate with hotel rooms is cleanliness not a problem at The Gladstone it was spotless!
We dined in the resturant on the first night it was lovely i just wish i hadnt eaten so much i missed out on some scrumy sweets my hubby had the brownie. W evened decided to stay for Sunday lunch the food had been that good
All the staff are a credit to The Gladstone, i believe the young lady Adelee (Sorry if its spelt wrong!!) is in charge she looked after us through out our stay and greeted us with the biggest smile every morning at breakfast (not easy at 9am im sure!!)
I cant reccomend the Gladstone enough from excellent customer serivce, beautiful view and spotless rooms! Keep up the good work! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

I am really writing this about the house, Plas Arfon Cottage that we stayed in for a week that is on the property of The Gladstone Inn and will also include my review for the Inn.
Searching for a vacation home the week prior to Easter was no easy task. I did not even think about it being the week before Easter and could not figure out why I could not find a 2 bedroom house that had 2 baths that were available. Well, why would a girl from Jersey know that North Wales is THE place to go THAT WEEK? And when we arrived, I knew why! Beautiful beach with a view of the Isle of Anglesey to the front and the Snowdonia mountains in back of us! So much more than we expected and loved every second of our stay!
Lance Scally was my contact and was so fantastic! The pictures of the house were lovely but when we arrived, we could not believe how beautiful the house really was! Absolutely immaculate, you could eat off the floor in every room! Beautiful dining room when you walk in the door with a 1/2 bath in the foyer. Stunning kitchen with all contemporary appliances AND dishwasher! Three big bedrooms with the largest one upstairs that had a balcony overlooking the sea! A small but quaint backyard surrounded by an old stone wall with a field of sheep and babies! Picnic table and BBQ grill were perfect for our family get together the day after our family wedding on The Isle of Angelsey! We can't WAIT to go back!
We spent time in Caernarfon, Penygroes, Isle of Anglesey and took a day trip to Liverpool to do Beatlemania! Liverpool was only a little more than an hour away. We drove through parts of the Snowdonias twoce and and went to a beautiful beach on a pennisula in Northern Wales.
The house was booked for the last two nights of our stay so we stayed at The Gladstone Inn on the property. Fab restaurant/bar with great food, service and prices! There are 5 or 6 very tastefully done rooms. The beds were a little small for us, but comfy and immaculate, just like the house. The staff at the Inn was extremely accommodating and helped with our needs at the house and at the Inn. They even put our breakfast out for us as we had to depart early for our flight on the last day. Otherwise we were served complimentary cook to order breakfast.
I do not believe I have ever wanted to recommend any place as I want to for Plas Arfon Cottage or The Galdstone Inn! And, might I add that what we call a 'cottage' in the US is a far cry from what Plas Arfon Cottage was. It was a 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath house. A cottage around the lakes of North Jesey where we live is a small 1 bedroom/1 bath. Needless to say we were thrilled and hope to stay there again on our next trio to Wales!
Have a look - http://www.holidaylettings.co.uk/rentals/conwy/63411
Thanks, Lance Scally and your fantastic team for making us feel at home and for taking such good care of us!
Best,
Lya Navarra

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dwygyfylchi
5.2 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,138 reviews
5.4 km away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,529 reviews
6.5 km away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#14 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
2.7 km away
Sychnant Pass Country House
5.2 km away
Min-y-Don Guest House
Min-y-Don Guest House
#1 of 6 in Llanfairfechan
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gladstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gladstone

Property: The Gladstone
Address: Ysgubor Wen Road, Dwygyfylchi LL34 6PS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Dwygyfylchi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dwygyfylchi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gladstone 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have beautiful boutique style rooms offering you luxurious accommodation that is far beyond your normal bed and breakfast. We offer B&B with that little extra to make your stay with us special. The Gladstone is the perfect base to visit North Wales whether on business or pleasure, a stay at The Gladstone, whether for a meal, a drink or a break will enhance your time in North Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your The Gladstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing