We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel on golf course” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gold Canyon Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gold Canyon Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel on golf course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

My family and I visited my brother in Arizona May 2011. We stayed at the Gold Canyon Golf Resort. We stayed in a casita with 2 queen beds. Room was very always clean, very quiet. This hotel is a little ways from any major shopping, but getting around in the phoenix area wasn't a challenge with a rental car. This is a very photogenic area. I took a bunch of photos with my dslr, but are too large to upload. I don't golf, but other members of my party do, They said golf was outstanding. this facility has a pool, which looked relatively clean and well kept. It was upper 90's, low 100's during our trip, which was 30-35 degrees warmer than our home town.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    66
    29
    24
    19
See reviews for
46
107
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I thought the concept and layout of this resort was really neat! The casitas were pretty cool! You basically get your own mini house, although it is connected to other rooms by like one wall it was set up really well. We will stay here again.
I think the prices are a bit high though. Every staff member we encountered was very nice and I think they really liked working there! That alone tells you a lot about the place.
I do have a few complaints that if the hotel management reads these reviews might make a difference if they do anything about them. It would be nice to have breakfast included with the, what I consider, higher price of the room. Also, the floors in our room made the bottoms of our feet absolutely black and we wiped them off with a washcloth every night before getting into bed. Now, I am not sure if it's because of dirty floors or the color of the black carpet coming off on our feet. Also, there should be some updating done to the bathroom, especially the shower and shower head. The faucets were very noisy to use and I think if they were replaced they wouldn't be heard by other rooms, as we did hear others turing on their sink faucets.

Also, I love that everyone gets a secluded feel as the rooms/casitas are spread out, however, it would be really cool if they would give golf carts for guest use or even have them to check out for a refundable fee as it was a lot of walking. Don't get me wrong, I don't mind the walking, but since we are a family with 2 little ones it takes quite a while to just walk from our room to the pool. I loved the room layout and the little private fireplace! It was also really cool to be able to walk out onto a lawn pretty much of our own. Our kids loved running around on the lawn!
I would stay here again, but I feel the room prices are a bit high and my husband would have golfed but he felt the greens fees were too high priced too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I was disappointed with everything about this Place! The room was a good size and clean, but sparse and unappealing. I felt it had a coldness to it - like a low end property. Housekeeping service was slow - I had to call 2 times to get the room made up. Guest service was cumbersome; I asked that a recliner be delivered to the patio of my room, it two calls through various channels to get it. When it finally arrived, it was too late and cold to use it. The hot tub was barely lukewarm and we could not remain in it for long as the outside temperature was cold.
We ate and the restaurant and grill. In each instance the food was blah - truly not worth the price.
I would not recommend this property. Silvia

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jueza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

The resort is known for golfing, so for wives who are widowed when the clubs come out this is the place to get pampered. Our room was called the Spa Package and had a hot tub on the patio. It was private so skinny dipping was fun. They have a great bar and the food was good. Morning buffet was worth it. We got a massage at the Spa and the staff there really know what they're doing, but wished they had a steam room. It was too cold for the pool but it looked like it would be the place to hang out come summer. Our room had a strange mildew smell but other than to sleep we didn't spend much time there so we didn't mention it. At checkout we got a 50% off coupon for a next stay which I plan to use in warm weather.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SandBetweenMyToes007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

My wife and I had 3 days of good weather to play golf in the Phoenix area. Gold
Canyon was in the same price range as We-Ko-Pa and the Boulders (both were 1st rate), but gold Canyon felt like a day at my local muny. A tip of the hat to the greens-keepers, but tees were littered with cig butts and broken tees. No drinking water along the course - in Arizona? And, lunch? The "special" we received included free lunch. But as we learned after ordering, the "special" was limited to either a burger or a chicken sandwich. We were up-charged $3.00 for the sandwich my wife ordered, and her coke was $2.59. It's a small point, but even the golf scorecard was cheezy. It was crammed with 20 ads for local businesses, including an auto body shop and a funeral home. NOT going back!

Room Tip: We only played golf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Girls weekend and we were thrilled with the facility and superior service. The casita had 2 queen beds, frig, microwave, small kitchen sink area, fireplace, and outdoor hot tub. The hotel, golf course, and casita were immaculate. Beautiful views of the mountains and desert landscape with spectacular sunset. We ate at the hotel restaurant and the food was good and service exceptional. The hotel and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. One night I had to call the front desk because the people in the casita next to us were having a huge party with a lot of people. After enduring the noise until 12:30 a.m. I notified the front desk. Hotel security come immediately and the noise stopped. Only one area of caution, because the hotel is built on a slope people with mobility issues should request a room near the hotel lobby. My friend had difficulty getting back to our casita from the hotel restaurant and the hotel provided a ride on a golf cart to our casita. The hotel is far enough from the city to provide spectacular views and quite. There are restaurants and shopping within 10 minutes and a large strip mall within 20 minutes. I would highly recommend this hotel for any purpose Wonderful Facility Super Service.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to hotel lobby if you have mobility issues so you do not have to climb steep slop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pattiangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This is a great resort. It's close enough to Phoenix but far enough away for peace and quiet. The casitas provide privacy and the private hot tub on the patio was fantastic. The staff was very helpful and kind. We had the breakfast buffet each morning and it was good. They also have made-to-order omelets. My only complaint was about the rooms. There was a chest of drawers with a mini fridge on top. It would be really nice if they had a large piece of furniture with the fridge inside and a microwave. But everything else was perfect! If I make it back to Phoenix I will most definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Casitas are built into the side of a mountain, so you don't want to face the mountain. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Darlene2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Canyon
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Gold Canyon Inn & Suites
22.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
32.9 km away
We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 km away
Saguaro Lake Guest Ranch
22.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Superstition Springs Inn
22.7 km away
Best Western Legacy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Canyon Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Canyon Golf Resort

Property: Gold Canyon Golf Resort
Address: 6100 S Kings Ranch Rd, Gold Canyon, AZ 85118-4679
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Gold Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Canyon Resort's 85 unique Hotel rooms offer a variety of amenities such as Indoor or Outdoor Private Spas, Suites, Wood Burning Fireplaces and Private Patios with splendid views of the majestic Superstition Mountains. This unique setting provides us with spectacular views of the famed Superstition Mountains where many have attempted to find the Lost Dutchman's' gold. Natural wildlife to the area can be encountered right outside your door. Carved out of the foothills of the scenic Superstition Mountains, the 36 holes of Desert Mountain Golf at Gold Canyon offer two distinct playing options. Dinosaur Mountain, rated Four and a Half stars by Golf Digest takes golfers into the high Sonoran Desert with dramatic tee-to-green elevation changes. Sidewinder, Four Star Rating by Golf Digest, runs through the land's natural arroyos and dry creek beds, providing a pristine desert golf experience.Amenities include Hiking, Biking, Swimming Pool, Massage and Spa Services, and much more! Enjoy spectacular views while dining at Kokopelli's Restaurant, The Bar & Grill or The Ledge at Dinosaur Mountain. Over 10,000 feet of Distinct Full Service Meeting and Banquet facilities for functions ranging from 10-200.Located just 35 minutes from Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport, this very special mountainside resort is close enough to the Valley of the Sun, yet far enough away to let you experience the peace and unmatched beauty of the high Sonoran Desert. We strive to create an experience that you will not soon forget. Come and enjoy a true Arizona Golf Resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Gold Canyon Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Canyon Golf Hotel Gold Canyon
Gold Canyon Resort
Gold Canyon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing