We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My Happy Place”
Sunset at The Cays
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset at The Cays
The Cays Pool Sunloungers on The Cays Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Sunset at The Cays
The Cays Pool
Sunloungers on The Cays Beach
Aerial View of The Cays
Location of The Cays on Great Exuma, Bahamas
Blue Water
Another Spectacular Sunset at The Cays
Bonefishing
Blue Water Bedroom
Airwood Exterior
Deck
Airwood Bedroom
Exterior
Airwood Living Room
AirWood Kitchen
Blue Water
Blue Water Living
Blue Water Kitchen
Waters Edge Bedroom
Waters Edge Kitchen/Living
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
George Town, Great Exuma, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Erin D
Senoia, Georgia
1 review
“My Happy Place”
Reviewed May 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

What can I say, we LOVE The Cays. It's not just a vacation home, it is a "home away from home." Norman and Julie are wonderful. Exuma is beautiful, but the highlight of each day is watching the sunset while recapping our day with Norman, Julie, and other residents/visitors. The homes at The Cays are comfortable, clean, and have just about everything you would need for your stay. I highly recommend The Cays if you are planning a visit to Exuma.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good times
Liked least: Nothing, loved it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohhhhhlis...
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, laid back accomodations”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My sister, friend and I stayed at the Cays (#2 yellow house) for 5 days this past April. Communication with Norm was easy and prompt and we were able to get our place booked very quickly and overall, it was very affordable. The house was nice and spacious and we were all able to have our own room and bathroom. It was nice to have washer and dryer available especially after spending days out on the boat or beach. The kitchen was equipped with all basic kitchen essentials. The property was also very nice and well landscaped with a communal bar area near the pool/hammock area where we met other guests and Julie (Norm was out of town most of the time we were there - though he did make it a point to greet us when he got back, which was very nice of him!!)

Exuma was such a great little island with the friendliest of people!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2016
THank yu for your review, please come back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon K
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of our best vacations beautiful, peaceful, delightful!”
Reviewed May 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our home at the Cays was a spotless, well appointed 3 bedroom, 3 bath house with huge living room and porches for sitting and a view to the sea..and there's a nice pool for a quick dip. There is everything that you need or want in the house and Norman was a delightful host. He has lived in Exuma for quite a while and was able to give us great information about things to do and where to go. If you are interested in fishing, he is your man. The Cays are on the west side, rocky with boat access, There are kayaks and wonderful sunsets. And it is only a very short drive to a long gorgeous white sand beach which was ours to enjoy all by ourselves. There are so many incredibly beautiful beaches with such bright turquoise water that's so clear! We hope to return very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, spacious, good location, great host, had everything we needed and more
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to your return very soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redheadje...
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed March 24, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Can't recommend Coconut Cottage at The Cays enough. Norman Wells, the developer of the settlement is manager of the site and the beautiful individual homes, which are each owned privately.

Coconut Cottage is a beautiful home that was absolutely spotless and equipped with everything you can imagine needing, including a fully functioning washer and dryer and dishwasher and a clever fresh drinking water system that uses the large water-cooler type bottles (you can refill them for $5 each at the Lumberyard down the road -- a considerable savings off individual bottles or gallons).

We ended up loving staying in a home that was not so isolated -- there are about a dozen homes at the Cays, but they are positioned and landscaped in such a way you really don't see anyone unless you want to. When you do, you'll find people in the pool and on the chairs and at the bar area...never a crowd but always a friendly conversation if you want. There's a central pool and BYOB bar down near the water, which is the bonefish flats on the Western side of the island -- so you get beautiful, breathtaking sunsets.

Coconut Cottage does not have a water view, but you get a lovely breeze on the porch and can stroll down to the chairs and hammocks at the waterfront for all of the view you want.

Norman is always available -- he spends much of the day puttering around tightening this and straightening that. Together with Kevin the landscaper, they keep the grounds lovely. But at 5:00 it's tools down for Norm and a seat at the bar with a Heineken, where he will regale you with stories about his life in the British Navy and as an IT consultant who travelled the world. He's got a few fish tales as well -- he's an avid fly fisherman on the bonefish flats.

And conveniently, Catch a Fire bar and restaurant is a short jaunt along the waterfront or the road. It had great music one night. And decent meals. And our waitress Siobhan was amazing (more than once).

The Cays was as reasonably priced a Caribbean vacation you could want -- the full service kitchen makes it completely possible to cook every meal at home if you want. It is conveniently located 15 minutes south of the airport, and within a few miles of Prime Meats (great place to buy fresh and cooked meats and coldcuts) and Smitty's (an okay grocery store with a good liquor store next door) and about 15 minutes to Downtown Georgetown where Exuma Market has a great selection of groceries.

You can be at a gorgeous beach on the East side in no time...so don't let the location stop you -- it's protected from the heavy winds much of the time and extremely close to the other beaches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Thank you for this great review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josmith19...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A LITTLE PIECE OF PARADISE”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I'll begin with the character of this wonderful little island. Exuma really is, for many reasons, a rare place to find. Number one is the warmth and friendliness of the people who reside here. You literally can’t walk down the street without a wave or a hello or a smile being thrown your way. A lot of the time on vacation, you can feel (even if it is only occasionally) that the locals may have an air of hostility towards 'outsiders'. This is the first place I have experienced that genuinely welcomes you in as one of its own from the offset. Perhaps this is because tourism has yet to take control here. I can only guess this is because Exuma is still quite a well-kept secret, 'word of-mouth' kind of place, which makes it very special in that you never feel like people there see you as a walking dollar sign (or as I said previously) an outsider. Feeling like you are part of a community whilst on your travels really can make a special experience.
Secondly, the Cays and the house!!! There was literally everything you could ever need; from entertainment system and hairdryers to beauty products, herbs n spices and washer/dryer room... I don’t think there was a moment we thought "ugh.. I knew we should have brought that with us..." The outside barbeque was a great addition; we must recommend the steak from the local butchers at Darville center. AMASING. We had a sprawling veranda with outdoor furniture, and a pay as you go mobile phone was provided at a small fee with handy numbers saved. Norman and Julie offer to provide any basics you may need to see you through the first day or two; very useful if you like milk in your coffee...

Bars and restaurants; Go visit Charlies... karaoke on a Sunday is a blast! Get a takeout or eat at Shirleys. They’ll also adjust dishes to your liking. Splash has a weekly pool competition - adequate tables and cues - and they do great pizza. Cool gimmick; swings suspended from the ceilings at the bar as opposed to boring old bar stools... Catch a fire is next door {god send) and is truly THE most serene spot to sample a bevvy or two... right on the waterfront with a stunning sunset view, it’s definitely worth a visit.

Excursions; My fiancé is a keen fisherman fly and bone fish packages can be arranged at the keys. He’s already thinking about booking a fishing trip with a group of mates as the flats are rumored to be some of the best in the world. If you fancy scuba pay Jonathon and Tamara a visit at dive Exuma (at the dock at Georgetown) we were really impressed with what they had to offer, and it really is worth it as the waters here are the clearest you’ve ever seen!
Lastly worthwhile trips; Go do the half day boat tour with the swimming pigs and the iguanas. If you’re committed to the cause, the full day trip includes swimming with sharks!! Or you can do a half day… Pop over to stocking island to feed the sting rays (it’s unbelievable) and drink a daiquiri at chat n chill (the bars packed full of traveler’s memorabilia - signed t-shirts hanging from the ceilings, every square inch of bar/wall/stool surface covered with the scribbled messages of those who’ve visited before.
Norman and Julie must be commended for their warm and welcoming natures. You really feel at home at the keys and they are a large part to play in this. The infamous 'beer o'clock' starts at 4.30 at the bar - a great way to meet others who are visiting and catch the impressive sunset with cold beer in hand whilst hearing stories of Norman’s naval adventures. The pool is well kept and a welcome relief when the sun gets too much to bear! There are plenty of sun-loungers and hammocks to chill in, and our hosts really were brilliant with supplying local information such as best beaches, fishing spots, places to see turtles... they’re knowledge was extremely useful to our holiday.
The Cays (from our experience and the experiences of the varied groups of people we met) really does have something for every style of holiday, from a family vacation, to a group of pals escaping the Monday to Friday slog, to a romantic couples break. We would thoroughly recommend the Cays and have already planned our return trip!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts :-)
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Thank you for this kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TraceyW81
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful secluded resort on the Caribbean Sea”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

The Cays is a small, beautiful and secluded resort on Great Exuma with houses set within lush tropical plants and only a few feet from the green Caribbean sea. From the moment we arrived at The Cays it felt relaxed and peaceful. Norman and Julie are very welcoming hosts and Norman is happy to help arrange sightseeing trips, car hire and bonefishing guides or just to give advice on the best beaches and restaurants on the island. The fabulous and spacious house had all the home comforts you need and as a bonus sat right on the waters edge with incredible views across the bay. I would not hesitate to recommend The Cays to family and friends, I can honestly say it was the most relaxing and peaceful holiday I have ever had, we will be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
Thank you for your review, we look forward to you booking with us again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy G
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Winter Escape”
Reviewed March 6, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We have just returned from a month on Great Exuma, in the Bahamas, and must comment on our experience in Coconut Cottage, The Cays, which was the foundation for our extraordinary trip. The cottage is roomy and comfortable, and easily accommodated six in the three spacious bedrooms, each with an ensuite bathroom. The large living room/dining room is well-furnished, and the open concept kitchen fully-equipped. The in-house laundry facility was a welcome bonus. The cottage features a sizable wrap-around porch, and a propane BBQ, which we used every night, grilling excellent steaks, pork chops, fish and chicken from Prime Island Meats and Deli.
The setting of The Cays is very special. It is situated on the leeward side of the island, protected from the often strong wind on the Atlantic side. There is a common area by the water, which offers a salt-water pool, hammocks and beach chairs with both shade and sun areas for reading and enjoying the view. The BYO Sunset Bar was one of our favourite features, where we went most evenings to watch spectacular sunsets and chat with other guests and owners, and the incomparable Norman Wells.
Norman built The Cays and tends to it with diligence and affection. He has a wealth of knowledge about the island, and shared his insights and advice freely. We witnessed him respond immediately to requests from guests, whether it be Sunday afternoon or late in the evening. Other than two minor problems related to our unfamiliarity with the appliances, which were dealt with quickly, our cottage functioned well.
In summary, our experience was first rate, and we have already booked our return visit for next winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and amenities.
Liked least: The no-see-ums that came out at dusk.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Thank you for this review, we enjoyed having you stay, and look forward to seeing you again next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing