We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopeless food at Kamath Govinda! Travellers, please do not stop by here for food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kamath Residency Nature Resort
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hopeless food at Kamath Govinda! Travellers, please do not stop by here for food.”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I was travelling yesterday on 23rd October 2011 on NH-17. There falls this much talked about restaurant - Kamath Govinda. We all were damn hungry and it was 2.30 pm. I was expecting some malvani food which wasn't available. I suddenly spotted on menucard a dish called 'Veg Malvani'. Now I naturally was expecting a dish having gravy with grated coconut and 'typical' malvani masala. To my surprise, what was served was a typical, usual 'mix veg'. The dish costed Rs 80. I felt like cheated. Even chapatis were not properly roasted, they were charred and unnecessarily oily and far away from any ideal preparation. I come from Ratnagiri district. I have spent much time in Sindhudurg district too. I know how 'malvani' preparations can taste. I was taken aback by the sheer carelessness, cheating behaviour of Kamath Govinda management. I did inform the manager (the guy behind the counter). He, as expected, was not at all concerned about my complaint as if it was a very trivial issue. So guys, I suggest and request to all travellers on mumbai goa highway who happen to go hungry somewhere in a patch between Palaspe and Nagothane, I strictly recommend that you avoid this place for food. Instead, prefer to dine at a place (Gujarathi Thali special) between Indapur and Mangaon.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Amol Nirban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopalkamath, Sales Manager at Kamath Residency Nature Resort, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Dear Mr.Amol Nirban,
Thank you for your Review and we regret that Our Food did not match your expectations unlike other satisfied guests.
We would surely look into our recipes and make the necessary changes If required.
We regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the circumtances and we would certainly like to make it a pleasurable experience the next time,
Thank you Once Again for Letting us know about your experience,
Regards,
Hemant Aroskar,
Sales Manager,
Kamath Residency Adventure Resort
Nagothane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    44
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
93
18
2
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I had gone to the resort few month's back with family (group of 10 adults and 6 kids) and all of us really enjoyed our stay. all of us felt that this is one of the best resorts we have visited in recent times....complete value for money!!! I am looking this place up now as I would like to re-visit with my office group of ~ 125 pax.

The rooms are clean and spacious. The property is well spread out and has a separate pool for kids and adults (kids had a ball in the kiddie's pool). Food is good. The staff is very cordial and helpful.

10/10 from my side for this resort...Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank paritoshd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopalkamath, Manager at Kamath Residency Nature Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear Guest,
On Behalf of Kamath Residency Adventure Resort,I thank you for giving us your review.We shall strive continously to give our guests superior quality Experience.
Thank you Once Again,
Regards,
Hemant Aroskar,
Sales Manager,
Kamath Residency Adventure Resort
Nagothane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

It's just 100 minutes from Mumbai and you get so near to nature! It's an adventure resort. You get climbing, rafting, rappling, river crossing, kayaking etc either inside or near the resort.
Nice greenary allover. You feel so relaxed when you come out for a short nature break from Mumbai.
Rooms are also having a separate mini-area with swing and benches for each.
Room service is nice. The restaurant of this resort is popular as 'Kamat Govinda' and serves delicious food.

We liked the availability of core traditional marathi items available there; especially carry-out sorts. These were exceptional variety of papad, etc.

Swimming pool was a lil not too good. It had excess clorination, we felt. We did not spend much time there.
A nice weekend family place. Also good for corporate off-sites.

Room Tip: All the rooms are surrounded by nature and are nice scenicly located. You can only differentiate wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DipakAbhyankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopalkamath, Manager at Kamath Residency Nature Resort, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Dear Guest,
On Behalf of Kamath Residency Adventure Resort,I thank you for giving us your review.We shall strive continously to give our guests superior quality Experience.
Thank you Once Again,
Regards,
Hemant Aroskar,
Sales Manager,
Kamath Residency Adventure Resort
Nagothane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We visited on 23rd July 2011 in a duplex. The place is not all that maintained (slippery outdoors, gardens not maintained). The linen in our rooms were very dirty, the bathrooms were dirty. The most pathetic was food, we heard via the reviews on trip advisor that the food is good, but it was really bad. Thank god we carried nibbles, so it saved us. Kamaths needs to seriuosly review the property and get it organised. The only best part was the STAFF.......

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NikhatKanolkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopalkamath, Sales manager at Kamath Residency Nature Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Dear Mr.Nikhat Khanolkar,
Thank you for your Review and we apologise for the Bad experience you had at the resort.As you know It is raining tremendously from the past week and there is a High proportion of Humidity in the rooms,Toilets and on the Bed Linen.Our rooms and toilets are thoroughly checked by Housekeeping Supervisors Before Check In.Humidity was detected in the clean toilets.The slippery outdoors and landscape is due to Heavy rains.

We also regret that Our Food did not match your expectations unlike other satisfied guests.

We would like to have you on our property during the Non Rainy seasons to get a better experience of our resort.
We regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the circumtances and we would certainly like to make it a pleasurable experience the next time,
Thank you Once Again,
Regards,
Hemant Aroskar,
Sales Manager,
Kamath Residency Adventure Resort
Nagothane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We all enjoyed the activities, delicious, mouth watering food, at Kamath Residency. Would be great if our employer's can finalize this place for the training program!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chetanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopalkamath, Manager at Kamath Residency Nature Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Mr.Chetan C,
On Behalf of Kamath Residency Adventure Resort,I thank you for giving us your review.We shall strive continously to give our guests superior quality Experience.
Thank you Once Again,
Regards,
Hemant Aroskar,
Sales Manager,
Kamath Residency Adventure Resort
Nagothane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2011

I booked a one night stay in the Executive room with my family (wife and 2 6 yr old kids) in the Executive room, with the all meals included plan. I would like to inform those who are planning to book (this I did not see mentioned on the website) is that the adventure activities on premises (climbing , flying fox , rifle shooting ) are not generally / daily scheduled, but scheduled for groups typically, so you need to check if these will be available at the time of booking.

We booked the Executive room, but ended up staying in the Heritage room because the Executive room was newly painted and I cannot stand the smell of paint. (funnily the first time I asked for a different room they said that all the available rooms were freshly painted, and when I insisted after an hour they "found" a room, which they called as a "heritage" type room which like the Executive room but had some differences in decor and no view unlike the Exec room, but worked fine for me).

The room was good for a family two single beds and one sofa-double bed. Sheets, blankets and towels were clean. Some pieces of furniture had accumulated a lot of dust, other than that the rooms and bathrooms were quite clean. The room had a split a/c and two bathrooms which was again great for family. The windows had no grills and no insect net which meant that we could not keep the window open at night - so no ventilation, save for a small netted bathroom window.

The resort has a main and kid pool which one of my kids used, which were clean. The have a ground for playing badminton, cricket etc which we used as well, using their equipment. The resort ground and rooms are peaceful - away from the town and set back from the road so it is very pleasant.

On the second day morning the resort arranged a kayaking + river crossing activity (through a third party) at the river site about 20 km away.

Overall, I was pretty happy with the staff and the service. They are quite helpful.

We took the plan with the meals included, but one also has the option of the room only plan and simply going to their restaurant at the entrance and eating there which may work out cheaper if you will not have all meals. However, the restaurant does not serve non-veg food, but the room service and buffet (under the meal plan) include non-veg options. I found the food pretty good. When we were there the buffet was laid out only for one lunch and snacks (since there were not too many people) and we used the restaurant once and room service couple of times for other meals. Room service for lunch and breakfast was slow, but tea only orders were delivered quickly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rohit_Bangalore_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopalkamath, Sales manager at Kamath Residency Nature Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2011
Dear Sir,
On Behalf of Kamath Residency Adventure Resort,I thank you for giving us your feedback.We shall strive continously to give our guests superior quality Experience.
Thank you Once Again,
Regards,
Hemant Aroskar,
Sales Manager,
Kamath Residency Adventure Resort
Nagothane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I stayed at the Kamath Residency for 2 days in a Deluxe Room. The Hotel touches the Highway at Nagothane. This is a well maintained hotel with good landscaping. The rooms are decent. My room had 2 bathrooms along with an additional bed. Its great for 4 people.

The Hotel has Mountain Climbing & Valley Crossing (for Kids) & a decent swimming pool. The Food was OK. A a good, neat, highway hotel. Worth a consideration

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gopalkamath, Manager at Kamath Residency Nature Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2010
Dear Sir,
On Behalf of Kamath Residency Adventure Resort,I thank you for giving us your feedback.We shall strive continously to give our guests superior quality Experience.
Thank you Once Again,
Regards,
Hemant Aroskar,
Sales Manager,
Kamath Residency Adventure Resort
Nagothane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagothane
34.5 km away
UK's Resort Khopoli
UK's Resort Khopoli
#2 of 3 in Khopoli
95 reviews
32.0 km away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
865 reviews
31.0 km away
Golden Swan Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 km away
United 21 Panoramic Resort, Karnala
46.9 km away
Dr Modi's Resort
Dr Modi's Resort
#1 of 1 in Nagothane
62 reviews
26.4 km away
Prakruti Resort
Prakruti Resort
#1 of 6 in Kashid
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamath Residency Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamath Residency Nature Resort

Property: Kamath Residency Nature Resort
Address: Mumbai-Goa Highway | 1.5 kms before Nagothane,Taluka Roha, District Raigad, Nagothane 402106, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Raigad District > Nagothane
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Nagothane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHAT IS KAMATH RESIDENCY? It is a Nature Resort just 2 hours Drive from Mumbai and Pune for Relaxation , Holidaying and Regular Outings . Here you will discover our Nice and Humble staff taking good care of you helping you relax and revive in our comfortable accommodation facilities while serving you delicious food :) You Can Enjoy Lot Of Exciting Activities Here: Group Outings and Offsites. One Day Adventure Outings One Day Picnics. Relaxing weekends with Family & Friends Conferences and Seminar Destination Theme Weddings & Receptions Celebrating Birthdays and Anniversaries. White Water Rafting Expeditions. Kamath's Govinda Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kamath Residency Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing