We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant country wedding location”
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
A great house for up to 24 with pool, hot-tub, 2 lakes & 17 acres.
Hall
Kitchen
The drawing room
Kingfisher Bedroom
Otter bedroom
Sitting room
One of the bathrooms
The den
Boot store
Pergola on the Lake
Swimming pool
Games barn
Games barn - interior
South side of main house
Keepers cottage
Cottage - Gamekeepers bedroom
Cottage - Orchard bedroom
Cottage - Thatchers bedroom
The lake, for  fishing or boating
Beautiful autumn colours emerging
Looking over the lawn at the rear of the house
The majestic scotts pines.
Open space near the orchard
Towards the front lawn
Log pile beside the lake walk, good for habitat, we hope.
The beautiful Blackdown Hills, great for walking and moutain biking.
The Blackdown Hills are wonderful for walking, riding & mountain biking.
Kitchen in the cottage, perfect for a morning coffee before breakfast in the main house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Culmhead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentjane
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant country wedding location”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

If you want a flexible, non-traditional wedding in a country setting, you cannot get any better than this. We hired the house - to sleep 20 - and the team at the Big House Co organised a fantastic marquee. The house is peaceful and BIG! The grounds are great for "bear hunts" with children and there is a lake if you want to go fishing. We were lucky with the weather but the house has a 2 barns and a covered area - so even in wet weather we were covered. Anthony Chapman and his team were fantastic - thoughtful and flexible - nothing was too much of a problem.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
I'm so pleased you liked our flexible approach to the weekend wedding house party. We loved helping you with your wedding and thank you so much for booking with us. With warm wishes, Anthony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALC_20163...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing Weekend”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful house with 17 friends and we were not disappointed! All the pictures, house descriptions and reviews are brilliant but we were not expecting it to be as fantastic as it was!
The house and grounds are stunning and Anthony and his team were very helpful.
We only left the house for a couple of hours one afternoon for a pub lunch which was delicious. The rest of the time was spent in the hot tub, holding our own sports day in the huge grounds, walking around taking pictures or sitting in one of the many rooms eating, drinking and laughing!
The house has everything you need and was absolutely perfect for what we wanted!
The whole weekend was topped off with a proposal and who knows, we might be back in a couple of years for a wedding!

Thanks again, Amy and Co!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
We love this!! A great house party with a proposal to cap it off! How romantic. What a wonderful time you've had. Thank you for letting us know about your stay, with my best wishes, Anthony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hollymaki...
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic getaway for our whole family”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This has been one of the best weeks we have been able to spend together as a whole family. It is rare to find somewhere that can accommodate everyone let alone have the space, activities and homely feel that we experienced.
We used this week as a celebration for two special birthdays and it has been lovely.
The range of activities meant that we all had a lot of fun and we bought a rounders set with us as there was plenty of space. The dining table was incredible and allowed us all to sit around each night and eat together - 24 of us!
Anthony could not have been more helpful and it all felt very well organised he appreciated any ideas for improvement but these would just have been to add to how wonderful our stay was.
We cant thankyou enough for bringing our family together and we look forward to staying again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
It's so wonderful to hear what a great time your family had and it's a privilege to be able to supply the house to facilitate that. Thank you for your kind comments. With my very best wishes, Anthony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent house for large family gathering”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Widcombe Grange with children and grandchildren ( 17 in total ) for a week in August.
The house is perfect for a large party and the grounds are quite sensational.
Some rooms are showing a little wear and tear because the venue is obviously very popular, however the bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen are excellent in general.
Very importantly we found the house spotlessly clean throughout,
The pool and hot tub were excellent and always kept at an appealing temperature.
We had no issues but Peter Insall was only a stones throw away if needed and was most helpful.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Thank you very much for booking Widcombe Grange for your family holiday and I'm so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed the pool, hot-tub and grounds. I'm sorry that there were some signs of wear and tear - we will definitely be attending to that. Thank you for your review. Best wishes, Peter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma L
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Summer wedding”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We chose Widcombe Grange for our wedding on 1st July, and it couldn't have been more perfect! We wanted somewhere that we could hire for the whole weekend, and stay there with our wedding party. We also wanted somewhere relaxed, so that we could have a country-themed wedding with a DIY feel.
The team at The Big House Co, especially Anthony, were so welcoming and helpful, and let us have our day exactly as we wanted it. They also offered so much expertise in the running of the day, and kept in touch throughout the year whilst we were planning the event.
The caterers they recommended, Milkshed Catering, were brilliant. The food was delicious (we had a lot of compliments about it on the day), and the team are very friendly and flexible.
The house and the grounds are so beautiful, and we felt so at home all weekend. The house is so well equipped and clean, and the pool and hot tub were a great added benefit!
We will definitely be back one day, and we are hoping someone we know will go on to have their wedding at a Big House Co property, so that we can enjoy it all over again :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that your wedding was everything you wished for and that you loved the food and the service, that means a lot to us. Enjoy the memories of your special day and we hope to see you one day, celebrating another occasion! Best wishes, Anthony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTab...
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing, perfect house for groups.”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

What can I say! We booked Widcombe Grange and the Cottage for our company birthday 2- nighter and it was just fabulous. The team couldn't have been more helpful in advance - organising hay bales, fire pits, archery & pistols and giving great catering recommendations (we used MilkShed and they were awesome). The house is sprawling and perfect for groups - plenty of everything you might need. Everything is in good order but not so swishy that you don't feel you can't touch anything or get anxious about breaking things. The grounds are unbelievably beautiful. I would recommend the house wholeheartedly but also think the Big House Co. are a pleasure to work with and will definitely book with them again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for booking with us for your company do and I'm glad you found it relaxed and fun - a good alternative to a hotel, perhaps. Milkshed are a great catering company who we work closely with and we think they are awesome too! I really appreciate you reviewing us, best wishes, Anthony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H
1 review
“Best Ever Stag Weekend Party House!”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Between myself and about 20 of my mates, the 'book a large house in the middle of nowhere' Stag Party has been a tried and tested theme for the last 11 years. Whilst all of these have been incredible I think that Widcombe Grange takes first place. Stunning grounds that take a good 20 mins to explaore, a pool and hot tub, a games room and barn plus a boating lake!
Organizing the trip with The Big House Company was so easy, Anthony and Peter were brilliant and couldn't have been more helpful in making our stay the best it could have been.
The kitchens are well equipped for large catering. From our buffet style full English Breakfasts to the Lamb & Pork roast that was prepared on the Sunday, it was so straight forward to have all 16 guests sat around the large dining table eating.the little sleep we did get was very comfortable and there were no issues with any of the facilities.
We were all very sad when we came to leave on the Monday morning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
We're so pleased you a great time. Sounds like all the facilities at the house kept you fully occupied, although it's always good to know there's a pub not far away! If you've got any more Stag parties to arrange, let us know. We've got other houses that would be great too. With best wishes, Anthony.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$2,273
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing