We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“superb weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Park Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Park Royal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Certificate of Excellence
Needham Market, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“superb weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

this is the first time that my family and i had stayed at this hotel but we would go back without hesitation, the suite was spacious, clean and comfortable, we had gone for my husbands birthday and they made the stay extra special for us with a cake in the restaurant, the food was really lovely in the bar and the restaurant and the swimming pool was really good, no hesitation in recommending this hotel :)

Room Tip: we had the family suite, which had a king sized bed in one room and a double with single above bunk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Michelle A

Than you for taking the time to leave your review of The Park Royal and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed yourself so much and that the team made the effort to go the extra mile to make your stay so special.

Why not try on of our sister hotels next time, in order to get the best possible prices and early notification of special offers have you considered joining our ‘Breakaway Club’?

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the near future and thank you again for your kind words.

Best regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    442
    166
    62
    28
See reviews for
241
423
40
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

This was our first stay at this Q Hotel. The reception staff are professional and helpful and the hotel seems to have good facilities. We had upgraded to a superior room and don't think this was worth the extra paid. The bed was king-sized but it was in a room that seemed to be the same size as a normal room. The bed was not very comfortable, having a matress topper that didn't fit the bed meaning that the pillows kept slipping down a gap between the topper and the head-board. Furniture was "tired", there was dust round the bed and when we went to bed , we discovered a long black streak on the sheet.

We had dinner at the hotel and after excellent starters, the main courses were dissappointing. My monk fish included half a dish of lemon risotto which was so lemon flavoured it overpowered the fish and was inedible. The expected crispy Serrano ham which was supposed to be wrapped round the monkfish appeared to be missing. All I had was a nondescript, rather flabby-looking piece of something that looked more like fish skin and tasted bitter . My wife's hake was accompanied by a half dish of watercress risotto which was far too much and did not indicate much thought in the presentation of the dish - sometimes "less is more"!

The quality of food at other Q Hotels is superior

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TF1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear TF1_12

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Park Royal and may I firstly apologise for the fact that the hotel failed to live up to your (and our) expectations.

As you will see from other reviews, your experience isn’t indicative of the high standards that we offer here at the hotel and we are annoyed that we have failed on this occasion. Your comments have been taken on board and used to improve for future guests.

I do hope that your experience hasn’t put you off using ourselves or any other Q hotel in the future and please contact me directly should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail.

Best regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have never been disappointed. This time as members of the Breakaway club, we combined the Sunday night deal (£45 B&B) with a two night break giving us more opportunity to explore the surrounding area and really relax in a very comfortable venue. The hotel staff, as always, were friendly and helpful. On the Sunday night we ate at the nearby Stretton Fox (very enjoyable) but the other two nights we ate in the hotel restaurant where we were presented with a wide menu. Our meals on both nights were delicious and well presented.

We spent one day at Chester Zoo (only 20 miles away from the hotel) and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We also visited the village of Grappenhall with two very good pubs
and shopped in nearby Stockton Heath which also has a fine range of eateries and bars.

The swimming pool is large but can get busy later in the day. There is also a spa but so far we haven't availed ourselves of its services though a number of people seemed to be enjoying a spa day with a delicious-looking afternoon tea!

Room Tip: The upper rooms overlooking the field at the back are very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Violet006
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding your meals and our staff– our team were delighted to read them. We are glad to read that you found time to visit our fantastic Leisure Club and maybe on your next stay you will be able to treat yourself to some of our relaxing Spa treatments. Please check our Q Hotels website for details of our amazing Spa packages for the ultimate pampering & relaxing break away. We hope to welcome you back to The Park Royal Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Gallon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Have just spent two nights at the Park Royal. I had booked the rooms on an 'no change/no refund policy' Due to a bereavement I requested a change and this was given. The hotel is very nice, we had a superior room that included robes. The food in the restaurant was very good. The spa facilities were very good and the treatments were really relaxing. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. All in all a very relaxing time and I would not hesitate to go back,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Sharon F
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. We were sorry to hear about your bereavement, but were happy that our Reservations team were able to help you change your booking date. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your Spa treatments and your meals in our fantastic Restaurant. Please check our Q Hotels website for the latest Spa packages for the ultimate pampering & relaxing break away. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Park Royal Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Gallon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Reasonable hotel,good size pool,decor a little tired

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bustaramz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Bustaramz,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. We were glad to read that you were able make use of our fantastic leisure facilities during your stay. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding our décor - Q hotels are committed to investing in all 21 hotels and have planned refurbishment for parts of the hotel this year. We hope to welcome you back to the Park Royal Hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here on the £99 deal - lunch, BB, evening meal and 2 25 min treatments. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, we arrived early and were given a room straightaway (without paying a penalty unlike some hotels....) The room was very nice and clean, with a bottle of wine ready..... We went straight to the spa to check our treatment times - sadly there had been a mistake made here, but the receptionist amended it and couldn't apologise enough - so no harm done. Robes and towels are included. Lunch was a two course buffet with plenty to choose from. Had a nice time relaxing in the spa, sauna, steam room and enjoyed a quick swim. Had the spa treatments - the girls were very friendly and welcoming and the treatments expertly done - we had them late in the day 4.30, and felt very relaxed and pampered afterwards - so ladies - a BIG thank you. Had dinner at 8.30 - again, staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The food - well, you are spoilt for choice, felt like we were taking part in masterchef! Can't find a fault with this hotel and spa break - will definitely be back. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing break away.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear 926sarah,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your Spa break and that our staff were polite and helpful during your visit. Our team of Chefs were very happy to read your comments regarding your evening meal. We have 21 Q Hotels across the UK, all with a wide range of facilities and all offering the same high quality service and standards. Please visit our Q Hotels website for more information and for the latest fantastic offers. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Paul Gallon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed here for a conference and found it to be a relatively good standard, although the interior decoration of the rooms wasn´t to my taste (green and purple) and seemed a bit "dated", the furniture in the room was also a little dated and had perhaps seen better days and whilst they offer complimentary tea/Coffee in the room there is no mini-bar. That said the rooms are a good size, clean and generally well maintained and have ceiling fans which came in use as the rooms were a little too warm (no a/c). Reception staff were pleasant and helpful as were the dinning room staff - comfortable bar/lounge just off reception and they also have an outside terrace. I didn´t get to use the indoor pool but overall the hotel has good amenites and facilites and value for money in regards to quality and service and is only 25 minutes drive from Manchester Airport. Taxi cost to/from airport is apprx 45 Pounds Sterling each way and can be organised through the Reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGallon_General_Mgr, General Manager at The Park Royal, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear CJMarbella,

Thank you for your review and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and our staff were delighted to read your comments about their pleasant and helpful service. We are sorry to read your comments regarding the décor in our bedrooms. Guest feedback is very important for us to review how we run the hotel and how we can improve for future guests, so I thank you for taking the time to share your constructive comments. We hope on your next visit you will be able to find time to sample our fantastic leisure facilities. We hope to welcome you back to The Park Royal Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Gallon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stretton
30.8 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
26.6 km away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
5.1 km away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#16 of 118 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,528 reviews
9.8 km away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
27.0 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Royal

Property: The Park Royal
Address: Stretton Road, Stretton, Warrington WA4 4NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington > Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Royal, set in beautiful Cheshire Countryside yet easily accessible to motorway links, is the ideal location for a leisurely weekend or business trip. Ideally located to visit many of the North West attractions, or as a stop over on your way to the North or South. Our friendly team will ensure that you stay is everything you are looking for, our team of Chefs will provide excellent quisine and our spa therapists can pamper you to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your The Park Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Royal Hotel Stretton
Park Royal Warrington
Hotel Park Royal
Park Royal Hotel Warrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing